We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Business Travelers”
Review of Hilton Santa Clara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Santa Clara
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The hotel is right in the middle of all the tech heavy hitters, like Citrix, MacAfee, etc. and across the street from the Santa Clara Convention Center. A great location if you have to do business in Santa Clara. The hotel has its own restaurant, decent menu for dinner and breakfast. Room service is also available with the same menu. Parking is free, lobby wifi is free but in-room wifi is not. My room was clean with comfortable beds with decent size bathroom and bath amenities are available. Overall a very good stay.

Room Tip: My room faced the Great American Highway and it was still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloomingTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear BloomingTV,

I want to thank you for sharing your review about the Hilton Santa Clara and your recent experience! We share all our customer reviews with our employees as we all work to improve our guests expereience.

If you are here for a convention or work being across from the convention center as well as Technology companies is great for business, however if you have time to extend your next stay you may enjoy California's Great America with family or friends. One last thing... you mentioned the cost of our internet and while in the room internet is $9.95 pre day, please know that our Hilton honor gold and diamond members do receive internet access complimentary.

We truly look forward to welcoming you again upon your next visit to Silicon Valley. Please feel free to stop by the desk if there is anything we can do for you.

Roy Truitt
General Manager
Hilton Santa Clara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here one night with extended family (including grandparents, parents, small kids). It was walking distance -10 min to the entrance even for pretty slow moving elders and kids- from Great America theme park.

We were there for Global Winter Wonderland @Great America (that's another story, for another review!), so it was very convenient. I'll say one thing on that point: there was a lack of communication between Winter Wonderland and the hotel. Online it looked like we'd be able to pick up our tickets (that came with the room booking) at the Hilton, but we couldn't. So if you're booking through a similar package, call the hotel directly to confirm the terms.

The rooms were well appointed and spacious. The heated indoor pool and fitness room kept one grandfather occupied for a good part of the morning.

I was especially impressed with the staff at the restaurant. They were gracious, patient, genuinely warm and understanding in the face of a large group with lively kids, demanding parents, and old people with specific needs. Kudos to them! They made what might have been a pretty chaotic meal into a pleasure. And breakfast was delicious.

Front desk was a little less patient and slightly confused by our complicated payment situation (three rooms, booked at the same time, but paid separately). So my service rating of 4 represents a combo of restaurant (5+) and front desk (2).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaribu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This hotel is at a very good location for anything in Santa Clara or San Jose and only a couple miles from the airport, off highway 101. Other hotels very near are the Hyatt and the Marriott. All three are on the Great American Parkway, minutes from Great America (a theme park) or the Santa Clara Convention Center.

Since the only four star hotels in Santa Clara are the three mentioned. You will be pleased with the accommodation. We always make an offer on Priceline and always get a very good price. Any of the three provide good accommodation.

The Hilton has a little bit less parking than the Hyatt which is across the street, but parking is still adequate. The check-in is friendly, and although the lobby isn't as grand as at the Hyatt across the street, the rooms are comparable.

The rooms are clean, well furbished, and the heating is more silent and responsive than at the Hyatt. The bathroom is also quite a bit larger than at the Hyatt. The flat screen TV in our room was new.

Like the Hyatt, if you want internet in the room you have to pony up another 10 dollars. However, unlike the Hyatt, the internet in the Hilton lobby (small business center) the internet is free which is good enough for E-mail. Also, unlike the Hyatt, if you prefer to use WiFi, it is also free in the lobby, whereas it is not free anywhere in the Hyatt.

Another good thing is that there is now a refrigerator in the Hilton room. The last time we stayed in the Hyatt, there was none, however this might have changed by now. There are also complimentary copies of USA Today at the Hilton adjacent to the elevators on each floor.

The only negative about the Hilton is that the mattress is fairly firm. It wasn't uncomfortable, but we prefer something more plush. We didn't have any problem sleeping though.

All in all, this is a good hotel, with clean well furbished rooms, and well lit hallways. The staff is pleasant. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The area around is quite clean and nice. Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfkadlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

I want to thank you for sharing such a kind review about us regarding your recent experience! I am glad to hear that you found us to be a quality hotel but also, based on your ratings you enjoyed our customer service. We did add refrigerators to all 280 guest rooms, just this last quarter as we look to improve our hotel.

I am also glad to hear your experience with our complimentary internet in our lobby went well. We recently upgraded our internet (increased our bandwidth) and hope that our guests find it useful. While in the room it is $9.95 pre day, please know that our Hilton honor gold and diamond members do receive internet access complimentary.

We truly look forward to welcoming you again upon your next visit to Silicon Valley.

Roy Truitt
General Manager
Hilton Santa Clara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The hotel is a two minute walk to to the convention center, however if you are flying into SJC, they do not provide shuttle service. When I first asked the young lady on the desk the best way to get there from the airport, she stated, " Take a cab. It' s thirty or thirty five dollars", as if it were $3 dollars. Instead of a thirty dollar cab ride, I took the free shuttle from SJC to the light rail, whereupon I rode to the Great America stop.I received this info after calling back and speaking to a second person. This cost $2 and only took 20-25 min. or so. Saved $60 RT plus tip. Nicely appointed rooms, comfortable beds, free internet in lobby.. The staff is top shelf, friendly, helpful and professional. Got a great price through a third party to boot. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardhk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Dear Richardhk3,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind note with the Trip Advisor community about your recent stay at the Hilton Santa Clara.

Being a few steps across the street from the convention center is just one of the great things about our hotel. I am sorry that when you initially called the hotel that you were not given all the shuttle options available to you. Ensuring our guests have all the shuttle options is important to the Hilton Santa Clara as our city has just a few hotels that have shuttle service. I hope that you found he VTA light rail a convenient option, which is more than affordable for anyone coming to Santa Clara.

Next time you come back to Santa Clara check out www.hiltonsantaclara.com for our special promotions and package offers!

Thank you again for staying with Hilton, We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Roy Truitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Just across the street from the Santa Clara Convention Center, this is a good hotel on several levels. Modern room decor, flatscreen TV, larger than average bathroom, nice menu at open bar. I've stayed here twice now for a tradeshow. Ask at the front desk for airport transportation. You'll get a private car (nice SUV), rather than just a taxi, and at the same price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back on a higher floor. It's quieter because it faces the huge empty parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Dear Mark 1206,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind note with the Trip Advisor community about your recent stay at the Hilton Santa Clara.

We pride ourselves in being a great quality hotel in the heart of Silicon Valley. Santa Clara is host to many large conventions and being steps from the convention center is just one of the bright spots we feature.
Along with our HDTV’s, we also added new refrigerators to all 280 guests rooms making is easier for our guests to travel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! When you do come back, Please feel free to stop by the desk if there is anything we can do for you.

Thank you again for staying with Hilton,

Roy Truitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Although I have written a previous complimentary review of this hotel I wanted to again recommend them for a leisure stay when in the South Bay. My fiance and I used some Hilton Honors points and stayed here again over Thanksgiving and really enjoyed our stay. Since we had an Executive room we were entitled to an evening appetizer and breakfast in the downstairs restaurant (since the Executive Lounge was being renovated). The food at the lounge was actually quite good and fresh...and the service was quick and friendly. The rooms here are always clean and comfortable with everything you need at your fingertips. The parking is free and easy to get on/off the freeway to your utlimate destination. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotty2975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Dear Scotty2975,
Thank you very much for your continue support of the Hilton Santa Clara. I am glad that once again you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We do apologize that over the holiday’s our lounge was closed for maintenance; however I am pleased to know that Restaurant La Fontana was able to provide you with good quality food, with good service.
I do hope you are a Hilton HHonor member and are able to take advantage of the frequent stay points and mile we provide our loyal guests. You can go to Hilton.com to sign up if your not already. If you would like assistance with this please do not hesitate to contact us and we can assist you.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! When you do come back, Please feel free to stop by the desk if there is anything we can do for you.

Thank you again for staying with Hilton,

Roy Truitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a good hotel for business and leisure. A nice pool and excercise room and good room service. Avoid 2nd floor rooms as you will hear a lot of noise from below. Quietest rooms face the back of the property looking at the amusement park.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the second floor and face the back of the property for real quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkchen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Dear Jkchen1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind note with the Trip Advisor community about your recent stay at the Hilton Santa Clara.

We appreciate your ratings for value, location, cleanliness, and service as we work hard to meet all the needs of our business or leisure guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! When you do come back, Please feel free to stop by the desk if there is anything we can do for you.

Thank you again for staying with Hilton,

Roy Truitt
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#3 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#8 of 32 in Santa Clara
719 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
1.9 mi away
HYATT House Santa Clara
HYATT House Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
482 reviews
1.6 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Clara

Address: 4949 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054-1216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range: $122 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Clara 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Santa Clara hotel. This stylish and sophisticated hotel boasts an ideal location adjacent to California's Great America theme park and directly across from the Santa Clara Convention Center. Located just 20 minutes from the San Jose International Airport (SJC),in the heart of Silicon Valley. We are also within a five-minute walk of Levi's Stadium - home of the San Francisco 49ers. Plunge into the sparkling outdoor swimming pool or keep fit in the fitness center, fully equipped with ellipticals, bikes, treadmills and weights. Relax in the whirlpool, or enjoy fresh, rich espresso-style beverages in the hotel coffee bar. Savor California and Mediterranean cuisine in the award-winning La Fontana restaurant. Relax and unwind in a spacious guest room decorated in soft, calm tones and featuring internet access. Please note our parking policy on game/event days at Levi's Stadium. Parking will be limited to one car per registered guest room and in accordance with your check-in and check-out times. Guests checking out the day of a game/event will not be permitted to leave their vehicle on hotel property after the hotel check-out time. Late check-out will not be permitted on game/event days. We appreciate your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Hilton Hotel Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing