We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect cozy place in santa barbara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lavender Inn by the Sea
Ranked #6 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

exactly what we were looking for. clean, comfortable room, few blocks from the beach and pier. Very clean, great little patio for continental breakfast. great shower, fridge vanity area. will stay again.

Room Tip: we loved the location of our room, second floor, middle of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 430 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel was just super! The breakfast was phantastic and there were some other complimentary services. We get a bottle of Champagne, wine and cheese and cookies with milk for free.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank an0nymswitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We drove into Santa Barbara for a night with no reservations or knowledge of the town. Although I had seen reviews of the Lavender Inn, we happened upon it as another place was booked and directed us a few blocks from the main drag where quite a few places were located. We stopped here first and stayed after checking 2 other surrounding inns. Our main criteria was a 2 room suite, so my husband and I could have a separate room from our 2 kids. The rooms were very clean and tastefully decorated (sort of B&B style...not terribly fashionable, but cozy and clean), the price was within our budget ($230 for the suite), the suite was spacious, and breakfast was included. There was a bottle of prosecco in the room when we checked in, which was a nice touch, and they had wine and cheese in the lobby in the early evenings, as well as snacks for the kids. The inn attendant, I believe his name was Mark???, was awesome. He was there the afternoon we checked in, and back again the next morning. He was informative, helpful, sweet, efficient, and a huge asset to the inn in my humble opinion (if I got his name wrong, his love of 80's love ballads should clarify his identity!!). We were very happy with our stay. The location is great if you have a car... it's about 4 blocks off the main drag. I would highly suggest it to the non hotel snob who is looking for a decent deal for a nice place... no brown nosing or fancy hotel robe required!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dexter'smomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We couldn't find any mid priced hotels in Santa Barbara so paid a little more than we normally would want to on a one night stay ($220).

We arrived at the Inn at 6pm, the place looked very charming and safe.

Our check in process was very easy and they had laid out cheese and wine, so we put our bags in the room quickly and went back into the hotels seating area and terrace to sit and have a nice glass with some cheese and biscuits.

The grounds were lovely and well kept, jacuzzi & pool surrounded my foliage for privacy, small patio seating in a few areas out the rooms and a terrace off reception.

The room was large with a big chest of drawer, small dining table with two comfy swivel chairs, tv, dvd player, coffee maker and a very comfy large double bed which had two lavender pouches placed on the pillow. The bed room area led into a cove area with a wardrobe which had two bath robes in, a safe, vanity area and a fridge with a welcoming complimentary bottle of champagne.

The Bathroom was a nice size, with a larger shower and lavender scented amenities.

The hotel put out milk and cookies in the evening too which we went and made use of, I'm not one for milk but the idea of milk and cookies just seemed exciting and it was... the cookies were delicious and chewy yum!!

Breakfast the next morning was lovely, we ate it out on the terrace. It included Bagels, Wholeweat toast, English Muffins, Selection of Danish pastries, muffins, boiled egg, Melon, Compote, Selection of four cereals (cornflakes, frosties, branflakes with raisin, cheerios), spreads philadelphia, peanut butter, jam (jelly), tea (lots of flavours from English Breakfast to Spicy Orange), coffee, hot chocolate, ice water, orange juice.

Although a little pricey this Inn was beautiful, definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kegan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Such a comfortable welcoming place. The breakfast was very fresh and the complimentary cheese and drinks in the evening a real bonus, also fresh. The pool area was great. The free bikes were great too. Although a bit of a walk to the main action it was peaceful and relaxing. Staff could not have been more accommodating. Loved it!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Lola0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We booked this as an anniversary get away. At $260.00 per night it was waaaay over priced. This is simply a tarted up motel. Yes some of the little touches are nice but they sure as heck don't come close to the room rate. Not to be overly picky but when's the last time anyone stayed in a hotel these days without a flat screen for instance? A shower-only bathroom also doesn't scream romance. The furnishings seemed dated and a bit worn. A boutique hotel or B and B would feature the finer things in life and give the place some character. All that being said, it was still sold out. There will be no next time

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Lavender Inn is an upscale motel. The rooms are small but extremely well appointed. They offer a few really lovely ammenities like afternoon wine and cheese. The location, just a few blocks from the waterfront, is in a very good area within walking distance of downtown .So what's the problem? . The problem is that this motel is not a Bed & Breakfast. It doesn't have the feel of a B&B. That personal touch of the owner/proprietor just is not present. So should I expect to pay B&B prices for this motel??????? I offer no judgement. If this establishment was in the motel or Inn category I would offer 4 stars with the caveat that I think the place is a wee bit pricey given the location is not overlooking the waterfront. But....as a B&B it just doesn't make it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul_nancy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
490 reviews
1.5 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn by the Harbor
Inn by the Harbor
#4 of 18 in Santa Barbara
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Inn by the Sea

Address: 206 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $164 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lavender Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a sweep of California coastline reminiscent of the Côte d'Azur, guests can relax amid the soothing scent of lavender and soft ocean breezes at the Lavender Inn by the Sea. French-inspired paintings adorn the walls, lavender bouquets grace each room, and sunlight shimmers off the waters of the pool. Lavender Inn by the Sea's plush guest rooms feature pillow-top beds, down duvets, lavender-scented bath amenities, and a welcome bottle of Champagne. Savor a deluxe continental breakfast on the sunny patio, wine and cheese by the fire, and milk and cookies before bed. Surrounded by beautiful lavender gardens, the Lavender Inn by the Sea is just two blocks from Santa Barbara's picturesque beaches and yacht harbor. Stearns Wharf, the oceanfront bike path, and downtown shops and restaurants are all within walking distance. Golf courses, wineries, and the Santa Barbara Mission are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lavender Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Inn By The Sea Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing