We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Stratford
Nearby Hotels
$204
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Clara(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
$105
$93
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
$129
$103
Avatar Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$115
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Best Western Santa Clara University Inn(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
$112
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Santa Clara Marriott(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$109
$93
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
13
21
12
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
21
12
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel caminocontinental breakfastbottom floorfree wificomfy bedmicrowavepillowsclerk
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 63 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I come to Santa Clara twice a month for work at my own expense, so I look for economy hotels that are tolerable. I've stayed at most of the motels along El Camino Real and I've stayed at the Hotel Stratford maybe 20 times in the past three years. The Stratford is neither the best or the worst hotel in this area. What kept me coming back was a good frequent customer discount, although it is no longer my preferred hotel. The rooms were usually comfortable and clean, with occasional lapses. The hotel is perpendicular to El Camino: most of the rooms are not on the street and so are reasonable quiet (but try to stay away from the loud soda machine at the far end). Like most economy hotels the free WiFi frequently doesn't work well -- I use a hot spot on my cell phone instead. One thing I disliked was the louvered shutters on the windows -- they do not do a good job at blocking the outside lights. I eventually invested in a sleep mask to get a better nights sleep.

Room Tip: Try to get on the 2nd floor in the middle of the building. The lowest room numbers are closer to El Camino and get more street noise. The highest room numbers on the other side of the building are close to loud soda and ice machines.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very inexpensive lodging in a very expensive area of Silicon Valley. Located in Santa Clara, California and not too far from major expressways and main corridors, this motel really is nothing fancy by a long shot but the bed was clean and comfortable, we had fresh towels and the bed made daily and nothing was ever disturbed in our room. The parking area is well lit and we were able to park in front of our room each night. The office ladies were friendly and helpful and even printed off directions to the local shopping area for us. She knew the area well and was able to share locations of a few favorite stores. The Motel is obviously an older building, the carpets are stained and worn in places but it was clean and comfortable and the price was right. If I had one complaint, it would be that they do not turn on their sign at night and it's very easy to drive past when you're heading in for the night. Someone is in the office 24/7, they have a free breakfast that consisted on bagels and cream cheese, apples and oranges and a choice of cereals and milk. The "business center" computers are very slow but available. Comparable to Red Roof Inn and Econo Lodge. They offer senior and military rates and are the least expensive in the area. We felt safe and heard no noise at all. Housekeeping lady was friendly and accommodating. We would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a King bed on the first floor on the office side of the building.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a 2 story motel not a hotel. The lady who check me in was rude. she needs to find another job and get some customer service. Who would put a single women traveling alone on the first floor at the back of the hotel with little light. Oh lets not forget the great ice machine and soda machine making all that noise you can hear it in your room. Motel 6 would be an upgrade or a better place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheryl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Decent for the money, especially in this high rent area. Good location, easy access to the freeway system. Nice friendly staff. Clean Good sized room. Refrigerator microwave and coffee maker very handy. Pink Berry less than a block away

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place needs to be closed down !!! We had checked in and are room smelt like smoke, the lady said that the rooms are smoke free (yeah that is why there are cigarette burns on the bathtub. We asked for a different room which they gave us "Right next to a room full of guys partying,smoking, drinking and using language(N****) that wasn't appropriate for our son" We asked to be refunded (even half of it) and were told NO. We had to leave it was a nightmare. We "HIGHLY" don't recommend staying here. And what is so hard to believe is that we have lived in Santa Clara for 30 years and never knew a place like this existed. What a disgrace to Santa Clara someone needs to look into this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lady95051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews