We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Weekend Indulgence!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 15, 2008

My eight-year old son and I were spending a special weekend at amusement parks in the San Jose area. We needed to book a hotel, and preferred something that would enable us to avoid additional parking costs at the amusement park.

The Hyatt Regency was a perfect location since it is a 5-minute walk from the gate of Great America and offers free parking. This was useful especially in the middle of the day when we wanted to go back and relax, away from the heat and crowds, and then return in the evening. The next day, we had a short 25-minute drive to Raging Waters in San Jose.

The Regnecy would seem a little high-end for a mom-and-son weekend. But we got a low weekend rate (first sighted on kayak.com, but then I booked directly with the hotel.)

The accomodations were wonderful. There was a mix of business travelers, wedding guests, amusement part tourists, and passersby. We were all loving the place. The service is helpful about everything without being intrusive. The lobby, though corporate, is not too snooty for a family hanging on the weekend. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable, and had everything we needed. Most surprisingly, the hotel restaurants were priced on the high-end, but not the price-gouging of usual hotel restaurants.

One evening we ate out on the patio, near the pool, underneath palm trees. My son ordered from the sushi bar, I ordered a cocktail from the bar, and an entree from the Tresca restaurant. No one made an issue that we ordered from three different registers. We had breakfast in the Tresca -- avoided the high-priced buffet, and took advantage of the low-priced kids meal.

One evening, we ordered room service for just an extra $2 over menu prices. NOt bad, and a great indulgence for a special weekend.

We highly recommend the Hyatt for its service, convenience, and reasonable weekend rate for a high-end hotel. +

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omralk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,363)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,245 - 1,251 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2008

The hotel was lovely, check in was a breeze and the staff was courteous and the bellman was highly attentive. The decor was quite nice and all the bars and restaurants were quick to serve.

The rooms were also lovely although a bit small, I think for two people the room size is fine. Additionally the bathroom had two fogged-glass pocket sliding doors which remove almost all privacy from the bathroom. This makes certain necessary bathroom "functions" almost impossible unless you are a solo traveler. I was with my finace and his daughter and while we are pretty close family, I don't think anyone is really that close : - )

We had a double room which was appointed with two double (not queen) beds . So I don't recommended for families with two adults plus children...unless you have one child. You could possibly get a King room and a roll away. We were very cramped when we went to bed. Fortunately it was just for one night.

Again, this hotel was lovely and the bathroom though lacking privacy was beautiful. The staff was great and the restaurant and bar were too. The drawbacks were the room size and lack bathroom privacy.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catori76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

We have stayed here twice over extended weekends in March and July, 2008, and have had a great experience both times. True, they don't have free internet (it's $10 a day for hi speed WiFi) or free breakfast and restaurant / room service meals are pricey. But their rooms and beds are nice, and we found their staff (front desk, housekeeping, lobby doormen) to be very gracious and accommodating.

For example, we got this through Priceline where the hotel can charge extra for more than two occupants. But the reception clerk Crystal cheerfully arranged a free rollaway bed for our daughter who decided to join us. Though only king beds were available in non-smoking rooms at our time of check-in the reception clerk also kept track of our preference for a non-smoking double-bed that was available on the following day. She personally called us the next morning when they could switch us.

They also have a spacious and well-equipped 24-hour accessible gym. I used their decent (outdoor) pool and hot tub, and was pleasantly surprised to see their smiling staff come over and serve complementary cut watermelons to all the guests there.

After our first stay my wife had a marked preference for this hotel, and this has been reinforced after our second stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sanevoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

I booked into the Hyatt through priceline at a fantastic rate (so fantastic I booked a couple more nights for the following week). The hotel is definitely 4-stars which you can't say about several of the other properties in that class nearby...

The lobby and common areas don't have a ton to offer versus a typical resort Hyatt but they aren’t lacking either. There's a bar open late nights, a couple of restaurants and a nice pool complete with cabanas. The hotel gym appears to have been upgraded and is really a major selling point for anyone who travels a lot… complete with 6 treadmills, a couple of bikes, two benches, free weights, 1 machine for each major muscle group, some ab balls and mats, cold towels, water and changing rooms it’s not a full fitness center but it’s nice. There's also wireless access throughout the lobby and other areas [for a fee], airport check-in kiosks and a small gift shop that closes early.

The rooms on the other hand resemble a room found in just about any high-end Hyatt property. Furniture includes large king beds, a 42" plasma tv, a desk chair, long desk, lounge chair and a few other assorted items. The rooms are all built ultra-modern so there's a lot of free space but this also makes you have to search around for some of the normal items. For the business traveler they have power ports in all the right places (desk, bedside, bathroom) and for everyone there's a small mini-fridge in each room plus a free safe lockbox.

The property is located near the convention center and Great America theme park so it's ideal for visiting both. If you're just trying to stay in the San Jose area, you'll find that you're a ways away from anything major (the nearest major grocery store is 2 miles) besides office buildings. If you're visiting the area definitely bring or rent a car if you plan to leave the hotel.

The only real drawback of the place is that they charge for internet at the rate of $9.95 / night (tmobile wireless access so existing customers get it free). Why hotels still do this I don't understand but compared to most 4-star hotels in the area which charge for parking as well, I suppose this is just part of the cost.

All said the Hyatt is far nicer than the downtown Double Tree where I’ve stayed and felt better than the Hilton next door which I walked through on the same visit. Given the amount of business travelers that come here you can find some interesting deals on the weekends and even holidays that make it a killer deal but as with all Hyatt’s, the service is still just as good.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

I don't often stay at 4* rated hotels, so I wasn't sure what to expect. Overall, I was very pleased with my stay. It seems like a lot of things were recently renovated. The room was very clean with an interesting modern style, and I had a nice view of the hills east of San Jose. The chairs were not very comfortable, though... including the awful desk chair. The room had a nice LCD TV, but I don't know why hotels upgrade to these and then don't offer HD channels? Also, there's no need to charge for internet anymore. This is Silicon Valley - $10/night is unacceptable.

The rest of the amenities were great. A really nice gym, multiple food options within the hotel (regular restaurant and sushi bar), the service was always friendly, and parking was never a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank doobious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

This was a recommended hotel for some training I was doing. Breakfast wasn't included, internet was $10 for only 24 hrs. The first night they didn't clean my room, the second night the maid threw away (or took, I'm not sure) my toiletries (shampoo, conditioner etc.) and replaced the coffee packets with all decaf. Parking in the front is limited and parking in the structure in the back is a bit of a walk into the actual hotel. When I checked in they said they were upgrading me to a nicer room with a "golf course view". The room overlooked the parking garage and on the far side of that you could see the driving range of the golf course. This is hardly what I would consider "golf course view." The location was close to many large companies in the area and the airport but not very close to good restaurants. The gym was pretty decent for a hotel gym. Overall I was very disappointed in my stay and have had much better experiences at cheaper hotels with fewer stars.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank OrangeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

I've stayed at this property back when it was a Westin hotel but it's changed over to Hyatt.
My past experience was that I really enjoyed the property, good location, professional staff and clean.
I'm sorry to say much of that has changed.

The number one issue is they are building a large addition to the convention center that is connected to the property and when you call as I did to book the room their was no mention made of the ongoing construction. It would almost be impossible to be outside next to the pool with the steel going up within feet of where you're trying to relax, I've included a picture.
The other issue was the room was missing shampoo, remote for T.V. and the balcony was filthy....see photo.
The only positive was the warm weather and the staff were very nice and attentive.
I sent a comment card to the management but to date I haven't heard a thing.
You might check out the Hilton across the street.

Happy Trails,

Remy

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Remy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
0.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#6 of 32 in Santa Clara
712 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
1.9 mi away
HYATT House Santa Clara
HYATT House Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
467 reviews
1.5 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Santa Clara

Address: 5101 Great America Pkwy, Santa Clara, CA 95054-1118
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range: $136 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Santa Clara 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara combines luxury and service with a premier location. Our newly renovated Santa Clara hotel accommodations feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, high-speed Internet access, deluxe amenities and sweeping views. A selection of inviting restaurants offers a variety of cuisine, from classic American to Sushi. Take advantage of extensive meeting facilities and 24-hour business center to make every stay at this Hyatt hotel in Santa Clara a success. With its unmatched service and ideal location - connected to the Convention Center, in the heart of the Silicon Valley and near the Great America Theme Park - you'll discover why we are the premier choice among Santa Clara, California hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Santa Clara Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing