We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out at San Jose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Hi All,
I was staying at Candle wood Suites (Santa Clara) during my business trip to San Jose.
This hotel is situated right opposite Santa Clara university.

The plus points are:
- Rooms are spacious and tidy, and smell good.
- Loads of freebies (free Internet at room, free laundry, free gym, and free movie rentals)
- There is a TV in the living area as well as the bedroom.
- Best point is that there are a string of restaurants a 1mile from the hotel. There are a variety of cuisines to cater your taste buds.
- the room service is good, they clean the room once every week and if service is needed more frequently then a call at the helpdesk will take care of it.
- There are a couple of malls close by. The entry and exit to freeway is close by.
- The train station is right next and is walk able from the hotel

Cons: the only issue I faced was (though not major) that the sound of the train can sometimes be heard at night.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shyshine_183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 93 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2010

Even though this is an extended stay type of hotel, I was here for only one night in order to go to the airport early the next morning. The room was clean and mostly quiet, although I could hear the person upstairs as they walked around. The other big drawback for me is that the thermostat didn't seem to work well. It was hard to get a comfortable temperature in the room, and when I turned the fan to "on" instead of "automatic", it still ran only when the A/C cycled on. I didn't realize that there is no business center, so no public computer to check email or the web. On the plus side, it's in a very nice, convenient location, and there is a small convenience store off the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Just stayed at this property for 4 days. I loved the place for the way it is run. The staff really made me feel like I was coming home each evening that I returned.

I had a one bedroom suite which was very spacious and comfortable. Housekeeping service is once a week. The room is very well equipped with an attached bath and toilet, kitchenette, fridge and ironing board. the rooms have just been refubished and were lovely.

The Candlewood cupboard ensures that you do not have to get out on a cold night to get you little knick knacks or something to each. It is well equipped and reasonable priced.

The free gym, laundry, news papers and movie library are really good for a lonely traveler.

The draw backs are that housekeeping service should be atleast twice a week.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rohank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed at this property long term for over 6 months. It is in a nice area right across from Santa Clara University which is a great place to walk. The hotel is right next to the Cal Train station which is very convenient, but ask for a room on the front side as the track side rooms will hear the trains. Staff is friendly and helpful. The fitness room is dated with ten plus year old equipment in need of a refresh. There are three food outlets within 500 feet, a Starbucks, a Quiznos and a Bagel place. VTA bus service is free to and from the Cal Train station to the San Jose airport - a great feature. You will not find a better value in a similar long-term stay property within 15 miles. They only offer rooms with one queen, some are studios and others are like one bedroom apartments. Unfortunately there are no ovens but they do have an outside grill for guests to use. Laundry is free, but even with 6 machines it can get busy on weekends. Both housekeeping and maintenance staffs are friendly and responsive. You can access Hwy 101, 880 or 17 all within ten minutes which is good for this area. There is always amply parking available. Hotel is pet friendly with a one time $75 fee no matter how long your stay. No pool or hot tub. Free Internet is wired only, no wireless service.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vamaddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I travel to Santa Clara frequently. This hotel never lets me down. Paul and the staff are top notch. Walking distance to a taxi stand and train station. Quick trip to downtown San Francisco. Great value..

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We stayed here at the beginning of July. We just walked in and got a room. The person working the front desk was friendly. He gave us a discount on a room.

The room was clean. It was similar to a studio apt. It had a refrigerator and microwave. There wasn't any house keeping or a pool. Also, the train is right behind the hotel, so there is a little bit of noise. Although, it wasn't too bad.

It is right across from Santa Clara University and is close to the San Jose airport.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kinderteacher4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

Stayed here while traveling for work, it was a last minute booking (early one morning) due to some travel snafu's so my choices were limited.

Its a pretty basic extended stay hotel, I'd say one notch above your average Extended Stay America but below a Summerfield Suites. I wouldn't rush back there tomorrow but it was serviceable:

- Room: Recent vintage, slight smell in the room but nothing bad. The Kitchenette, bedroom space was adequate and towels / linens were decent. Wireless internet didnt work which was a pain but since I was only staying one night so it wasnt a deal breaker since I had a network cord I could plug in. Generally clean.

- Location: Right across from Santa Clara University and as several posters have noted right next to the CalTrain tracks and Santa Clara station. I had a room facing the tracks which didn't offer an inspiring view and the noise from the trains was ocassionally irritating. It is located in a newer shopping area, which features a bagel shop, Bank of America and Starbucks so bonus points for those things. The neighborhood seems pretty quiet and safe compared to many of places along El Camino Real farther up the road.

- Ammenities: The pantry is stocked with snacks and drinks and works on the honor system (fill out a form with your room number and drop in the box) which is a nice touch. Biggest bonus is the free washers (5 of them) and dryers (8 of them) which are newer, commercial grade and avoid the need to find a wad of quarters and carry them around.

All in all if I were looking for a basic extended stay type place and needed to be near the university I'd recommend a stay there, just ask for a room away from the tracks. Given the other options in the Santa Clara/Sunnyvale/San jose area, and the fact that the hotel was not much cheaper even with my company's travel rate than those other options ($10 less per night) I'd likely stay elsewere.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cdublu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
1.1 mi away
Best Western Santa Clara University Inn
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara
0.7 mi away
Best Western Airport Plaza
Best Western Airport Plaza
#11 of 75 in San Jose
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara

Address: 481 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050-4300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range: $146 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Santa Clara Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing