We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burger”

Union Ale Brewing Company
Ranked #173 of 532 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Carlsbad, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great burger”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice pub in downtown Santa Barbara. We each had a beer and shared a burger. Fun place, good service, good beer and great burger at lunchtime.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 788charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    26
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fira, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great beers, just off the beach”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We went here for a few beers and snacks. This was a good beer pub. We did not have much to eat, or I could have given it a higher rating. Everything we had was A-OK. They have a good selection of well flavored American micro brews (e.g. Stone Brewing, etal). We had a plate of wings for a snack, and the heat was just right. We will be back for more beer and wings. They do make everyone order at the bar, which is a interesting approach, although I can understand how this would work when hour gets late and there is a noisy beach crowd.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PWHorstmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDDITCH WORCERSHIRE ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Local beer”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great range of beer, food looked nice although we didn't eat there. Service was friendly and they do a Gluten free beer, which was very nice.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chady2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“what a shame”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Fabulous concept. Poor execution. So many craft beers on draft and bottles, but no menu.. or list that describes the beer, where it's from, style description, alc content, bitter units, etc... chalk board of drafts with absolutely no description. NO list of bottled beers, so bring your eye glasses to see what's on the wall. No table service so you have to wait in one looooong line for beer and food orders. I waited 15 mins in line, but then took up another 10 mins asking questions... not my fault! So that lead to poor service because bartender didn't know his beers and was rushed. Don't believe the happy hour signs if there's a 'playoff' game. Pulled pork sandwich was pretty good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cat008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
835 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Beer great, service poor.”
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

The one chap behind the bar was struggling to keep up, but even so the service was haphazard with no regard to who was there first. There was a second person behind the bar who didn't seem to be serving (I.e. by avoiding eye contact) who then decided to start pouring a beer for someone behind us. The ale, however, was really good.

Helpful?
Thank NinaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Ale Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Union Ale Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing