We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice extras.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good value, nice extras.”
Reviewed March 6, 2010

This hotel is nice for business trips within the Santa Clara region of Silicon Valley. We were there to attend a conference at the Santa Clara Convention Center. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the convention center, as well as to and from the airport. There are probably other places they will take you as well, one morning we rode with a guy they dropped off at the Yahoo building.

You get three drink tickets each night, which is a nice perk. You also get a free cooked-to-order breakfast with a breakfast bar. We dined for dinner there one night. It was ok, better than average hotel food, but nothing to write home about.

Some of the staff was great, some could be a little more friendly. There was one male front desk worker/shuttle driver who, quite frankly, was kind of rude. Most others were great.

There is free wifi in the common areas but not in the rooms. The business center is nice for checking email and has 2 computers with internet access. I noticed a significant slowdown in the internet service in the evening hours. I will say it smells bad - note to management: Change that air freshener! The best I can describe it is "traveling salesman with too much cologne". (Why does a room that small need an air freshener anyway?)

The bed was super comfortable, the housekeeping did a great job and everything was very clean. It's nice having large flat panel TVs in the bedroom and the living area. There is a refrigerator and microwave, as well as a coffee maker in the room.

All in all, the price was very affordable in this area compared to the hotels at the convention center - for a short ride in the morning/evening, you can save big bucks by skipping the Hyatt or the Hilton that are recommended for convention center attendees. There is not much nightlife, but I would imagine most people staying here are on business, not vacation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincy814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    183
    75
    21
    18
See reviews for
129
55
26
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed at the Plaza Suites between December 25th to January 3, 2010, a total of 9 nights. We can honestly say that it was a great experience. The rooms are clean and new. Two TV's in the Suite. Made it great to watch TV at night, while our son was sleeping in the next room. They had a great staff. Very friendly. We had a room overlooking the pool. We did not hear any noise and it was a quite room. The daily breakfast was very adequate. Eggs to order with bacon or sausage etc and buffet. There is no waiter to serve beverages. Self serve for everything, but that did not bother us at all. The hotel was not overcrowded. Parking at no cost. We highly recommend it and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5291 prospect road
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2009

It was a wonderful experience to stay at the Plaza Suites. The Exterior is beautiful. The rooms were spacious and very clean. I really enjoyed the quality bedding provided. I was very pleasantly surprised what a nice variety the Plaza Bistro provided. The location of the hotel is very convenient for shopping which is what people enjoy doing. I also liked the movie theater, Great America Park being next door. The convenience of the San Jose International Airport being just a few miles away it fantastic. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my customers. By the way the Sales Staff was very helpful. Front Desk Staff provided great customer service as well.

In my opinion this hotel is 4 diamonds.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agentaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Pro: Great location and nice touches
Con: Rates were higher than other hotels in area, no free wi fi in room, and not part of a larger hotel chain (loyalty program)
Summary:
Never stayed here before but really glad I did. The King Suite consists of a living / work area, bedroom area, and bath room. The nice touches were separate vanity area with full length mirror, makeup / shaving mirror with magnification, really good dryer (one of the best for hotels), and cook to order breakfast with an additional buffet bar. There was a flat screen TV in the living & bedroom area. Just wished this hotel was part of a larger chain so I could get loyalty points (perks for a business traveler). The fitness room was OK, no individual TV monitors for cardio equipment, just 2 corner mounted TV screens so had to wrench your neck to watch TV without falling off equipment.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biz_TravelerMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Highly recommended. The hotel offers free transport to the Santa Clara Convention Center and the SJC Airport.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennypick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waternhorses
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2009

The room was so nice, and the beds very comfortable. The room was actually nicer than my home.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waternhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We loved our room at the Plaza Suites - it looked exactly like the hotel photos. Sometimes there's really no point to a suite becuase the walls are so thin that you might as well be in the same room - not the case here. It was nice and quiet so our daughter could sleep while we could watch tv in another room (perfect with her early bedtime!). Decor was updated and the entire hotel was clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddyd51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#7 of 32 in Santa Clara
706 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 32 in Santa Clara
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley

Property: The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
Address: 3100 Lakeside Dr, Santa Clara, CA 95054-2804
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Suites Hotel Silicon Valley at Santa Clara offers travelers and locals alike an address central to all that Silicon Valley has to offer. A boutique hotel experience unlike any other, guests enjoy luxurious two-room suites, complimentary daily rituals of our at Dawn Breakfast Experience and at Dusk Evening Adult Beverages. A large outdoor pool in our lush garden courtyard complete with a spacious hot tub as well as many in-suite amenities make for an extraordinary hotel stay. Just a few moments to Great America Theme Park, Levis Stadium and a seemingly endless list of Silicon Valleys biggest tech industry titans makes our address a smart choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Santa Clara
Plaza Hotel Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing