We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very comfortable!”
Review of Agave Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agave Inn
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great location close to all main attractions, room very comfortable and clean. We were only here overnight but were made to feel welcome. We were given a very large room which was nice. Free parking was a bonus! Would recommend as a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 494 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

The place was clean and neat, the owners are very friendly and helpful. I have stayed here twice in July and would certainly return if I had the chance. Its not far from the main spots, located on State Street its a quick drive down the street.
Greetings from Germany!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
Thank Stef187362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and i had wanted to stay here for about six months after a friend told us about it. For the price ($120) it was about the same as other hotels we had stayed at. The location is good a grocery store and severql of the "local" type restaurants are nearby. Its not a bad place but places like eagle inn (near the beach), sandman inn (pretty full breakfast) or hotel santa barbara (heart of tourist sites) are more likely what a visitor to sb would be looking for. I would highly recOmmend agave inn at $80 but only as a third or fourth choice at the $120 mark.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vanghus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

After looking for overpriced hotels and motels we find this place. Its located about 3 miles from the heart of santa barbara but we where impresed by the cleanlines and how well maintaned the rooms are. I would recomend anybody in a budget to come to this place

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelGol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

It's maybe cheating to say that my experience in late July 2012 almost exactly mirrored the sentiments of user "maggieroman1" in her review from July 22, 2102. Loved the helpful staff, and appreciate the value in a town whose options are generally quite overpriced. The location is perfectly fine if you have a vehicle -- if not, this may not be the spot for you.

That noted, something about the room -- which was sparsely appointed, oddly shaped, and generally dorm-like -- put me ill at ease. For the record, it seemed to bother me a lot more than my wife. I'd also note that many of the other rooms looked more appealing than the room we'd ended up with, which was actually one of the larger rooms at the rear of the property.

I also tend to be a bit of a worrier, and didn't at all like the parking arrangement -- there are simply fewer parking spots than rooms. This means that on any given night, some guests have to park on the street or in an adjacent lot for a small commercial park. We got lucky the nights we were there -- but I'd prefer an option like the Best Western Pepper Tree Inn, where this isn't a concern at all.

We'd consider the Agave Inn again, although we'll probably scout the other value-priced options in Santa Barbara if we return again.

Room Tip: I clearly didn't like the rooms to the absolute rear of the property, up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T-BoneMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

During our roundtrip through the Western part of the United States we found this small motel in the internet. We booked it for two nights because of the nice pictures and the good reviews. And they were right! For us it was not staying in a hotel, but staying in a private apartment as our room had a full equipped kitchen. Out of the three windows we had a beautiful view on a garden with lemon and orange trees and the mountains in the background. The owner of the motel really did a good job when he decorated every room in a special way. The room was stylish, had enough space for three people and was very clean. Everybody on the front desk was very helpful and friendly. If you want to have a good value for the money in Santa Barbara and want to have something special, stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K0libri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent one night at Agave Inn, it is a nice, modern and cute route motel.
Front desk very helpful and friendly; clean and renovated room with TV, fridge and microwave.
Very good stop if you are in the region, it is a good change from classic US route motels.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
891 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#27 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agave Inn

Address: 3222 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3329
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $111 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Agave Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agave Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is a small 13 room Inn. Free WiFi, free parking, coffee maker in all room and Ipod players in all rooms. Conveniently located close to Earl Warren Showgrounds, Sansum Clinic, Santa Babara Municipal Golf Course and downtown. We look forward to seeing you soon! While visiting please be sure to check out our restaurant- Sama Sama Kitchen -located in beautiful downtown Santa Barbara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Agave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agave Hotel Santa Barbara
Agave Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing