We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Stars compared to other options but not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Clara Marriott
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“4 Stars compared to other options but not worth the price”
Reviewed July 20, 2008

To start this review, I rated the Marriott 4 stars not because it’s a wonderful 4 star property but because compared to many of the other local San Jose properties, it’s at that level. With that in mind, all my comments below are relevant to what you should expect, not just what the area has to offer.

Common Areas: 3.5 out of 5 stars. The Marriot is a large facility but has very few actual public spaces (aside from conference rooms). The main lobby and restaurants are nice but the gift/ snack shop closes early as does the coffee stand. The pool is probably the best selling point for the place and it is the best I’ve seen in the area, not that it rivals anything you’d see in a destination property, but it’s fairly large with a nice covered spa and has easy access to food. The gym’s not bad either although it’s mostly just treadmills along with a few lifting machines. The place is clearly meant for business conferences although I’m not sure I’d want to host one here.

Parking: 1 out of 5 stars. For some reason the Marriott feels the need to charge $9 a day for parking which given that the hotel is in a suburban area is just silly. None of the other properties nearby (Hilton, Hyatt, or even the Holiday Inn Express) charge for parking and they’re all blocks away. Luckily there’s a lot of parking available so it earns that 1 star.

Rooms: 3.5 out of 5 stars. I’d like to rate the rooms higher, I really would. The entertainment system was really nice and clearly a recent upgrade complete with a large screen plasma with inputs right on the desk. The bed was also nice and fairly new, however the bathroom in my room was tiny even though it was nicely furnished, there’s no mini-fridge, and everything else feels like it was decorated and bought in the 70s… because it was. The hotel is also fairly spread out with a large tower (which I didn’t venture into) along with rows of 2 story buildings. Parking is available on all sites but it’s a bit of a trek back to the lobby from some spots.

Internet: 2 out of 5 stars. I’ll give the internet connection 1 star for having a wireless option and 1 more for accepting Boingo and a few other providers. Beyond that wireless was amazingly slow, as in less than the typical dialup modem slow, so slow that I ended up plugging in and got decent speeds. They also charge $10 a day for both wireless and wired connectivity (although they do accept a few roaming providers). Why hotels think they can still charge for internet, especially in a facility built for business travel is beyond me.

Accessibility: 3.5 out of 5 stars. Located in Santa Clara you’re a few minutes at most from Yahoo, Intel and a long list of other tech companies. Great America theme park is also just a couple of miles away although the Hyatt and Hilton are much closer if you’re going there. There’s not a ton else in the immediate vicinity so you’ll need a car if you want to ever avoid room service – if you do have one there’s a subway, starbuccks and a few other quick restaurants about 2 miles away with a major grocery store (safeway) just a bit further down the road. It’s a bit of a drive to downtown or most of the popular spots but they’re always that way when you stay around San Jose.

Summed up the Marriott is a decent hotel better than many of the 4 stars in the area but not worth anything near the asking price. If you want a 4 star near San Jose, the Hyatt’s your best bet for the overall value.

One last note… while San Jose water tends to be a bit murky, the stuff at the Marriott was downright nasty (i.e. you couldn’t see through the glass). I’m sure it’s safe but bring your own for drinking just to feel better.

  • Liked — Good overall value if you can find a good rate. Otherwise try the Hyatt or Hilton
  • Disliked — Paid parking & internet access. Older facility.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    308
    148
    37
    18
See reviews for
101
52
42
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We chose this hotel because it was "Pet Friendly" and have stayed here now 4 times for business. The staff and management are absolutely wonderful. The service is perfect ,the rooms are very clean and the pool area is so refreshing. The lobby has a grande feeling and the concierge lounge is terrific. In essence, I do belive this is one of the BEST Marriotts we have ever visited.

  • Liked — The Service, Pet Friendly, Cleanliness
  • Disliked — no courtsey business center
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelor42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
159 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

From the exterior, this hotel is not all that impressive, in fact it sort of blends in with WebEx, Yahoo, Broadcom and the other high tech business that surround it.

However, when you enter the lobby, you know that this is not your average Marriott. You know you are going to be well taken care of, enjoy the dining, and be relaxed for your next business day.

One thing I found a bit uncanny is a closed circuit TV overseeing the dining area while we were eating. Not sure this is a good idea, but perhaps I have been watching Gordon Ramsey too much.

Other than that, superb.

Oh, the Caesar salad was 'honest', right down to the anchovies on the side. Much better than the salads you get that you think were poured from a package stuffed in Salinas.

  • Liked — Dining
  • Disliked — exterior apearance
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daSVGrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

All hotel entrances are marked with a sign that the area contains chemicals known to cause birth defects and other harm -- would be nice to know that when booking! No thanks!

If you are not of reproductive age, hotel had a great location (tons of running/biking trails) and is right next to Yahoo!.

  • Liked — location!
  • Disliked — chemical exposure
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene_UNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
189 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights in June. It was a breath of fresh air because of the "Can do" attitude of the staff. From check in to check out the staff was helpful and actually seemed to care. They actually looked into your eyes when they spoke to you and didn't just grunt at you like at so many hotel staff.
And, room service actually arrived early for breakfast. instead of the usual late wherever we go.

The bed was very comfortable; the plasma tv excellent. My only complaint could be found at any hotel: the people in the room next door spoke really loudly and I could hear them. Thank goodness they knocked it off at 11pm or I would have had to call the front desk.

There are several sections to the hotel and we were in the North Tower which was nicely decorated and perhaps the newest remodeled from what the bellman told us. I can't comment on the other area.

I would definitely stay there again. Great American AMusement Park was closeby, but we didn't get to go there on this trip.

  • Liked — The helpful, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Not many good restaurants within walking distance outside of the hotel
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethStreetMoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

Went there for a friends wedding. Stayed two nights. Came home with bedbugs.

Now I have to throw out my suitcases, cleanse my clothes. I hope I didn't bring them home to roost in my apartment.

  • Disliked — Not Clean. I got bed bugs
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank pitttrader1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monterey, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2008

wonderful comfortable hotel. big spacious lobby open and light. two resaurtants and bar gift shop and well equipped exercise room. pool and hot tub area.

the bed room was square and had nice work station and comfortable work chair. everything including lots of plugs within easy reach. bed was comfortable. with nice pillows and down comforter. control for air conditioner was on the wall and hard to read. i had to have maintenance come in the middle of the night and they showed me how to work the buttons.

the staff was friendly to the man and woman. they greeted me everywhere i walked and i liked it.

restaurants were good if a little pricy. sports bar had good food and delicious glasses of wine.

all in all a wonderful experience. i would recommend it to anyone. didnt have a car so dont know about parking. $17 cab fare to sj airport.

  • Liked — the friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CAbigdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
1.7 mi away
HYATT House Santa Clara
HYATT House Santa Clara
#3 of 32 in Santa Clara
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Clara Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Clara Marriott

Property: Santa Clara Marriott
Address: 2700 Mission College Blvd, Santa Clara, CA 95054-1218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Clara Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The second largest Marriott in Northern California offers an Ultimate retreat feel in the Heart of Silicon Valley and conveniently located between Monterey and San Francisco ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Santa Clara Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Clara Marriott Hotel Santa Clara
Marriott Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing