We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Santa Clara
Post
Inbox
Search

“Great food!”

Su's Mongolian Barbeque Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 533 Restaurants in Santa Clara
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 1, 2015

There are tips and tricks to this place. For one thing, the bowls that they serve your cooked food in are larger than the bowls you deliver your raw food in. So be sure to fill two bowls of raw veggies and meat on your first trip. It's a busy place for lunch but dinner is usually wide open. The selection is good and the cooking is authentic.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Drew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 36 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2014

A little hole in the wall in a small strip mall at the bottom end of El Camino Real. Nothing fancy, but good food and plenty of it. The variety of meat and veggies was reasonably extensive, with a good variety of sauces. Fun to watch your meal cooked in front of you.

Very inexpensive, considering it's all-you-can-eat.

Don't go late though, it closes at 9pm. Not open on Sunday.

Date of visit: August 2014
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2014

I visit Su's each time I'm in the area on business, sometimes a couple of times. Best value is a lunch where the offerings really aren't that different. Come for the food, not the decor, there really isn't any decor. Parking can be a bit of a challenge at lunch because the place is so popular but the other stores in this little strip of shops dont draw many customers at that time of day.

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I don't understand why this place has so many positive reviews, it's really not that good. It's in an old strip mall between a discount smokes & liquor store and a tiny ghetto market. The decor of the place is awful in the few spots where there actually is some. There were very few choices for items in your bowl and some items that were supposed to be chilled were just sitting out in containers with no ice. There were no seafood items at all which is very uncommon for this type of restaurant.

The single cook only did one customers bowl at a time causing long lines and lots of waiting. When we first arrived we wernt even shown a seat but directed straight to the food line. My wife didn't even get a chance to put down her purse. The bbq pit or whatever it's called is in a rather dingy room surrounded by old refrigerators.

When finally seated the server never asked us what we wanted to drink. They are only there to fill your water glass and take empty bowls and dishes. I had to get up and ask the host about a drink and received a Pepsi in a can.

None of the food is freshly prepared, but rather all brought straight from the freezer to the serving line. The white rice is cooked right where you get it from in the big rice steamer on the food line. The fried rice isn't even really fried but just regular white rice with some veggies and egg mixed in.

We were never even told how much it was. We just went to pay when done. Our bill was $36 for two meals and one Pepsi.

The food didn't taste bad but it wasn't awesome either. I certainly would never eat here again. Don't waste your time. It's a ghetto restaurant obviously geared for college kids with little to no money.

Thank Rj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Dont eat Mongolilan in the food court at the mall !! stop that right now !!!

Drive over to Su's like I did in October and find the all you can eat mongolian delight that is Su's The food is great, the service is ok, but the food totally makes up for it.

Get there before the lunch rush or you will be waiting a long time.

Parking is pretty bad as well.

But the food is worth it !

Date of visit: October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank millferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Su's Mongolian Barbeque Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Su's Mongolian Barbeque Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing