We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ramen in the bay area”
Review of Orenchi Ramen

Orenchi Ramen
Ranked #5 of 429 Restaurants in Santa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Palo Alto, California, USA
1 review
“Best ramen in the bay area”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I've been to many ramen places in the bay area, and this is by far the best I've found. The wait is a bit crazy, so make sure you get there before they open. We got there 30 minutes before they opened for lunch on a weekend and still waited over an hour. People who came 15 minutes after they opened couldn't even get on the list because they ran out of ramen. So get there early!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    52
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
732 reviews
426 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Not good, and not worth the wait”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

From the time we were picked up by friends at the Santa Clara airport, it was recommended that we have dinner at Orenchi. The last time we were in Santa Clara was 2007, so we agreed to try the restaurant. The wait time we were told was 60 minutes. I was hungy, but figured it would be worth the wait. When the Orenchi Ramen finally was served, it was a bit disappointing. If you ask me, I could just as easily have dropped an egg on a premium package of ramen noodles for one dollar. The egg was runny, which was a real turnoff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyAtNIght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Orenchi Ramen has the best ramen soup and chicken nugget, but not wait time”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We knew we had to wait, and wanted to wait just to have fun. We have had ramen at this place five times. The reason to discourage me to re-visit is the wait time.

I missed the soup and nuggets, so returned.

Pros:
- excellent soup
- excellent (heavenly) chicken nugget.
- ramen is fine

Cons:
- terrible wait time if you are "late". Restaurant opens at 11:30am. Arrival time needs to be no later than 11:35am. I am not joking. The line starts before the store is opened. There is a sign-up sheet. Here is an example.
- soup is served until all gone, and gone fast.

We arrived at 11:25am, put our name in the sign-up sheet, already number 35, waited 45 minutes. While we were eating the noodle, around 12:45pm, the store sign was changed to "closed".

About $12 per ramen noodle bowl. For the soup and noodle quality, it is inexpensive.

It is worth an experience. The limited supply of Orenchi noodle special dish is ... so so, however.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Green-Espirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a small place tightly packed and you have to wait to get in. However, if you like japanese food you will not be disappointed. All dishes a very authentic, delicious food and friendly service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlexM252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food, bad logistics!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

waited 90 minutes to be seated

the ramen is nice and the service is good but the logistics fails!

not enough servers obviusly! when we got there we saw plenty of empty tables and it took them a long time to clean up and seat the next people in line!

I was called up and then the guy could not find the table to seat us but he crossed my name out so when the other server came to call the next party in line, she skipped us,,, luckily i was standing there and corrected her! or else i would have to wait in line all over again!

the food::
- ordered orenchi ramen :: the broth is great (tonkatsu base) but the chashu is so thinnnnnnnn ... wish they gave more meat!
- bad place for vegetarian, you can order just orenchi salad and some random tofu appetizer

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahST_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orenchi Ramen also viewed

 

Been to Orenchi Ramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing