We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Californian(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ala Mar Motel(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor View Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (796)
Filter reviews
796 results
Traveler rating
303
331
105
44
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
331
105
44
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel virginiastate streetgreat locationhi expresshistoric hotelthe main streetfree breakfastheart of downtownwithin walking distancecentral locationthe breakfast areashops and restaurantsthird flooryogurtwould stay here againstayed one nightrooms are small
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 796 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Not a bad comment to make about this excellent hotel. All staff very polite and courteous ,, the first room we were allocated on arrival was on the ground floor facing the car park when we asked to be moved the request was done instantly, thank you. Hotel situated just off State Street and about a 10/15 min walk to the beach. Shops, restaurants and bars are all close by so the location of the hotel is perfect . If in the area again I would definately use this hotel and recommend it to anyone reading my review. Complimentary breakfast in the morning is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walkerclan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear walkerclan11,
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was accommodating. We hope to see you next time your travels bring you to Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have been staying at the Santa Barbara Holiday Inn Express for several years now. This is a wonderful place to stay; centrally located, convenient parking and EXCELLENT customer service! This last trip (a day ago) compelled us to write about the very professional and friendly service provided by Jonathan. Since we arrived early, he took our number so that he could reach us when the room would be ready while we strolled State Street. Each time that we have been here we have not been disappointed; the staff is ALWAYS courteous, helpful and accommodating. They are quick to offer to keep your luggage safe until check-in and are very helpful in recommending local favorite restaurants or sites to explore. Definitely a place to stay while in Santa Barbara!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viajeros4vida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear viajeros4vida,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and that Jonathan was able to help you throughout your stay. Our staff always appreciate reading positive reviews! We hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Location is very convenient for downtown restaurants and shopping. They charge $12 for parking but it was not hard to find an evening spot within two or three blocks -- be aware that street parking during the day is only 75 minutes, so keep an eye on the signs and the clock. They do not hesitate to ticket! Breakfast is nothing special but the room and services were cheerful and nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mauralela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Mauralela,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and our location. We hope to see you next time you come to Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The inn is well situated just one block from State street. Staff were all helpful and courteous. The breakfast wasn't up to our expectations. We were disappointed with the pancakes made by a special machine and felt the texture of the scrambled eggs was very inconsistent. We weren't looking for a gourmet meal and would have been happy with a meal like we've had at other hotels in this price category. Our king bed wasn't firm enough. On the positive side, the inn is very clean, well lit, and the parking service was most adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogelio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Rogelio,
Thank you for reviewing our property. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and valet parking service. I apologize that both our breakfast and mattress were disappointing. Your feedback will be passed along to our breakfast host and will help us improve for future guests. We have recently ordered replacement mattress for half of the hotel, we try to circulate in new mattresses about every year. We appreciate your time and candid feedback, we hope we can regain your faith in our property and that you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Santa Barbara is an expensive city. Trying to save some money but still stay in a decent place, we chose Holiday Inn Express - Santa Barbara based on online reviews. We were not disappointed.

The hotel is one block off of State Street, which is the main shopping district for SB. If you don't mind some walking, you can find countless restaurants and shops all on foot. You're also about .5 miles from the beach and Stearns Wharf.

The building is older, but it has been updated where it counts. Our room had the old double-hung windows with inside shutters. We slept with the window open and did not have noise issues (we are relatively sensitive to this).

They offer free in-room wifi, which some other name-brand hotels did not. This is not a deal-killer for us, but it is nice to have.

Parking is quite limited (cost $12/day), and there is a somewhat hidden lot (sort of like a courtyard) that belongs to the hotel, or you can use valet parking for the same $12/day.

Saving the best for last, the free breakfast. It varies slightly from day to day, but you have bacon/sausage, scrambled eggs/omlettes, cereals, super-good cinnamon rolls, pancakes, etc.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor towards the back for less noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wallyky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Wallyky,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the positive feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and complimentary breakfast! We hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews