We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel helped me to sleep and work hard.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel helped me to sleep and work hard.”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

The front desk was responsive even though I had my usual long double flight fog. I got my room card, went up to the room and opened the door. I wasn't sure what I was looking at. It was a small comfortable room which made me feel good but confused. I didn't see the bed.

I ended up enjoying that little room. One night I started a pay-for-view movie. Stopped. Went into the adjoining comfortable bed room and restarted it there. It was wonderful that it worked.

The bed was very comfortable and the room quiet. I found an extra blanket in the nice small closet and used it. It was a good four days.

The morning breakfast buffet I wasn't too happy with. I had better luck at work.

I never ate at the restaurant and my one attempt at using the bar wasn't successful. There were many people taking advantage of the free evening wine drinks which I didn't want and it was too crowded for my taste.

On my last night, I went down to the business center and printing my boarding ticket. It was a good thing since my morning flight checkin could have gone much slower if I had been in the boarding pass line. I just needed to checkin one bag.

I tried twice to use the free high speed wireless. Switched to my cellular card.

Parking was great with the parking garage. It is such a shame when I have to up my daily expenses with $10 or higher parking costs.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank always_economy_class
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    182
    75
    21
    18
See reviews for
129
55
26
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

The airport shuttle starts at 6:30AM-a drawback if you have an early flight.
Rooms are large, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinfinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2010

My Family And I Stayed in Santa Clara Plaza Suites And The Staff Was Warming, Helpful, Gracious, I Can't Stop Thinking About The Care They Gave Us. We Didn't Want For Anything If You Thought It , It Was There... Thank You Lilah For Such Wonderful Care You And Your Staff Showed Us... Housekeeping Was Great!!!! I Will Highly Recommend Your Hotel To Everyone!!!! First Class All The Way......

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardrick_angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Our stay was for 3 nights during Thanksgiving week. We found the Plaza Suites to be a surprisingly good value and enjoyed our stay. The price was very reasonable and included: free parking ($16 a day downtown San Jose), free full breakfast and 3 free drink tickets per adult/per night. The full breakfast is exactly what it sounds like, and included made to order egg dishes. The staff was helpful and friendly. Our room was quiet, no noise from the freeway or from other rooms. The biggest negatives would be the uncomfortable sofa bed and the too hard pillows. Although it was nice to have 2 flat screen tvs, the quality of the picture was poor because it was not in HD. Finally, we were surprised that there was a daily charge for internet access. In most hotels, it is free, especially in the Silicone Valley. We enjoyed our dinner at nearby El Torito but not at Sizzler up the street.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmomCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2010

This is our second time staying here and once again we were not disappointed. It is a quiet, friendly hotel; the complimentary breakfast is very good. The bar service is very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2010

These suites are "true" suites, in that there is a separate room with doors that separate it from the living room area. In my research to find a suite, I noticed that some hotels will call a room a "suite" but there is only a half wall divider or the bedroom is just sectioned off from the living room area. The complimentary breakfast is GREAT! They even have fresh fruit, not the canned fruit that most establishments will serve. The selection is plentiful and quality is really good. Not your typical continental breakfast, but a true breakfast buffet with real eggs (not powder), bacon, sausage, potatoes, pancakes, and even make your own belgian waffles! I would go on and on listing everything available at this buffet, but just know that it's good and they don't cheap out. The rooms are clean and updated. The bathroom is small, but it helps that the sink and vanity area are outside of the bathroom. So, for just a toilet and bath, I guess it's not too bad. The bed is SUPER comfortable. One TV in the bedroom and another in the living room area. The living room area also has a sofa bed that pulls out to a good size...maybe a queen? We brought our 3 kids and we were able to fit 2 cribs in the living room area (and the toddler slept with us on the king size bed). I would definitely come back again when I'm visiting the area. Also very easy and close access to 101. And there's an In n Out right there too! =)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2010

After reading the only review I could find from a few years ago, I was worried. But, they said it was remodeled and it was nice. Food and bar on site, even with a refrigerator and microwave and 2 giant screen tvs. The bed was the best. It was sooo comfortable which makes a difference when sleeping in the wrong time zone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppinning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#7 of 32 in Santa Clara
701 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,274 reviews
1.2 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 32 in Santa Clara
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley

Property: The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
Address: 3100 Lakeside Dr, Santa Clara, CA 95054-2804
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Suites Hotel Silicon Valley at Santa Clara offers travelers and locals alike an address central to all that Silicon Valley has to offer. A boutique hotel experience unlike any other, guests enjoy luxurious two-room suites, complimentary daily rituals of our at Dawn Breakfast Experience and at Dusk Evening Adult Beverages. A large outdoor pool in our lush garden courtyard complete with a spacious hot tub as well as many in-suite amenities make for an extraordinary hotel stay. Just a few moments to Great America Theme Park, Levis Stadium and a seemingly endless list of Silicon Valleys biggest tech industry titans makes our address a smart choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Santa Clara
Plaza Hotel Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing