We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“DO NOT BOOK THIS MOTEL BECAUSE ITS REALY ISN'T A HOTEL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stratford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Stratford
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT BOOK THIS MOTEL BECAUSE ITS REALY ISN'T A HOTEL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a 2 story motel not a hotel. The lady who check me in was rude. she needs to find another job and get some customer service. Who would put a single women traveling alone on the first floor at the back of the hotel with little light. Oh lets not forget the great ice machine and soda machine making all that noise you can hear it in your room. Motel 6 would be an upgrade or a better place to stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheryl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
8
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Decent for the money, especially in this high rent area. Good location, easy access to the freeway system. Nice friendly staff. Clean Good sized room. Refrigerator microwave and coffee maker very handy. Pink Berry less than a block away

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place needs to be closed down !!! We had checked in and are room smelt like smoke, the lady said that the rooms are smoke free (yeah that is why there are cigarette burns on the bathtub. We asked for a different room which they gave us "Right next to a room full of guys partying,smoking, drinking and using language(N****) that wasn't appropriate for our son" We asked to be refunded (even half of it) and were told NO. We had to leave it was a nightmare. We "HIGHLY" don't recommend staying here. And what is so hard to believe is that we have lived in Santa Clara for 30 years and never knew a place like this existed. What a disgrace to Santa Clara someone needs to look into this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lady95051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Clara hotels

Calgary
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for proximity to Great America theme park (just under 10 minutes drive away). Very friendly staff.
Rooms a little small but clean and well appointed. Reasonably good neighbourhood with restaurants and supermarkets nearby.
Continental breakfast was decent.
Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Not the Intercontinental hotel - but a good solid old-school motel. Decide is you want the quiet one flight of stairs up (lug your bag up the stairs) or if you don't mind the noise of cars parking near your room's front door.

A good basic motel - we think it is the best of the four we have stayed at in the area.

Room Tip: It is important to understand that this is an old-school motel & not a hotel. As seniors we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel was clean and in what seems to be a good neighborhood. It was pretty small and a bit older furnishings. Overall a decent place if you just need a place to sleep, which was what we were after. Nothing fancy and the breakfast was basic but fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Formarks_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles area
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

The first thing that is important to know is this is no hotel, despite the name. This is a two-story, old-school motel, the kind with an exterior stairway (no elevator that I saw), exterior room doors and parking places that front each ground-floor room. Thank goodness we got a second-floor room. That's the only thing that made this place bearable. I would not want to be the poor people below us. As hard as I tried, I could not help causing all kinds of floor creaking as I walked around my room. The room itself was OK, but certainly nothing to write home about, as other reviews here would have you believe (I'm wondering if they were written by employees). It was clean, that is true. But other than that, very basic. It had an old-style bedspread as opposed to comforters you tend to see in modern hotels. Very cheap and minimal toiletries. And we had all kinds of problems with the air conditioner. Not worth the price we paid for it. Would definitely not stay here for more than one night.

Room Tip: Demand a second-story room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaycj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.1 mi away
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
#13 of 33 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 33 in Santa Clara
3.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 33 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stratford

Property: Hotel Stratford
Address: 2499 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051-3001 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown santa clara and the heart of the silicon valley, the hotel stratford boasts a location nearby many attractions as well as silicon valley business. We are close to paramount's great america, levi strauss 49er football stadium, google, yahoo, nvidia, convention center, cadence, cisco, and also the great mall, one of the largest malls in america. At the hotel you will find, free wifi, breakfast, cable (58 channels), inroom coffee/tea, serta pillow top beds, micro/fridge, 42" flat panel tv,hardwood floors along with plantation shutters throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Santa Clara
Santa Clara Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing