We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty--Like going to the third world without leaving the USA!”
Review of Hotel Stratford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Stratford
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Reviewed July 25, 2009

I thought Howard Johnson hotels were supposed to be somewhat clean and nice--it looked like a cruddy time warp from the 70s. Yuck. We booked this for an overnight stay after going to a sporting event. The air conditioner was broken-did not work at all-the room seemed old and dirty. When we first walked in the room all I could think was, "I don't want to sleep in that icky bed". Bedspread was disgusting had cigarette burns in it & carpet seemed dirty. Sink was outside of the bathroom so we all had to watch each other brush our teeth and stuff. They said they had wi-fi but they didn't. I usually give business owners the benefit of the doubt, but this place is really really scummy and there seemed to be lots of other places around--I would recommend going to one of those others.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sampatelca, District Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2009

This property underwent an management change in August because of customer complaints specifically of the manager and his handling of the property. The property has also been renovated throughout the year for a better guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2006

It was obvious why this was one of the cheapest hotels in the area. I booked a room with one bed but they gave me one with two. The lady at the checkin specified to only use one bed. The towels had red or brown stains on them - luckily I had my own towel with me and didn't want to speculate about what caused the stains. The blanket on the bed looked like it had been donated by Goodwill. The "free breakfast" was old donuts and cereal with "take only one item" signs on them. The shampoo bottle was sealed with tape, obviously partially used and refilled, and I'm not sure if it really was shampoo. The room smelled weird. Spend a couple dollars more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cleach_norcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sampatelca, District Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2009

This property used to be a Howard Johnson Lodge and has terminated its affiliation with them. It has been transformed into a upscale property with renovation made throughout 2009, which include new beds, carpet, furniture, televisions, and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Singapore
1
Reviewed May 14, 2006

The innkeeper is a nice man. He is a joker, jokes about everything. So don't take his words so seriously. He's helpful too.

Rooms are ok. The wireless internet access is very weak, so do request for an ethernet cable and plug into the wall.

Location is quite good! 15mins drive to airport, bus 22 to Santa Clara Caltrain station (10mins) and downtown (20mins).

Many eating places along El Camino Real. Gotta try the Vietnamese Pho just opposite the hotel! Yummy! Hotel breakfast is the same everyday, edible la.

A good hotel for those with little budget.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2005

I was in Silicon Valley for a computer show, needed a place to stay for a few days, and didn't have much money to spend on this trip. So I ended up here for about $50/night....

The room was fine, although the paint was a bit patchy in some places (especially on the ceiling). Everything seemed to work (TV, phones, lights, faucets, etc.) The room had a small refrigerator and microwave in addition to the usual coffee machine (I didn't take advantage of them, though). Neither did I get to try the in-room Internet hookups that were (supposedly) provided for free.

The hotel is on a busy suburban boulevard (El Camino Real), but the traffic sounds didn't seem to get into the room at night. The neighborhood is fine, with a few restaurants and fast food places within walking distance. I drove on this trip, but if you are carless, there's frequent bus service on El Camino Real.

  • Stayed: October 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Temporary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Clara
16
Reviewed February 17, 2005

I reserved a room for 2 adults (myself and a colleague of mine - both male) at this inn through a website. The innkeeper tried to pull one over me by saying that I'd reserved the room for only one person. Had to show the reservation record to prove that I'd reserved for 2 adults. Then the innkeeper started insulting us by saying that only couples live in the same room, and suggested we might be gay to be living in the same room. I'll never recommend this inn to anyone.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Чем дальше от дороги, тем лучше. А номера с окнами на заднюю сторону мотеля - лучшие (там вообще ни...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amurlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0 mi away
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
#14 of 32 in Santa Clara
162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Santa Clara University Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.2 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 32 in Santa Clara
559 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stratford

Address: 2499 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051-3001 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range: $102 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown santa clara and the heart of the silicon valley, the hotel stratford boasts a location nearby many attractions as well as silicon valley business. We are close to paramount's great america, levi strauss 49er football stadium, google, yahoo, nvidia, convention center, cadence, cisco, and also the great mall, one of the largest malls in america. At the hotel you will find, free wifi, breakfast, cable (58 channels), inroom coffee/tea, serta pillow top beds, micro/fridge, 42" flat panel tv,hardwood floors along with plantation shutters throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Santa Clara
Santa Clara Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing