We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is nice enough & the front desk person was friendly but there's a few flaws that will prevent me from staying here again. First DO NOT stay in room 111. It's a nice enough room but it's right next to (I think) the hotel air conditioning system and the mechanical noise & vibrations make it impossible to sleep even with ear plugs. Second there was a bad smell in the room even after I opened the window and ran the AC so it must be in the carpet. There are probably better rooms so you may have better luck than me.
Finally the vending machine was all out of bottled water; definitely a missed revenue opportunity and mildly annoying.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fuvion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear Fuvion,

I appreciate you writing a review about our property. I am glad that you found our staff service commendable. I apologize your stay was negatively affected by the noise levels at the hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance in the future to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 135 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed here for a weekend get-away to Great America. There are two Holiday Inn Expresses on El Camino Real in Santa Clara and they are about 1 mile apart. We first went to the other property and it was not nearly as nice as this one. It was in a seedier part of town near an adult book store and the lobby area was really small. I was pleased when the hotel clerk told me my hotel was actually down the street. This hotel actually backs up to a residential neighborhood and the location was like night and day.

The lobby was spacious and new, and we could see the nice little breakfast room off the lobby.We were warmly greeted by the desk clerk and given our room keys to our room on the second floor. We had two spacious queen beds with soft white, fresh linen, tile floors, basic toiletries and a wonderful cool AC. We also had a nice fridge and microwave in our room, and a huge TV--Great for viewing the Olympics. We slept great on the beds and the hotel is very quiet, except for one little kid who ran down the hall once. The hotel offers complimentary internet service. The self-serve buffet breakfast was certainly nothing fancy, but we had some delicious cinnamon rolls, bread and pastries, bacon, eggs, cereal, yogurt, juice, milk, fruit and biscuits and gravy, All in All, a great stay. Great America is about a 10 minute drive. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: There are two Holiday Inn Expresses in Santa Clara on El Camino Real; make sure you pick the 1700 lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freecagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel was a really nice surprise at the end of my vacation before travelling home from SFO. The hotel is spotlessly clean, a new property it seems. Rooms were really nice, the bathroom was lovely and the bed very comfortable. Great TV system. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was great and plenty to eat. Exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here for a week while on business in the area, it's close ot San Jose airport so expect some airplane noise, but in general the rooms were quiet, very clean and well appointed. Staff here are top notch with everyone friendly and helpful, good breakfast, large TV with multiple input points nicely laid out if you want to put your own programming on. Enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biddazzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and i was extermely satisfied with the quality of the rooms, the staff and the food.
Internet and Breakfast is part of the rate, the net is super fast
The room has a huge bed, very comfortable mattress as well as pillow. i have stayed in many HIE in different countries and this one proudly tops them.
Toilet is pretty well designed a and spacy.
The hotel has a large parking lot allocated in the property and it was quite secure.
San Jose airport is within minutes drive from the hotel which makes is pretty convenient for travelers.
I would highly recommend this hotel and for sure i won't think of another option in Santa Clara area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdalati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here at the end of our trip to Calif. It is close (about 10 min. or less) to the San Jose airport. This hotel is in excellent condition, looks as if it was recently renovated. The staff was helpful and gave us directions to restaurants, as well as the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HooHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I stayed here nearly a week, having also stayed recently at the other Holiday inn Express down the road. This hotel is much smaller, with a little different layout in the rooms, but very nice overall. The rooms are clean and well-maintained (perhaps a little dark in my case). My room was overlooking El Camino and it was noisy but manageable. Breakfast hostess and front desk personnel very friendly and helpful. Breakfast itself was ok, nothing special in my opinon (but nice that it's included). The gym they contract with is some distance away but well worth the trip -- better than any on-site hotel gym by far. Internet access was good -- a little annoying to keep re-authorizing (the password changes on the weekend).

Overall a nice hotel -- both these properties on El Camino are good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Best Western Santa Clara University Inn
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#3 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,313 reviews
2.8 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#8 of 32 in Santa Clara
719 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara

Address: 1700 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050-4159
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Clara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range: $146 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Clara's newest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, ideally located in the bustling heart of Silicon Valley. Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Santa Clara features unsurpassed service and a host of thoughtful amenities to make your visit comfortable and memorable. The hotel is located next to the Santa Clara City Hall and Administrative Offices and several minutes from San Jose International Airport and Santa Clara University. Weekends find families enjoying Winchester Mystery House and Great America packages and many restaurants within walking distance. The trendy Santana Row is 2 miles from the hotel with great shops and restaurants. Corporations with offices within 4 miles of the hotel, to name a few, include Nvidia, Microsoft, Cisco, Intel, Hitachi, National Semiconductor, UL Labs, Sanmina, and Kla-Tencor. Also within 4 miles of the hotel are convention and sports and entertainment venues that include the Santa Clara Convention Center and San Jose Convention Center and HP Pavilion. Visit Santa Clara, CA, the center of Silicon Valley, and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Santa Clara
Holiday Inn Santa Clara
Santa Clara Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing