We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Showing its age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Showing its age”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

This hotel is definitely showing its age. Upon entering the lobby, the hotel appears very upscale, but upon exiting the elevator and stepping into one of the hotel's hallways, you enter the 1990's again. But then open your door and step inside and you enter a renovated modern room.

The rooms are nice and clean, have a very small bathroom with little counter space, a small fridge and flat screen tv.

I would normally rate the Hyatt Regency 3 stars, but because of the ultra low prices, I'm bumping it up one star. I've stayed here several times, and each time I've paid around $60/nt. That is cheaper than the old motels arond Santa Clara University where I was looking to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anejo-y-Coca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    416
    224
    76
    38
See reviews for
214
124
72
704
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
170 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

I was in town visiting Stanford and chose this Hyatt property a little out of the way from Palo Alto, rather than a closer property. Easily accessible via the 101 and, outside of traffic, very easy to get to. My room was away from the elevator and quiet - good size overall and clean. The bathroom was mid-sized with a good shower and closing double doors.

The check-in process was quick and easy - I didn't have a chance to sample the bar in the lobby, but it was busy each night I walked through. Parking was free, but Internet was not - if you're higher than Gold status in the Hyatt program it will be free for you.

Would stay here again for my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbakken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

First time at this hotel. Place was clean outdoors and indoors. They have an open area bar outside the front lobby, which I thought was unique. The room was pretty clean, except for a little mold by the edge of the tub/floor. Front desk was quick to have room service bring some cups that I needed. Room has a small refrigerator, but does not get very cold. Good for keeping drinks cool. Breakfast buffett was very good (fruits, cereal/eggs/sausage..etc)

Don't link the bathroom sinks. Too high and forces you to ge gentle rinsing your face/brushing teeth because of splashing. (may be European style). Have to pay for WiFi.

Overall, pretty decent place. Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkgnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

I have been a limo driver now for www.MySFOlimo.com for the past several years, and let me tell you there are alot of unhappy bell men at the front doors to hotels... This place on the other hand always has staff standing there with a smile ready to open the limo doors for my clients. From what my clients tell me the Hyatt here in Santa Clara has decent rooms and friendly staff, plus my clients like how its conveniently located near SFO.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexAdamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaniaDuke, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Santa Clara, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for the kind note about our service. It's always delightful to hear that our guests enjoyed their experience with their rooms and with our staff's hospitality. Thank you for your partnership.
Warm regards,
Dania Duke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Good hotel for business: bit out of the way for anything else.

Staff always very friendly and ready to help, and the open bar area in the lobby makes for a good social feel.

The pool isn't too small for lengths, nor too hot for actual exercise.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I just spent 2nts at the Hyatt. The soul purpose of this property is to be convenient for those attending meetings at one of the nearby tech companies or the convention center. That is it! I highy recommend renting a car. There is no transfer shuttle from either SJC or SFO airport. I flew into SJC and it is about 10-15 min taxi drive. This cost me $28 to the hotel and $35 back to the airport! There is nothing within walking distance of the hotel - so you are stuck with the pricy hotel restaurant. I found my initial welcome warm and sincere. I checked in online so my room was ready when I arrived after 8pm. The lobby is expansive and the check-in counter is small and fashioned to be individual counters -- I guess for a more intimate experience? I can see how this is a disaster when a large convention is in house. There was a bell boy outside when my taxi pulled up -- but he did not come my way, nor was a bell service offered at checkin to get to my room. Hmmm.

Tis true with other reviews - the halls are a fascinating flash back in time. Hard to believe after transiting thru a rather lovely entry - these halls would be so out of date and in desperate need of an update. Light blue paint and taupe,pastel colored carpet -- absolutely NO adornments on the walls or guest room door areas. Felt very dated institutional. But...one does not spend much time in the halls...right? The rooms are fairly compact. I didn't mind the open closet, but it is small. There are two frosted sliding doors which close off the bathroom and across from that a large full size mirror which hid an ironing board and iron. The bathroom is small and attempts were made to put a modern spin on the design. The sink was an above counter, square with the faucet placed on the right side...not the most convenient design in my books. Lighting was not good. There is a make up mirror and this would have balanced the need for better lighting - ONLY if it was a lighted mirror - it is not. Nice little coffee maker with to go cups as well as Tazo tea. The shower was nice - but my drain was not working well and by the time my short shower was up - i was soaking my feet in 5" of water.

The heavenly bed is nice - but not as heavenly as I have had in other properties. There is thoughtful placement of power plugs next to the bed as well as on top of the desk. Nice addition of a large casual chair as well as a decent desk chair. As others have commented - the wireless access is expensive and seems petty to charge guests who pay to stay at this level of property. The pool area is expansive and I found very lovely. Variety of sitting areas around the pool and hot tub. There is bar/menu service around the pool. It was sunny and 65 and a welcome diversion during my brief work stay.

Room Tip: I forgot to specify a quiet room - but the hotel was not full. It is true that you can hear anyone i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junglejody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Easy access to SJC airport. Clean, quiet, spacious rooms. Excellent staff and service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bshelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
price6405, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Santa Clara, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind note and words of appreciation. We’re delighted to hear that you were pleased with the overall value of our property and found us clean, quiet, spacious and excellent. We hope to welcome you back upon your next visit to Silicon Valley!
Kind regards,
Peter Rice - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#6 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
HYATT House Santa Clara
HYATT House Santa Clara
#3 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Santa Clara

Property: Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Address: 5101 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Santa Clara 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara combines luxury and service with a premier location. Our newly renovated Santa Clara hotel accommodations feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, high-speed Internet access, deluxe amenities and sweeping views. A selection of inviting restaurants offers a variety of cuisine, from classic American to Sushi. Take advantage of extensive meeting facilities and 24-hour business center to make every stay at this Hyatt hotel in Santa Clara a success. With its unmatched service and ideal location - connected to the Convention Center, in the heart of the Silicon Valley and near the Great America Theme Park - you'll discover why we are the premier choice among Santa Clara, California hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Santa Clara Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing