We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”
Review of Hilton Santa Clara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Santa Clara
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
Yuba City, United States
1 review
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great staff but for the price we paid per night I feel like we only paid for the brand name. The room we stayed in was furnished with two full size beds, not queen, and they were quite uncomfortable. Not suitable for two average size adults. Microwave in the room was not complimentary it came at an additional charge and had to be requested in advance. We have had better experiences at hotels that were more resonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Doreen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    419
    158
    55
    42
See reviews for
304
186
97
585
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Room was nice. Double beds are smaller then getting the king room with a sofa bed. Dont ask hotel staff about a place to eat cause they had no idea. the location though was great. Great America was right there and with the new 49er stadium being built the location will be even better for the games.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

On entering the hotel, we had a very positive impression based on the attractive, spacious, well-appointed lobby and common area. But, the room was on the small size and both the carpet and furniture were begging to show signs of wear. The bathroom sink had no space to even place a small tube of toothpaste. A major problem for the women. It is time to update the room. When I questioned the desk, I was told no upgrades were available for diamond members and that was the only room available.
The executive lounge was a joke. In the evening the lounge had microwaved torquitos and chicken wings plus what looked like a grocery store’s tray of vegetables with ranch dip arranged on a platter. For Diamond members, the next morning’s breakfast was to be served in the small executive lounge. They had some eggs, greasy sausage, a few small yogurts and some bread. While helping the child with her meal, I found, to my surprise, the hotel was sending a large number of people to the lounge. After this mass arrived it was impossible to get to the food. In other Hilton the executive lounge is limited to Diamond members and people on the executive floor.

The room service was hit and miss. An expensive dinner salad was the size of a side salad. The burger was average, but the calamari was good and plentiful.
In summary, the hotel is marginally OK for a short stay, but do not look for anything to be excited about.
I found this hotel to be on the bottom of my experiences at Hiltons. Stay if you must, but look elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubba65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Texas
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I booked this hotel via Priceline Name Your Own Price (there are only 2 4-Star hotels in Santa Clara, so I felt that chances were good that I'd get this property). We stayed on a Saturday night and had to place several bids before Priceline finally accepted one. With NYOP, you are only "guaranteed" a King Room, but we are a family of 4, so I called ahead to request double beds. The hotel staff said that it wasn't guaranteed, but that she would note it on our reservation.

We arrived at the hotel around 5pm and noticed a wedding party in the lobby. I went to the front desk to check-in and asked if they had double beds available. She said that they did not have any, but that she would check to see if they had a junior suite available with pull out couch. When that was not available, she checked to see if there were any roll-away beds, which there were none left. Finally, she asked if I could wait while she looked closer to see if she could move some things around. After a few minutes, she had a double bed room for us! I definitely felt that she went ABOVE & BEYOND to get us the room we needed! I was very impressed!

The reason for our stay was an early flight out of San Jose, but while we were there, we definitely wanted to visit California's Great America (which is right across the parking lot). Free parking at the hotel and being able to walk over saved us the $15 parking fee. (When we got back, we noticed another wedding party taking pictures, so I guess there were 2 weddings that night at this hotel!)

From our 5th floor room, we had a great view of the amusement park & new football stadium. As an added bonus, we got to see a really nice fireworks display right out the window at 9:30pm.

The beds & pillows were really comfy, but we noticed around 12am that the walls were VERY thin. First, we were woken up by a group of people talking in the hallway, and then were woken again by noise in the adjacent room.

Check-out at 5am took less than a minute, and then we drove less than 10 minutes to the airport. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel & stay here again if I were back in the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLJ925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Don't get me wrong, the staff here are extremely friendly, the rooms are clean, big enough and come with all the required stuff - iron, coffee machine, safe, big tv etc. but try as they do, the service could be a little better. Located in Silicon Valley it's clear the target market is corporate - an evening in the bar will confirm that. Location is dependent on what you would like to do, there are other alternatives.
At the end of the day, it's not a bad place to stay but very 'business standard' as opposed to something brilliant. As I say, depends what you go for.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

1. The guest room does not have a refreshing smell. 2. The carpet has several black burned marks from cigarette butts. This gives a pretty bad impression. 3. The furnishings' kind of old. 4. The bed is too soft for me. A firm bed will be much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Fengling L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

my son and I had an awesome time in the pool, we stayed on the 8th floor the breakfast and happy hour hors d'oeuvre were good,, my husband had a job, well my son and i meet up with family in eastside san jose seen my sister and hung out with my son at the flea market loved it thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank DEBBIE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#7 of 32 in Santa Clara
705 reviews
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
HYATT House Santa Clara
HYATT House Santa Clara
#3 of 32 in Santa Clara
454 reviews
1.6 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Clara

Property: Hilton Santa Clara
Address: 4949 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054-1216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Clara 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Santa Clara hotel. This stylish and sophisticated hotel boasts an ideal location adjacent to California's Great America theme park and directly across from the Santa Clara Convention Center. Located just 20 minutes from the San Jose International Airport (SJC),in the heart of Silicon Valley. We are also within a five-minute walk of Levi's Stadium - home of the San Francisco 49ers. Plunge into the sparkling outdoor swimming pool or keep fit in the fitness center, fully equipped with ellipticals, bikes, treadmills and weights. Relax in the whirlpool, or enjoy fresh, rich espresso-style beverages in the hotel coffee bar. Savor California and Mediterranean cuisine in the award-winning La Fontana restaurant. Relax and unwind in a spacious guest room decorated in soft, calm tones and featuring internet access. Please note our parking policy on game/event days at Levi's Stadium. Parking will be limited to one car per registered guest room and in accordance with your check-in and check-out times. Guests checking out the day of a game/event will not be permitted to leave their vehicle on hotel property after the hotel check-out time. Late check-out will not be permitted on game/event days. We appreciate your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Hilton Hotel Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing