We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very comfortable!”
Review of Agave Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agave Inn
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, very comfortable!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great location close to all main attractions, room very comfortable and clean. We were only here overnight but were made to feel welcome. We were given a very large room which was nice. Free parking was a bonus! Would recommend as a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    180
    50
    13
    8
See reviews for
80
226
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schwerin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The place was clean and neat, the owners are very friendly and helpful. I have stayed here twice in July and would certainly return if I had the chance. Its not far from the main spots, located on State Street its a quick drive down the street.
Greetings from Germany!

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Stef187362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and i had wanted to stay here for about six months after a friend told us about it. For the price ($120) it was about the same as other hotels we had stayed at. The location is good a grocery store and severql of the "local" type restaurants are nearby. Its not a bad place but places like eagle inn (near the beach), sandman inn (pretty full breakfast) or hotel santa barbara (heart of tourist sites) are more likely what a visitor to sb would be looking for. I would highly recOmmend agave inn at $80 but only as a third or fourth choice at the $120 mark.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vanghus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

After looking for overpriced hotels and motels we find this place. Its located about 3 miles from the heart of santa barbara but we where impresed by the cleanlines and how well maintaned the rooms are. I would recomend anybody in a budget to come to this place

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelGol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

It's maybe cheating to say that my experience in late July 2012 almost exactly mirrored the sentiments of user "maggieroman1" in her review from July 22, 2102. Loved the helpful staff, and appreciate the value in a town whose options are generally quite overpriced. The location is perfectly fine if you have a vehicle -- if not, this may not be the spot for you.

That noted, something about the room -- which was sparsely appointed, oddly shaped, and generally dorm-like -- put me ill at ease. For the record, it seemed to bother me a lot more than my wife. I'd also note that many of the other rooms looked more appealing than the room we'd ended up with, which was actually one of the larger rooms at the rear of the property.

I also tend to be a bit of a worrier, and didn't at all like the parking arrangement -- there are simply fewer parking spots than rooms. This means that on any given night, some guests have to park on the street or in an adjacent lot for a small commercial park. We got lucky the nights we were there -- but I'd prefer an option like the Best Western Pepper Tree Inn, where this isn't a concern at all.

We'd consider the Agave Inn again, although we'll probably scout the other value-priced options in Santa Barbara if we return again.

Room Tip: I clearly didn't like the rooms to the absolute rear of the property, up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T-BoneMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

During our roundtrip through the Western part of the United States we found this small motel in the internet. We booked it for two nights because of the nice pictures and the good reviews. And they were right! For us it was not staying in a hotel, but staying in a private apartment as our room had a full equipped kitchen. Out of the three windows we had a beautiful view on a garden with lemon and orange trees and the mountains in the background. The owner of the motel really did a good job when he decorated every room in a special way. The room was stylish, had enough space for three people and was very clean. Everybody on the front desk was very helpful and friendly. If you want to have a good value for the money in Santa Barbara and want to have something special, stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K0libri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night at Agave Inn, it is a nice, modern and cute route motel.
Front desk very helpful and friendly; clean and renovated room with TV, fridge and microwave.
Very good stop if you are in the region, it is a good change from classic US route motels.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lemon Tree Inn
Lemon Tree Inn
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.6 mi away
Presidio Motel
Presidio Motel
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#37 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agave Inn

Property: Agave Inn
Address: 3222 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3329
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Agave Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agave Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is a small 13 room Inn. Free WiFi,continental breakfast,and Ipod players in all rooms. Conveniently located close to Earl Warren Showgrounds, Sansum Clinic, Santa Babara Municipal Golf Course and downtown. We look forward to seeing you soon! While visiting please be sure to check out our restaurant- Sama Sama Kitchen -located in beautiful downtown Santa Barbara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Agave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agave Hotel Santa Barbara
Agave Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing