We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Montecito Bargain”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coast Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coast Village Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Montecito Bargain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This place is charming and great value.
Some of the earlier historic reviews may or may not be justified .
There are some people who will never be satisfied and they always write a review to tell others .
Thankfully they will not be at the Coast Village Inn and better for it.
The price is always right . It is a motel that is being constantly renovated and the rooms have improved greatly in the years we have been staying here.
Charming staff , super pool and the noise mentioned earlier is only made by noisy people and that can happen anywhere.
Stay at CVI , enjoy the elegant ambience of beautiful Montecito, take you $5 voucher to Jeannines bakery for the best coffee and breakfast and decide if you got great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    73
    29
    11
    14
See reviews for
41
68
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

When I go to Santa Barbara solo I book the CVI, and have done this a half dozen times. The downside is that the rooms are small, the outside noises seem to be amplified at times, the parking is little funky. The upside is that the property is generally quiet, the housekeeping is excellent, the linens and toiletries are of quality....and the price is extremely competitive. It's Motel 6 with a Montecito pedigree, walking distance to beach, shops and nice restaurants on Coast Village Rd. It's no frills, but the WiFi is free and there's a $5 coupon per day for a popular breakfast place 2 blocks away. I usually request something on the top floor rear to minimize noise, and best to book well in advance since this place seems to have a high occupancy rate. The CVI is not a place you'd write home about, but it's well run and definitely Montecito on a budget.

Room Tip: Request a top floor back room, but park in front. The back parking lot is a squeeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
198 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a typical motel that has been upgraded. Everything in the room is first class. There is no AC. With the window open, it was comfortable in
July, but you do hear some noise, not bad, though. We heard a train, but not during the night...we were there on the weekend. There was a two night minimum as it was the Fourth....$200 a night plus $3 to park, so not cheap, but best buy for the neighborhood. We were there to attend a private party, so were not in the hotel during the day. They have coffee in the lobby (paper cups). The staff was very nice and they are there 24/7. They gave us a $5 chit each towards breakfast at Jeannine's, an excellent place. It is a couple blocks down the street, a nice walk. We were on the second floor, no elevators, but we could carry our luggage...they offered help if we needed it. The view was of the parking lot and the street....looking towards the ocean, but not really an ocean view. But as I said, we were only there to spend the night. The first might we walked several blocks down Coast Village Road to The Montecito Cafe (the restaurant in their much more upscale sister hotel), and our dinner was excellent. There are other restaurants in the area, also. It is a nice street to walk along, many shops, etc. The Montecito Inn had a 3 night minimum for the weekend of the Fourth, so we opted for the Coast Village Inn. The CVI also has free wi fi in the room, so that is a plus!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizcraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our stay in this hotel was absolute comfortable, the rooms are clean and the service is friendly. The location is near to the street where you can find excellent breakfast opportunities. The rooms are small but with nice style. If you book with kitchen, the kitchen is simple and comfort only moderate. But I can recommend the rooms without kitchen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have only great things to say about this hotel. It is amazing value for big rooms with very comfortable beds, a nice swimming pool and extremely helpful staff who will go out of their way to always help you. They go above and beyond service that I received at other, more expensive, hotels. Lastly, the $5 breakfast ticket they give you to Jeanine's - Use it! It introduced us to the best breakfast in town and we always looked forward to it waking up.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor with a pool view - they also have an ocean view and are very bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBartley1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have been staying here for years, its a Motel not a Hotel and its the best in Montecito. It puts you in the center of the Lower Village, close to restaurants and not too far from the Upper Village. Santa Barbara is only 5 minutes down the road, and there is a swimming pool around which one can relax. It's my favorite place to hang out. The Lower Village has a great boutique shopping with a spa like atmosphere. All this so close, and one can take the short cut and walk to the beach by the Four Seasons Hotel to see the sunset.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was a wonderful surprise, considering there are only 3 hotels in Montecito and they are all quite expensive. Coast Village Resort gives you Location, Location, Location with a fraction of the price.
You are in the heart of town, steps away from fabulous eateries like Cava and Jeanine's.
There is a classic car show outside your window every Sunday morning, literally on Coast Village Drive.
There is fresh hot coffee/tea in the little reception office every morning.
what's not to love??

Room Tip: No room service or fitness center. Just a good night's sleep and a beautiful location. And a won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
1.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.9 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#15 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Village Inn

Property: Coast Village Inn
Address: 1188 Coast Village Road, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coast Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1935, Coast Village Inn offers a relaxing retreat for family vacations, romantic getaways, and wine-tasting tours. Plan your escape and get ready to relax and unwind on California's Central Coast. With 28 guest rooms to choose from, we can accommodate nearly any size group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Village Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing