We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute room, A/C broken, no parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lavender Inn by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This reminded me of bnbs from the east coast. It was quaint, not loud, and overall clean. The bathroom was a nice size..

Cons: A/C did not cool the room. Called the FD to ask them to have maintenance take a look, which they did, within 5 minutes. Was told to leave it on, which we did, while we went out for the evening. Cut to 5 hours later, and it's still not working, and the front desk was closed.

Very few rooms in SB, and at $310 a night, not worth that price when things don't work, and you can't even find parking at night.

We told the FD in the AM on checkout, and were told "that's too bad..." haha. Laughable.

Room Tip: make sure the air works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krodrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Lavender Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Greetings Krodrik,
I am terribly sorry to hear the air conditioner in your guestroom was not working properly. Please know that based on your comments our hotel team will be sure to inspect each system to ensure a comfortable environment for our guests. There are many hotels to choose from when visiting Santa Barbara so we appreciate you choosing to stay at the Lavender Inn by the Sea. Your compliments are appreciated, however I can understand how disappointing it can be when something is not working properly. I hope you accept our sincerest apologies and visit us again. Warmly, Greg Broussard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 440 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were pleasantly pleased with our stay at the Lavender Inn. The bed was very comfortable but there was no counter space inside the bathroom, a make shift vanity was set up outside the bathroom and it smelled slightly musty. We enjoyed the continental breakfast and wine/cookies in the afternoon. The pool was very nice and the spa , while very small, was enjoyable as well.

A few negatives were: there is no elevator and we had a lot of luggage to carry up to the 2nd floor. They advertise they have laundry facilities, however, it is not onsite but is located at a sister hotel a block away. We packed up our laundry, hauled it over there only to discover 1 washer and 1 dryer that was in use. If you are counting on doing some laundry, don't expect to get it done here. This became quite an inconvenience for us as we had packed for 1 week due to airline baggage restrictions.

Overall we had a comfortable and quiet stay at the Lavender Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havefuninthesun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel has a great location, a nice but small pool and hot tub. The rooms are older and small. The rooms with 2 queen beds could hardly hold 4people by the time you had a few suitcases in them. All in all we we happy with our stay, except for the beds. The bed sheets were very worn and thin, and the pillows were awful. I wish hotels would just buy inexpensive pillows and get rid of them when they are worn rather than hang on to old feather pillows!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogirl74_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

What a lovely motel this was for our 1 night stay in Santa Barbara. Our room wasn’t ready when we arrived but no problem we borrowed bikes from their sister hotel over the road and cycled the short distance to the beach. I had requested a room on an upper level but we were put on the ground floor, no problem for one night though. The room was very classic in style with thick carpet and good solid fixtures and fittings, we joked that ‘they don’t make hotel rooms like this anymore’! It was equipped with everything you could possibly need from fridge to ironing board. The bed was one of the comfiest I’d slept in and I felt like Princess and the Pea. We made use of the pool and Jacuzzi just outside our room and we had them to ourselves. They provided free wine early evening as well as milk and cookies later at night. I wasn’t keen on the cookies, too salty but not going to complain too much when they’re free. Breakfast was included and nothing to write home about but was fine to send us on our way. The motel is well located - we walked to the main section of State Street and back in the evening. All in all we felt it was good value for Santa Barbara and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

From the nice touches of lavender scented accents in the room, to the lovely wine & cheese reception, ending with milk & cookies for dessert, to the "more than continental" breakfast, the Lavender Inn by the Sea has it all. Perfect location to the main attractions and easy freeway access. Highly recommend for a visit!

Room Tip: All the rooms facethe street - so all equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This inn is a hidden little jewel just a couple of blocks from the ocean. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, and the complementary wine and cheese they serve in the evening is a nice touch. I will be a repeat customer to Lavender Inn by the Sea!

Room Tip: The junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Letalwaysbeachbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stopped here on the first night of our honeymoon trip up the coast. We picked it based on good reviews and we were not disappointed!

When we checked in at the front desk, the front desk lady was very unenthusiastic, yet helpful. She didn't seem excited at all to see us but was very helpful in explaining all the amenities. She could've smiled a bit more. It just made us feel unwelcome. She was sure to remind us of the wine and cheese hour and milk & cookie hours of the evening. Good deal for us!

Our room had some pros and cons: The living area was large; with a sofa, fridge and dining table. That left less room for the tiny bedroom and bathroom. The room seemed really clean and put together. We had a bonus bottle of champagne waiting for us in the fridge too! The bathroom was really tiny and we had no where to set our toiletries, but it's an old room. The bed was comfortable and took up the whole room! But, it was quiet since we tucked back away from the parking lot.

The outside of the inn looked nice, the grounds were kept up. The only thing I did notice was there was a fountain that seemed to be broken on their reception patio that flooding (I guess I watch too much Hotel Impossible to not notice these things).

We enjoyed the wine and cheese reception. It was a good little snack before we head out to town (which is about a 20 minute walk to State street from the hotel). We were excited for all the walking though because we were in the car for so many hours. The hotel offered bike rentals for free, but the weather wasn't the best when we got there so we skipped that.

The breakfast the next morning was decent too. The normal choices: cereals, yogurts, pastries, bagels, etc. Everything was fresh.

We left with full bellies and happy feelings. This place was nice for the price! Just what we needed for our one night in SB.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danoraptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
522 reviews
1.5 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
582 reviews
1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn by the Harbor
Inn by the Harbor
#4 of 18 in Santa Barbara
781 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eagle Inn
The Eagle Inn
#2 of 18 in Santa Barbara
2,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
#21 of 52 in Santa Barbara
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Inn by the Sea

Address: 206 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $185 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lavender Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a sweep of California coastline reminiscent of the Côte d'Azur, guests can relax amid the soothing scent of lavender and soft ocean breezes at the Lavender Inn by the Sea. French-inspired paintings adorn the walls, lavender bouquets grace each room, and sunlight shimmers off the waters of the pool. Lavender Inn by the Sea's plush guest rooms feature pillow-top beds, down duvets, lavender-scented bath amenities, and a welcome bottle of Champagne. Savor a deluxe continental breakfast on the sunny patio, wine and cheese by the fire, and milk and cookies before bed. Surrounded by beautiful lavender gardens, the Lavender Inn by the Sea is just two blocks from Santa Barbara's picturesque beaches and yacht harbor. Stearns Wharf, the oceanfront bike path, and downtown shops and restaurants are all within walking distance. Golf courses, wineries, and the Santa Barbara Mission are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lavender Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Inn By The Sea Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing