We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Christine M.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Stratford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Stratford
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Christine M.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This place is clean and large rooms. The clerks are very nice.They had everything I needed. Very quiet. I had driven through 6 states and the bay area was one of the places I stayed for 3 days and paid an extra night. I will be back here for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babiluv4u65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
9
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

As many others have said, this motel (NOT a hotel) is a pretty good place to stay if you're looking for basics and don't want to pay extremely high prices for hotels in the bay area.

Pros:
- Clean, and the maids came daily around the same time to freshen things up
- Comfortable beds
- Cozy space -- we did a lot of chilling out in the room and it was comfortable
- Decent internet
- Price! This was cheaper than the chain budget hotels in the area and gave us many good options like 2 queen sized beds (ACTUAL queens, not those crappy ones that look more like fulls), a mini-fridge, a microwave, and a good-sized TV. The more expensive hotels did not have those options. Paid less, got way more for the money at this hotel.
- Pretty good sound-proofing. We were on edge when we arrived because there was an extremely loud and noisy family in the room next to ours. You could hear them outside in the parking lot just through their door. But we could hardly hear them in the room, nor did upstairs noise really get through a lot.

Cons:
- Bright lights outside the room at night and the shutters don't keep it out. I slept with a sleep mask the entire time.
- If you get a room on the bottom floor, be prepared to be woken up every morning from 7-9 am as the normal hotel patrons get up and start moving about and starting up their cars to leave for the day. We were also unfortunately there on garbage truck day, which was I think Tuesday or Wednesday, and that was very annoying.
- When we got there and checked in (a Thursday night) the hotel staff wouldn't give us a room upstairs even though it wasn't fully booked at that point, as most weekenders don't arrive til Friday morning for check-in, and we were going to be staying for a full week.
- Upstairs noise if you get a downstairs room, though I will say this wasn't really a huge problem. It wasn't any worse than living downstairs in an apartment, certainly not so bad you could hear everything your neighbors were doing

The breakfast is nothing to write home about but available, and we never used the business center computers. Wifi worked every time we tried it and the cable was decent as well. Location was great, since we were ~1 hr or less away from basically everything to do in the bay area, from San Fran to Monterey Bay. We even made a day trip of seeing the sequoias. Within San Jose, it's pretty close to the expressways/freeways, too, and there are a crapton of restaurants and stores within easy walking distance.

I definitely recommend this motel. I'll be booking there again if I have reason to be out in that area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTaselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I come to Santa Clara twice a month for work at my own expense, so I look for economy hotels that are tolerable. I've stayed at most of the motels along El Camino Real and I've stayed at the Hotel Stratford maybe 20 times in the past three years. The Stratford is neither the best or the worst hotel in this area. What kept me coming back was a good frequent customer discount, although it is no longer my preferred hotel. The rooms were usually comfortable and clean, with occasional lapses. The hotel is perpendicular to El Camino: most of the rooms are not on the street and so are reasonable quiet (but try to stay away from the loud soda machine at the far end). Like most economy hotels the free WiFi frequently doesn't work well -- I use a hot spot on my cell phone instead. One thing I disliked was the louvered shutters on the windows -- they do not do a good job at blocking the outside lights. I eventually invested in a sleep mask to get a better nights sleep.

Room Tip: Try to get on the 2nd floor in the middle of the building. The lowest room numbers are closer to El...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very inexpensive lodging in a very expensive area of Silicon Valley. Located in Santa Clara, California and not too far from major expressways and main corridors, this motel really is nothing fancy by a long shot but the bed was clean and comfortable, we had fresh towels and the bed made daily and nothing was ever disturbed in our room. The parking area is well lit and we were able to park in front of our room each night. The office ladies were friendly and helpful and even printed off directions to the local shopping area for us. She knew the area well and was able to share locations of a few favorite stores. The Motel is obviously an older building, the carpets are stained and worn in places but it was clean and comfortable and the price was right. If I had one complaint, it would be that they do not turn on their sign at night and it's very easy to drive past when you're heading in for the night. Someone is in the office 24/7, they have a free breakfast that consisted on bagels and cream cheese, apples and oranges and a choice of cereals and milk. The "business center" computers are very slow but available. Comparable to Red Roof Inn and Econo Lodge. They offer senior and military rates and are the least expensive in the area. We felt safe and heard no noise at all. Housekeeping lady was friendly and accommodating. We would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a King bed on the first floor on the office side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a 2 story motel not a hotel. The lady who check me in was rude. she needs to find another job and get some customer service. Who would put a single women traveling alone on the first floor at the back of the hotel with little light. Oh lets not forget the great ice machine and soda machine making all that noise you can hear it in your room. Motel 6 would be an upgrade or a better place to stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheryl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Clara hotels

Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Decent for the money, especially in this high rent area. Good location, easy access to the freeway system. Nice friendly staff. Clean Good sized room. Refrigerator microwave and coffee maker very handy. Pink Berry less than a block away

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place needs to be closed down !!! We had checked in and are room smelt like smoke, the lady said that the rooms are smoke free (yeah that is why there are cigarette burns on the bathtub. We asked for a different room which they gave us "Right next to a room full of guys partying,smoking, drinking and using language(N****) that wasn't appropriate for our son" We asked to be refunded (even half of it) and were told NO. We had to leave it was a nightmare. We "HIGHLY" don't recommend staying here. And what is so hard to believe is that we have lived in Santa Clara for 30 years and never knew a place like this existed. What a disgrace to Santa Clara someone needs to look into this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lady95051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.1 mi away
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
#13 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#8 of 32 in Santa Clara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
#10 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stratford

Property: Hotel Stratford
Address: 2499 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051-3001 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown santa clara and the heart of the silicon valley, the hotel stratford boasts a location nearby many attractions as well as silicon valley business. We are close to paramount's great america, levi strauss 49er football stadium, google, yahoo, nvidia, convention center, cadence, cisco, and also the great mall, one of the largest malls in america. At the hotel you will find, free wifi, breakfast, cable (58 channels), inroom coffee/tea, serta pillow top beds, micro/fridge, 42" flat panel tv,hardwood floors along with plantation shutters throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Santa Clara
Santa Clara Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing