We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good Mexican lunch that doesn't break the bank”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Torito - CLOSED

El Torito
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Los Altos, California, United States
Level Contributor
588 reviews
434 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A good Mexican lunch that doesn't break the bank”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you like Mexican food made by real Mexicans that is reasonably priced and close to work, this is your place. The happy hour is a good value and drinks (margaritas especially) are pretty good as well. A do not miss if you don't have a lot of time and want something that you know is good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    18
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Carne Asada”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I used to visit El Torito for happy hour on a regular basis when we lived in the Bay Area. We've been gone for over a decade, so I had to stop by to see how things might have changed. Overall, it's still a good place to hang out and have a good meal. The Carne Asada was a bit pricey, but very good. The house margarita was just as tasty as I remember them being.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“El Torito - Santa Clara, CA”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Went for lunch on a Wednesday. Place was near empty. Plenty of office space in the immediate area so it must not have a loyal “local” following. Food was OK. Portions were OK. So I guess this place is OK. Nothing stood out (good or bad). It’s not authentic Mexican. It’s American Mexican. It was quick and they give unlimited chips and salsa to each table.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southsideslick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not truly authentic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Chips and salsa were good and so were there MIdori Melon margaritas. On a scale of 1 to 10, I'd give it a 6.5/7. If your looking for true authentic, this is not the the place, though portions were good and food was acceptable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarenSho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
907 reviews
550 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Food was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The food was ok, but the the place looks dirty. Our waitress was overworked. she had way to many tables to work. I felt bad for her. She was working hard but should of had some help. Not only was she our waitress, she was bussing tables. Back to the food there were three of us and each of us thought the food was ok. The place was packed, the bar area had no open spots. So it looks like a hot spot for night. Give it a try

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Torito also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing