We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value and Outstanding Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Santa Clara University Inn
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value and Outstanding Service”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I travel every week and finding a clean and comfortable room at a reasonable price isn't always that easy. Since my first visit I've spent 35 nights here already through March. The rooms are clean, well appointed, easy to work from and quiet. The continental breakfast is good. The best feature is the front desk staff. Des and Marisol go oou tof there way to welcome you or welcome you back, ensure that your room is to your standards and act quickly if anything should need correction or repair. I spend over 200 nights a year on the road and have a choice where I spend my money. Once you find value, it is the staff that makes the difference and because of Des and Marisol's attitude toward customer service, I choose the Ramada Limited - Santa Clara.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    94
    36
    11
    12
See reviews for
90
54
20
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The secretaries in the office, Dess & Marisol, were really nice, polite, and asked if your or your room was okay, & were very helpful!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

From January through March 2012 I stayed here one night a week, arriving late and leaving early. It was comforting to be welcomed by a familiar face. The linens were fresh, the bed 'just right' and the shower refreshing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

It was our first visit to the Ramada Limited in Santa Clara, but definitely not the last. A very clean hotel, with comfortable new sheets. The staff were very helpful and energetic, they made Me feel welcome. Great break fast , and a nice area very close to stores and restaurants! will definitely will came back.....Soon

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I was under the impression that this hotel wasn't good...but I was wrong. I was in the area unexpectedly and the hotel that I always stay was booked. So I ended up choosing this hotel because it is close to my destination. This hotel was really nice, clean and friendly staff. It has modern decor, flat screen tv, good internet connection,pretty good channel options and the rate was reasonable. Now, Ramada Limited is included on my hotel preferences.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boch05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I thought this hotel was a bit run-down, but the rooms were large and seemed okay. Then...the second night we stayed there, I rolled over a bit in my bed and felt something....it was someone else's underwear!

I pulled "that surprise" out of my bed, threw it aside, and went back to sleep. When I woke up, I realized it was not dirty undies, but a women's camisole!

In the morning, I called the front desk and asked for a night's refund. It was obvious my bed had not been made with new sheets before my arrival.

Instead of hearing an apology, I was told to bring the camisole to the front office. I did that.

When I got to the office, the clerk checked the records and couldn't figure out where the women's camisole came from since she stated a single man had stayed in that room.

The front desk clerk contacted the hotel owner via phone and told me at the end of my stay, they'd talk about whether we'd get a night's refund or not. It sounded as if the hotel thought I was lying. They called the maid and asked if she had changed the sheets before our arrival, and of course, she said yes. I was also told sheets are not changed every day. (Obviously sheets are not changed between stays either....)

That did it! My friend and I went back to our room, packed our things, and notified the office we had a change of plans and were checking out that morning.

We tried to get the night's refund, but were only awarded 1/2 off the night where the unwanted women's clothes appeared in my bed.

Don't stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoAnn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Nice clean rooms, and a couple very friendly very helpful women that work the front desk. Nice flat screen LCD to plug my laptop into as well. By far the most bang for your buck in the area.

Room Tip: All of them I have stayed in have been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
1.6 mi away
Best Western Airport Plaza
Best Western Airport Plaza
#11 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
#14 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Santa Clara University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Santa Clara University Inn

Property: Best Western Santa Clara University Inn
Address: 1655 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050-4158 (Formerly University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Clara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Santa Clara University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Santa Clara University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited - Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Ramada Santa Clara
Santa Clara Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing