We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay for vacation stays, but that's not its main intent” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just okay for vacation stays, but that's not its main intent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This place is for extended stays for individuals and families moving to the area/switching jobs etc.

Kitchen amenities are good. Beds are decent. Free DVD movie selection is good

We stayed for a wedding at SCU and it's not great for a weekend getaway, since there is no pool, breakfast, etc. We knew this going in, but still.

Having the bagel shop and starbucks right there is great!

Room Tip: Stumbling distance to SCU
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffgaucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear libbie5,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize for the hotel facilities and amenities you experienced which was less than satisfactory. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
17
9
11
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
290 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the location for SCU or CalTrain. Rooms are as good as or better than similar nearby extended stay options. Prices are great on weekends. Staff is helpful, although a bit hit or miss on PC upgrades.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have to say, this was a tough one because the employees at this particular Candlewood Suites (I've stayed at others) make writing this review difficult because besides the staff being very nice, I can't really say too much else was good about the place. I did not sleep one peaceful night of the 4 nights I was there because the train was right outside of my window. Maybe if I'd asked for an interior room, it would have been different but my god was it loud. (Good for commuters, I guess...unfortunate for sleepy guests.) Also, there isn't sufficient parking for the property. I arrived quite late and was told to park across the way - where all the "Private Parking" signs were and was told that as long as I didn't park directly in front of the bank or Starbuck's or Quizno's or basically anything else in the adjacent lot that I wouldn't have to worry about my rental car being towed. Suffice it to say, I was constantly worried about my rental car being towed. Additionally, the hotel is very old - or if not, it's very old...smelling. There was a funkiness to the place and the carpeting in the common areas was quite musty. That being said, my room was clean and comfortable, I felt safe (except the whole parking thing) and the staff really were exceptionally kind (even when they had to tell me I couldn't switch rooms because the hotel was sold out and there were no other rooms to possibly escape some of the train noise). I might try this hotel when I return to the area because it is so close to everywhere I need to be - but only if I can get a room that isn't right on the tracks. Otherwise - I'd rather drive a little longer on good sleep than have a shorter drive on almost no sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera K, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Michelle G,
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Candlewood Suites Silicon Valley Santa Clara.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for noticing our friendly staff. The hotel rooms was renovated last year and I am sorry to hear about musty carpeting in the common areas
The hotel is located near public transportation and for some guests it can be as a convenience and as a noise distraction. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it fell below your expectations due to the train and parking convenience. The hotel is getting to a sold out situation quickly, please let us know your preferences at the time of making a room arrangements. I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced due to a train and uneasy feeling about your car parking.
Thank you for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.
Sincerely,
Viera K | Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites-Santa Clara
481 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050
Tel: 408.2419305 | ext.402
www.candlewoodsuites.com/siliconsanjose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 605 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel as a sleep-over hotel when staying in this area. The employees are helpful. The hotel is very clean and neat with the rooms are comfortable and has plenty of space. They have a little store to buy food and cook yourself if you want too!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera K, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Stephen S,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are delighted to hear and appreciate for noticing our newly renovated spacious rooms, friendly staff and cleanness of the hotel.
Thank you for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.
Sincerely,
Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites-Santa Clara
481 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050
Tel: 408.2419305 | ext.402
www.candlewoodsuites.com/siliconsanjose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you've never stayed in a Candlewood, they're great places, though a bit odd. It's a mix of people on 1-3 day stays, and folks who for whatever reason, are calling the Candlewood home for an extended period of time.

The rooms themselves then, are nice. Studio style, you get a full kitcehn, plates, dishes, the whole works. Pets are welcome. DVD player with free rentals, a gym, a few HBO's, a few ESPN's, etc... And of course, free wifi!

What you don't get is regular maid service (doesn't bother me) or any breakfast options.

But it's a fine enough place, though there is one crucial piece of advice you must take: Don't book a room unless you can request to not be on the side of the train. The commuter train is a mere 50 yards away from the back of the building, and those trains run frequently and late. So it was pretty loud. I lived in a flight path for a year, so it didn't rattle me too much, but folks who like quiet, I could see this being a problem!

Another bright side- easy food walking distance: Starbucks, a bagel joint that was good, and Quiznos.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera K, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Patrick,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for noticing our newly renovated spacious rooms and the cleanness of the hotel. The Candlewood Suites provides full size kitchen, the laundry facility and internet connection with pet welcome policy it is can be a home a way from home.
The hotel is located near public transportation and for some guests it can be as a convenience and as a little nose distraction. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Thank you for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Viera, Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites-Santa Clara
481 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050
Tel: 408.2419305 | ext.402
www.candlewoodsuites.com/siliconsanjose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel itself was fine, clean & spacious room. I had completely forgotten about the reviews I had read regarding the train tracks being near the hotel until I was trying to get a good night's sleep after a very long day. I was woken by the train at least 4 times during the night. Unfortunately I would not stay at this hotel again because of that, I'm not sure why someone thought building a hotel there was a good idea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milwgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera K, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Milwgirl24,
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Candlewood Suites Silicon Valley Santa Clara. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it fell below your expectations due to the train and parking convenience.The hotel is located near public transportation and for some guests it can be as a convenience and as a noise distraction.
We would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
Thank you again for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.
Viera K.| Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites-Santa Clara
481 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050
Tel: 408.2419305 | ext.402
www.candlewoodsuites.com/siliconsanjose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was worried about my after-hours check-in but all worked fine
The crew was great! They gave me all Tips about the Hotel Amenities and neighborhoods
The hotel Gym is well equipped and the have a complementary laundry room
The location was terrific! Walking distance from Santa Clara Cal Train and couple of minutes by car from CA-880
And the room has all that I need for a long stay!
Thanks for this awesome stay,
Luis Menezes

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing El Camino Real
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisDuduMenezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
#12 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara
1.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
Courtyard San Jose Airport
#16 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara

Property: Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara
Address: 481 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050-4300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Santa Clara Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing