We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax in the Silicon Valley”
Review of Madison Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madison Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Santa Clara B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 21, 2007

This is a great place with super-great hosts in Silicon Valley. I enjoyed very much the mordern-time comfort in a superb historic location. My favored bathroom was the shared bathroom with the museum-like interior and the shower with it's impressively large ancient showerhead, and all working perfectly. The super-great host family is worth a visit on its own. As I stayed there without rental car, I also liked very much the location, 15 min walk from Santa Clara Caltrain and 30 min walk from Westfield mall, from Santa Clara Caltrain you can easily reach SFO airport, and the Caltrain station also has a free bus shuttle to San Jose airport. The neighbourhood is very nice and calm with lots of interesting and nice wooden villas/houses/bungalows in nice gardens.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Flyer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 97 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2007

Stayed in the Fremont room. Very cute, clean and best of all since I was on a business trip, free internet access. I've stayed at a few different B&B's and this has been one of my favorite experiences. I will definitely stay there again. Remember to try the cookies!

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank urica210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2007

The property is very cute. Wireless internet is definitely a plus, especially when being able to work while laying in the poolside hammock. While we were there, the hosts threw a barbeque for Inn guests (plus some) that was very fun. Tess makes the BEST chocolate chip cookies for guests to enjoy in the evening. Breakfast was always tasty, and since we were there in May, we were able to enjoy the meals al fresco.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank kellycypress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

This is a fabulous secret hideaway. And the price was so reasonable!

When we arrived there was the smell of homemade chocolate chip cookies swirling around the house, There is a bottomless cookie jar in the hall filled with warm cookies (The owners special recipe) and of course they "GOT MILK"

We stayed in the family suite, a wine themed studio with fridge, micro, music, tv, and a dvd collection to choose from. A huge bed, a sitting area with a fold out couch made it so nice. We even had our own private entrance.

It was warm, so we took a swim in their pool and layed out sipping wine and tasting cheese that was offered. Within walking distance were several great restaurants and after having a nice dinner we arrived back at the inn, changed back into our suits and sat in the hot tub looking at the stars for about an hour. It was like having our own private villa.

Needless to say, we slept like babies and awoke to a mouthwatering gourmet breakfast to start our day off right. What a perfect birthday get-a-way!

Stayed: June 2007
Thank Friendly2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

My Wife and I enjoyed our stay in this Inn. The rooms are all differnt and ours were on the front street side. Noise was not a concern because the neighborhood was very quiet. The bathroom was nice and small like other B & B's we've been to.

Theresa's breakfast was superb and her amenities around the home were delicious as well (cookies & sherry). Fire place was easy to start. Overall, its a much nicer place to stay than a hotel in San Jose.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jplopez31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2006

The Madison Street Inn is located just outside the City limits of San Jose on a quiet neighborhood street. The photos from their web site make the rooms look quite a bit bigger than they are,, but they are all comfortable. The property owner is not as gregarious as most inns we have stayed in, she does not prompt conversations. She did provide tickets to the Winchester Mystery House for a discounted fee (comp tickets to her), but that helped us a little. The cleaning left a little to be desired. I noted an empty condom packet under our sink on the first day and it stayed there until we left two nights later. The hit for my 12yr old daughter was the black pool, the water was warm and the pool is large, towels warmed by the sun were also provided. Air conditioning consisted of a very noisy window unit, but helped cool the room. PS, the Madison Room is the only unit with a cooler. The bathroom otherwise was spotless. The Madison Street Inn is quaint, quiet, and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaseyMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Koncha108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
3.8 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara
3 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#7 of 32 in Santa Clara
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Santa Clara University Inn
3 mi away
HYATT House Santa Clara
HYATT House Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
504 reviews
3.1 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Street Inn

Address: 1390 Madison St, Santa Clara, CA 95050-4759
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Clara
Price Range: $112 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Madison Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Madison Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing