We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Agave Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agave Inn
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights and found it to be a perfect place to stay if you're on a budget. The rooms were immaculately presented and very clean. The location is great and has ample on site parking. Plus there is free wifi : )

For the money, you can't really go wrong.

I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onelovehacienda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 510 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was in town to participate in a 5 day seminar.

Agave Inn had everything I was looking for and more. Friendly staff, a clean and super cute room which was small but well thought out, parking on site, proximity to the grocery stores and restaurants and great price.

I will for sure return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Visiting LA, I wanted to do a quick trip to Santa Barbara and visit some of the vineyards at Santa Ynez. Agave Inn turned out to be perfect. I knew it was quite a ways out on State St, outside of Old Town SB, which was fine with me, but it turned out to be perfect, because it's that much closer to Santa Ynez.

The location got even better, as being a bit out of the main tourist centre puts you closer to the 'real Santa Barbara', or more specifically a Whole Foods, Macy's, CVS, and other helpful shops like that. It's really just a 10 minute drive down the main drag from 'downtown'.
The Agave Inn looks like a regular, old school motel, and to some extent it is. It's no frills, but it's clean and has been updated really nicely. I paid $69/night (+tax) and felt like I more than got my money's worth.

The decor was simple, but clean and fresh. It was nicer than it had to be for the price. The place was clean. And this is more important at a roadside motel than it is, say, at a Sheraton, let's face it. The owners clearly take pride in the place, and it shows that they care.

The bed was comfortable -- I got a really good night's sleep! I was concerned about the road noise when I checked in, but to be honest, it was fine. If you're a light sleeper, maybe request a room further back from the road -- mine was the second or third in from the road. I think State St just does get really quiet at night. No boy racers!

I also noticed that (with one possible exception) other people staying there looked like they'd prob found Agave on Tripadvisor, and perhaps were not 'standard motel customers.' In the office, they had a card requesting TripAdvisor reviews as well, which signals that the Agave is counting on discerning folks like us on the hunt for high quality value accommodation, as opposed to motel trashers looking for a $69 crashpad. (Apologies to any motel trashers out there, I'm sure you're all lovely people.)

I'm sure there's flasher accom to be had in SB, closer to the beach, with views, etc. But if you're just after a nice clean place to relax and sleep in Santa Barbara at a very good price, this is a great spot.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room farther away from the road if you're concerned about noise. I didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vad1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Agave Inn is a little jewel ..thanks to her welcoming & knowledgeable staff; immaculately clean rooms; sweet ambience & amenities ~ including complimentary light breakfast, with terrific coffee; convenient location ~ short distance to airport & minutes from downtown SBA; good eateries, grocery & other shopping within easy walking distance, a large shopping centre also nearby. As a regular guest from Canada (solo female) I highly recommend Agave Inn as a comfortable, secure, delightful place to stay .. well done Agave Inn, see you next time!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank Anjali2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My 89 yr old mother and I weren’t sure what to expect, but it was wonderful! The room was very clean and looked just like the photo. Loved the walrus on the wall outside our window. I’d definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurel1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

$99.00 plus 12% tax (yes, the tax added to our bill was $12.....That was just for the tax! and there was nothing I, nor the proprietor , nor you can do about that.....Yes, screw the traveler who chooses your city to vacation in! Tax him to death!).

Now that that editorial comment has been levied:

Clean, Comfortable, Pleasant motor hotel on the north end of State Street.

You will need an automobile, or be able to afford a taxi, to get from agave Inn to sights of SB.

The motel is cute...Our room was room 22 (Upstairs away from the street...kitchen, two double beds and beautiful view (through power lines) of hills to the east.

You will NOT be disappointed with Agave Inn....Our $99.00 rate for 3 on a Sunday on November 19 Late Fall/Early Winter was very fair. Orange Tree Inn, 2 miles west, without kitchen, was $84 plus TAX. (Orange Tree Inn is also a fine, affordable, convenient motor hotel on State Street with very nice staff and within walking distance of SB sights).

Agave Inn was very cute, very clean, and very comfortable. The front desk staff was so friendly, so helpful, so accommodating.

Lots of words to say,"We loved our stay for $99/night and the $12 which the city extorted from us.

You will also love your stay.

Room Tip: Room 22 costs a bit more (Winter rate $99 PLUS $12 tax (12%) but has kitchen and a pleasant view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The inn itself is at a quiet location on state street, and with a french bakery and grocery store as well as numerous other locations for food within walking distance, the stay was well worth it! The staff was extremely knowledgable of the santa barbara and surrounding locations!!!!!!!! GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chefshags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
4 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
899 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
405 reviews
3.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#44 of 52 in Santa Barbara
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agave Inn

Address: 3222 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3329
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $99 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Agave Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agave Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is a small 13 room Inn. Free WiFi, free parking, coffee maker in all room and Ipod players in all rooms. Conveniently located close to Earl Warren Showgrounds, Sansum Clinic, Santa Babara Municipal Golf Course and downtown. We look forward to seeing you soon! While visiting please be sure to check out our restaurant- Sama Sama Kitchen -located in beautiful downtown Santa Barbara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Agave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agave Hotel Santa Barbara
Agave Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing