We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated, overpriced, underdelivering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Clara Marriott
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Overrated, overpriced, underdelivering”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here for a week due to offsite business requirements, but should have chosen to stay in another hotel in the area and have some exercise every day getting into the meeting room in this hotel, the weather was absolutely brilliant.
The bedrooms are small, aged, tired and smelly and in desperate need of an refurbishment. Small bathroom. The hotel layout is like a maze, like they do not want you to check out (ever).
Paying hundreds of dollars a night and even then the wireless is not included (nor is breakfast) is poor customer service in 2012. Wi-Fi was free in the lobby, but apparently not free for overpaying guests, duh! No fridge and a loud A/C unit forcing you to either sleep with ear plugs or waking up in a too warm a room...
Breakfast served at the start off the meetings was incredible poor. Chewing on a rubber chicken would have given me more satisfaction.
Starbucks in the lobby (limited opening hours)
I didn't have the chance to check out pool and/or fitness room.
The good things? Well, nice and friendly staff. period.
Would I recommend this hotel to others: NO. There must be better alternatives just around the corner / area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rev_Smee_Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    308
    148
    37
    18
See reviews for
101
52
42
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed in a room with a king size bed. In room coffee. No fridge. Has a pool. 2 restraunts on site. On sports bar type. On more upscale. Starbucks kiosk in lobby. Cramped bathroom. Good service. Polite staff. Charge for internet 13$ limited TV channels(no comedy central :( 2 HBO) . Close to Great America theme park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabidroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel has all of the downsides of staying at a Marriott with none of the upside.

- Rooms were tired, needing update.
- Parking was in a separate garage and a hike from the lobby
- Some of the rooms were a long walk from the lobby as well, I felt like I was in Vegas
- Didn't eat breakfast here so I cannot comment on that
- Bar was average Marriott, overpriced and nothing special.

In general the value at a Courtyard is much higher, like the new Courtyard in Campbell. The Santa Clara Marriott is supposed to offer a slightly higher end experience but the opposite was true - it felt more like a run down airport hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nyquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I only stayed one evening. The main disappointment was that the internet access was not free... especially in this area I had expected that internet would not cost an additional $13. Otherwise the room was clean and the staff very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikiKrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
241 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed for a week in a business trip. Excellent value and service.
Excellent, abundant American breakfast, full of choice.
The bar was very good and offered light lunch and dinner, too.
Excellent gym and an outsidors olympic-size swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fane_Babanul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed in April for two days. My room rate included breakfast. I checked out and asked the receptionist to email me the receipt. When I looked at the receipt, I found that I was charged $50 for the breakfast (for two) for the second day. I contacted by email (email bounced back), I left a voice mail for accounting department (no one called), called the reception and asked to speak to a manager. The receptionist took the message and no one called back. Very bad customer service!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I always stay at this hotel when visiting anywhere in this area. This location is just down the road from EMC offices, 3rd party data center locations, the convention center, and its only about 10 minutes to any of the Cisco buildings.

The hotel is great, the bars/restaurants are fantastic too. The food is very good at both, so provide great opportunity if you don't want to head out after meetings, etc. The people at this hotel are always very nice to work with.

Room Tip: One of the best concierge lounges I've been to as far as the quality of the meals they provide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarriottVacClubOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
1.7 mi away
HYATT House Santa Clara
HYATT House Santa Clara
#3 of 32 in Santa Clara
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Clara Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Clara Marriott

Property: Santa Clara Marriott
Address: 2700 Mission College Blvd, Santa Clara, CA 95054-1218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Clara Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The second largest Marriott in Northern California offers an Ultimate retreat feel in the Heart of Silicon Valley and conveniently located between Monterey and San Francisco ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Santa Clara Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Clara Marriott Hotel Santa Clara
Marriott Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing