We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priceline comes through again”
Review of Hilton Santa Clara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Santa Clara
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Priceline comes through again”
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Location worked out wonderfully. My mom was attending an annual dinner party in Santa Clara and it turns out the party was being held in one of the Hilton ballrooms. Mom just had to take a quick elevator up to the room to change or use the bathroom. ACM - automatic checkout machine (first one I've seen/used); just insert your credit/debit card or key in the conf. # and you're set. Fitness centerwas decent. Pool was small and filled up quickly. Located on the same block as the Great America amusement park. Room was clean. Bed was too soft for my back (never had preference until then, now I know) and I had pain in the morning.
Didn't check out the restaurant or the bar in house. Room had large window that provided a nice view of a main intersection. Given an extra hour to checkout. Nice place.

  • Liked — The price, location in relation to party being held, view from the room.
  • Disliked — Small pool, soft bed.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyVeevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    413
    152
    53
    40
See reviews for
292
180
96
576
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2007

No fridge or microwave.
Early check-in even by a few minutes was not allowed.
No free breakfast.
No bath towels, a couple of small ones.
These are based on comparison with a 2-3 star hotel like Quality Inn.
Overall not satisfied at all.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank earthly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmar, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2007

We made our reservation thru Priceline. Immediately following, I contacted the hotel to confirm that we had 2 adults and 2 small children and that we need 2 beds. We arrived to find the parkinglot completely full, no spaces available and had to drive around till someone left. When we checked in, I confirmed the number of guests in our party again. When I arrived in our room, they had given us 1 king bed with no additional pullout...for 4 people! I called the front desk and they stated that they were totally booked and arrogantly refered to the fact that we had used Priceline so they were not obliged to fulfill our needs. The clerk finally conceided that although they were booked she found one room with a king and pullout. So downstairs we went to get the new keys, then back up again to a different floor. When we arrived at the floor we smelled the terrible smell of cigarettes! They had sent us to the smoking floor. Our room smelled terrible! The floors were stained with who-knows-what. And even though one of our daughters has asthma, there was nothing we could do, we had no where else to stay. What a nightmare.

  • Liked — Close to Great America
  • Disliked — Dirty, smoke smell
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyJeepchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

When we checked in, we went to the bar to enjoy a few drinks. The bartender was unhospitable and unfriendly. We gave him our room number and he proceeded to announce across the bar that we weren't registerd as guests in the room and that we would have to pay with cash or credit. We felt humiliated. I emailed Customer service and the representative assumed a condescending tone, saying that these things happen, and that it was basically our fault. I didn't want compensation. Just a courteous apology. Never got it. I have sent MANY clients to this particular hotel in the past but NEVER will I recommend this to my clients or associates again. There are far too many competitors who will treat guests with the respect they desreve and are paying for.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yogamanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

He used Hotwire and stayed one night for a great rate of $75 all taxes on a SAT night. This hotel is very new and clean. The rooms were nice and the Crabtree and Evelyn hair products fancy (Yet I am allergic to them) and pretty to look at. The pool was half under the ceiling and the other half outside for some sun to soak up. They had a sauna and exercise room that looked out into the pool area. I was suprised that Trip Advisor only rated this hotel a 3 **** I really think it's a 4 ****. We are staying here again in 2 weeks!

  • Liked — New rooms, free parking
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlii1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2007

In April 2007 we stayed at the Hilton to attend a conference at the Convention center. I am a Hilton Honors member and we stayed on the Executive Floor in room 825.
I brought my husband and 2 children. My youngest child, who is usually easily consoled and docile, woke 2 times just screaming in frustration. All the usual things we do with him did not work to immediately calm him down, so we figured it was just the new environment. But when it happened twice, we figured something must be wrong, but we went back to sleep.
Twice I was awoken and it felt as if somebody was pulling the covers off of me. I tried to pull them back up and then realized that I was sleeping on top of them because it was a warm night. Twice I went back to sleep.
I then felt that I was gently grabbed on my arm and I woke up. I figured it was nothing, I was exhausted and went back to sleep.
Then, I was then unmistakenly grabbed on my left breast and I felt the hand move down towards my tummy.
That jolted me awake. I started putting things together in my head and realized that we were not alone in that room.
I said prayers for about 30 minutes and was finally left alone for the rest of the night.
We had the door deadbolted and locked with the sliding lock from the inside when we went to bed. It was still locked in the morning. My youngest child slept in a crib against the adjoining room door, so there was no way to enter the room without making a lot of noise. The manager did a check to be sure, and nobody attempted to enter our room with a key card.

Needless to say, when morning came, we got out of there in a hurry. We left more than a few things behind in our haste.

  • Liked — Convenience to Convention Center and Great America
  • Disliked — The Pervy Ghost
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2007

I stayed here on a business trip in early May 2007. Nice hotel, and very comfortable for a three-day stay.

Here are some of the room features:

The bathroom has higher-than-average countertops. I like that feature, but if you were a shorter-than-average person, it might not be as desirable. Nice granite counters, with adequate space for all your stuff. Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, lotion, mouthwash). A swivel out makeup mirror is a nice touch. The downside in the bathroom is the low-flow showerhead, which seems to be common for most hotels nowdays. I know it's more eco-friendly, but it I just like more water pressure.

The bed was very comfortable, and had a duvet with double-sheeting. LOTS of pillows. Besides the bed, the other room furnishings included a comfy chair with ottoman, 2 nightstands, desk and chair, and an armoire with the TV. While the TV is on a pull-out swivel base, it was still hard to see the TV from the desk chair. There was a limited selection of cable TV channels.

There was no mini-fridge in the room, but there was a 2-cup coffeemaker, which I didn't use because there's a Starbucks in the lobby. The other restaurant in the hotel is La Fontana, which I tried for lunch and it was very good.

  • Liked — Near high-tech businesses
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank meginoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#6 of 32 in Santa Clara
692 reviews
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
HYATT House Santa Clara
HYATT House Santa Clara
#3 of 32 in Santa Clara
436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.6 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Clara

Property: Hilton Santa Clara
Address: 4949 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054-1216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Clara 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Santa Clara hotel. This stylish and sophisticated hotel boasts an ideal location adjacent to California's Great America theme park and directly across from the Santa Clara Convention Center. Located just 20 minutes from the San Jose International Airport (SJC),in the heart of Silicon Valley. We are also within a five-minute walk of Levi's Stadium - home of the San Francisco 49ers. Plunge into the sparkling outdoor swimming pool or keep fit in the fitness center, fully equipped with ellipticals, bikes, treadmills and weights. Relax in the whirlpool, or enjoy fresh, rich espresso-style beverages in the hotel coffee bar. Savor California and Mediterranean cuisine in the award-winning La Fontana restaurant. Relax and unwind in a spacious guest room decorated in soft, calm tones and featuring internet access. Please note our parking policy on game/event days at Levi's Stadium. Parking will be limited to one car per registered guest room and in accordance with your check-in and check-out times. Guests checking out the day of a game/event will not be permitted to leave their vehicle on hotel property after the hotel check-out time. Late check-out will not be permitted on game/event days. We appreciate your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Hilton Hotel Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing