We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guju food”
Review of Thali Vegetarian

Thali Vegetarian
Ranked #38 of 436 Restaurants in Santa Clara
Restaurant details
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent guju food”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Loved the thali meals. We went there for lunch. The cost is $ 13 or $ 14 or so. Exactly I don't remember. Dhoklas, theplas, rotis, lassi, rice, dal ,raita, salad was just too good, This is a place which serves authentic Gujarati food. Amazing. If you haven't tried so far or yearning to eat Guju food, then this is the best place. We went there twice during our visit.Strongly recommended

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Prashant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Real good and authentic food with heaps of extras like chaas, pickles , chutneys etc. Went with 4 kids and the staff really took good care of them and hence we enjoyed the meal a lot.
Dhoklas were very yummy. Service was excellent!
Wish we had something like that in Brisbane Australia!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Manjari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
“Decent gujarati food”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Authentic gujarati restaurant with lots of varieties and food is good. Place is little too small and service needs an improvement. Make sure you are ahead of your order of chapati :):)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abhijit_vyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Try the Thali Indian for a change”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great place if you like "Thali" type Indian food (see below for more). They were very crowded when we went and we had to wait over an hour (they gave some easy-to-eat food while we were waiting). It's a small place near El Camino Real. They serve only vegetarian (not all is vegan) Indian food.

Food quality and taste was good. Most servers were all great, very friendly and eager to give you what you ask for.

For those who don't know it, a "Thali" is different from those "Dosa to Tandoor" buffet restaurants offering Indian cuisine. A thali is a round, usually stainless steel plate with many small bowls in it that contain different curries etc. Overall it has as many items as there are in a typical Indian buffet, but many items are different from typical buffet menus and they serve you at the table here. You get rice, some type of Nan/Chapatis and a couple of dessert items. These are very common in most parts of India but are rarely seen outside India.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tripfan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
629 reviews
423 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Great Gujarati Indian vegetarian food, service & decor”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great Gujarati style Indian vegetarian food. They have a different menu everyday. All items on the menu are served to you in your thali as many times as you want. Weekend meals include 22 items & weekday meals include about 15. A thali had more than enough food for me & it was good. The thali includes a variety of items including Indian breads, Gujarati regional food, dals, rice items, sweets & chaas. The service was prompt & friendly. The restaurant & bathroom were clean. I can imagine that the wait can be long on weekend & parking tight.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MihirMeghani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thali Vegetarian also viewed

 

Been to Thali Vegetarian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing