We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madison Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Madison Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Santa Clara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Decent B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

My husband and I usually try and stay at B&Bs when we travel and we stayed at the Madison Street Inn over Easter Weekend. Our friend was getting married in Santa Clara and the B&B, San Jose Airport and wedding reception were all located within 5 miles from each other so location was perfect for us. The inn was a little hard to find, the neighborhood is OK, there really aren't that many amenties nearby, you have to drive. We originally booked the Harrison room online(we were there for one night and didn't need much except a private bath) and upon arrival they offered us a free upgrade to the Madison room! The owner Theresa wasn't there but this other lady was (can't remember her name!) was very very sweet. I think we were the only guests that weekend.
The inn was clean, but it's very old - built in 1890. The room was very small as was the bathroom. Though it was clean, our shower head pressure was weak and my husband said he didn't feel much cleaner when he got out.
The price was exceptional for a one-night stay, but if we were staying longer, I would book another location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSNsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
28
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

Inn Keeper is creepy.

Internet and cell phone did not work in weird area of Santa Clara

  • Liked — morning coffee
  • Disliked — the inn keepers
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank fogcitymarathoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tesswsantaclara, OWNER/innkeeper at Madison Street Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2009
The Madison Street Inn sits in a residential area of Santa Clara and the area has many fine Victorians with a sprinkling of Apartment complexes. The Inn itself was just featured on the Santa Clara Historical Home Tour. The neighborhood is so safe that we joke that Santa Clara police are bored! I have no knowledge of the Internet not working, as being in the heart of Silicon Valley, we LIVE for the internet. I can't respond to the fact that the cell phone was not working, maybe change providers?
I DO suggest that trip advisors read the other reviews of the Madison Street Inn both on TripAdvisor, and on specialty sites for bed and breakfasts.
Theresa, the not so scary Innkeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

Over the past few months I have had to travel down to Silicon Valley for business and stay during the week. I have had a great experience at the Madison St Inn which has been like a home away from home. The rooms are comfortable and it is located on a quiet street. The freshly made choc chip cookies every night are not to be missed. This is a great oasis in the middle of Silicon Valley and certainly beats staying at the soulless (and ludicrously expensive) corporate hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Angus_Inca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed at the Madison Street Inn for our Anniversary and loved it! Everything was perfect!

  • Liked — Atmosphere of the Room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SATSanJose_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2007

This is a great place with super-great hosts in Silicon Valley. I enjoyed very much the mordern-time comfort in a superb historic location. My favored bathroom was the shared bathroom with the museum-like interior and the shower with it's impressively large ancient showerhead, and all working perfectly. The super-great host family is worth a visit on its own. As I stayed there without rental car, I also liked very much the location, 15 min walk from Santa Clara Caltrain and 30 min walk from Westfield mall, from Santa Clara Caltrain you can easily reach SFO airport, and the Caltrain station also has a free bus shuttle to San Jose airport. The neighbourhood is very nice and calm with lots of interesting and nice wooden villas/houses/bungalows in nice gardens.

  • Liked — Location,friendly hosts,athmosphere,Wireless
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2007

Stayed in the Fremont room. Very cute, clean and best of all since I was on a business trip, free internet access. I've stayed at a few different B&B's and this has been one of my favorite experiences. I will definitely stay there again. Remember to try the cookies!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank urica210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2007

The property is very cute. Wireless internet is definitely a plus, especially when being able to work while laying in the poolside hammock. While we were there, the hosts threw a barbeque for Inn guests (plus some) that was very fun. Tess makes the BEST chocolate chip cookies for guests to enjoy in the evening. Breakfast was always tasty, and since we were there in May, we were able to enjoy the meals al fresco.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank kellycypress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
#12 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Street Inn

Property: Madison Street Inn
Address: 1390 Madison St, Santa Clara, CA 95050-4759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madison Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Madison Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing