We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and Miss hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Novato, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss hotel in great location”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This property, next to the Santa Clara Convention Center and the new 49er's Levi Stadium, has a great location but falls short of greatness in many respects. It is an older property and some of the rooms are worn. Worse attribute is probably the heating and air system, one of the "in the wall" units which makes a lot of noise when in use. The TV's in the room are small flat widescreens. The beds are mostly OK though I have come across a few "hard as a board" ones. Rooms are fairly spacious and are furnished with an in-room refrigerator and small safe. Housekeeping is a bit of hit and miss tho. Most times the rooms are perfectly clean, a few other times not. The bathroom is equipped with a tub and shower, but the water pressure in the bedroom sink is less than ideal and it often takes a while for the hot water to flow. The front desk staff is always helpful with any problems, but sometimes it is just a hassle to have to ask to have a problem corrected especially if there is limited time. The hotel provides free parking, but often times the hotel lot is filled by cars of people attending events at the Hyatt or the convention center so that the hotel guest has to park in an adjacent lot or the convention center, the equivalent of about a two block walk. The hotel should really provide better customer service in this area, but I suppose a registered hotel guest is no different a customer than someone attending an event in the hotel or the convention center. The in-house restaurant, Tusca, serves reliably good food, which is good because there are few dining options within walking distance. Again, its best attribute is its location and its proximity to many businesses, Great America Park, the new 49ers' stadium and the convention center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    447
    237
    80
    42
See reviews for
249
133
79
749
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnie, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

The GM of this hotel should be very proud of his baby. What a wonderful stay! This hotel is immaculate! Every person on staff we interacted with from the front desk, to the lounge area, to the room service personnel were fantastic. The rooms are nice. The bathrooms are exceptional. The shower was one of the best in a hotel I've used with excellent pressure and as much hot water as desired. The in-room coffee was very good. The new 49ers stadium right next door was cool. We are from the same small town in Texas as #89, so that was neat being near their training facilities. FANTASTIC hotel! Be proud and thank you for a wonderful stay on our family's vacation.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dlbydb1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Santa Clara, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
dlbydb1100,

I would like to thank you for your review of our property. I am glad to know the efforts of all staff made your stay memorable. Thank you for choosing Hyatt.

Sincerely,
-Paul R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Fast and friendly service. Good/ expensive food. There is always so event going on either in the hotel's meeting rooms or in the convention center so availability is not always the best but this is the place to stay if you are planing to attend an event at the Santa Clara convention center. Price is high just as you might expect but it is pretty much worth it. Pool and work out room are really good. Breakfast buffet is great but spendy.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank i r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is what you would expect from a typical Hyatt. Very nice and very clean. Service was very good and the rooms were comfortable. Great beds and would recommend this place for anyone that was going to be in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdtid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Santa Clara, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
tdtid,

Thanks for your review! I happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the property. I hope to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
-Paul R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Convenient stay for convention without having to leave building, rooms clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Evolution Bar for coffees, teas and snack very good and staff was always attentive to all needs.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank doubledisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the third time the standards group I participate in has used this hotel (week long affair). As it has in the past, everything ... except for one notable exception (to cover later)...was top notch. My room was comfortable, conference facilities were excellent, and the restaurant fare was great. I never did figure out for sure exactly what had gone wrong at the luncheon on Monday but the gift I found in my room later was over the top. I worked on it for the next few days. It would have been nice tho if the plate my goodies were on could fit into in the fridge. No way I'd finish all that stuff inn one day! I confess that my multiple failed attempts to make it fit resulted in some of the berry bowl on the carpet. Nevertheless, I'm quite proud of how well I managed to clean it up. No stain. :-)

Now the not so good. Found it annoying that the special request I made during the reservation process to have non-allergenic pillows was lost. This is not a problem with the Hyatt reservation system; I've stayed at other Hyatts and special requests recorded with my reservation have been accommodated without fail. Thus, I have to conclude that the fault rests with this Hyatt. It took at least 3 calls (one when I checked in, one from my room after an hour, and then a third time after I returned to the front desk again to complain) before my pillows finally got replaced. All told, nearly 4 hrs after checking in. Not an auspicious beginning. But, as indicated above, the rest of my stay was top notch.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CharTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Santa Clara while attending the Pacific International Quilt Festival and the Santa Clara Convention Center. The hotel is attached to the convention center, so it is the most convenient place to stay. Our room was modern, clean and comfortable. The lobby lounge is a good place to have drinks and order a light meal. The hotel staff has always been very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duttydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Santa Clara, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Santa Clara. I'm so happy that you enjoyed the convenient location our hotel has to offer. I'm so delighted to hear that you receive friendly and helpful service from our associates. I will certainly forward all your feedback to our management team.

We would love to welcome you back and hope to see you soon. Thanks for choosing Hyatt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
0.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#7 of 32 in Santa Clara
705 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
1.9 mi away
HYATT House Santa Clara
HYATT House Santa Clara
#3 of 32 in Santa Clara
454 reviews
1.5 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Santa Clara

Property: Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Address: 5101 Great America Pkwy, Santa Clara, CA 95054-1118
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Santa Clara 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara combines luxury and service with a premier location. Our newly renovated Santa Clara hotel accommodations feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, high-speed Internet access, deluxe amenities and sweeping views. A selection of inviting restaurants offers a variety of cuisine, from classic American to Sushi. Take advantage of extensive meeting facilities and 24-hour business center to make every stay at this Hyatt hotel in Santa Clara a success. With its unmatched service and ideal location - connected to the Convention Center, in the heart of the Silicon Valley and near the Great America Theme Park - you'll discover why we are the premier choice among Santa Clara, California hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Santa Clara Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing