We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel is attractive and well-located both for access to the beach and shopping and restaurants in town. We were pleased that everything was within a pleasant walk of the hotel. The rooms are on the small side but have character with the exposed brick wall of the original historical building. The rooms have a coffee maker but no refrigerator or microwave although you could zip down to the lobby to use their microwave.
The clerks at the front desk are friendly and attentive—Cesar in particular was very helpful. The front desk offers bottled water, board games, beach towels, complimentary bike rentals, passes to local lap pool, and complimentary wine reception on Monday/Wednesday/Friday afternoons.
The biggest draw-back is the unimaginative HIE standard breakfast which is calorie-dense and bland. Unfortunately, that is beyond their control.

Room Tip: in back of hotel--we stayed in room 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank brownq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Brownq8,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We strive to give great service and it makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad that you made it to our wine receptions and were able to explore the city. I apologize for the hidden location of the refrigerators in the room and we will work towards providing more variety in our breakfast selection. We hope to see you next time you are in Santa Barbara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 766 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located downtown Santa Barbara, walking distance from the beach, restaurants, shops, etc. It is a sort of historic building, which means the insulation is not great so my only complaint about the hotel is the noise. You can definitely hear your neighbors walking upstairs and/or talking next door. By all means try to avoid any room close to the elevator! I was assigned one the first night and it was impossible to sleep so they kindly moved me to another room the following day. Breakfast is basic but good and they offer a nice cheese and wine reception three times a week in the balcony. The mattresses are a bit too soft for my taste but otherwise the beds are comfortable and I loved having two choices of pillows. Wifi worked great, everything was clean and staff was very attentive. The complimentary bottled water was a nice touch as well. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Piolina,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you got the chance to explore the city and that you enjoyed our wine reception. We hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great hotel in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara. Very clean rooms, decent breakfast, and very friendly & courteous staff. The staff actually made the stay very enjoyable, with their friendly greetings, advice on activities, and quick service when we requested an additional luggage rack. Would definitely stay again. Simply outstanding.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiffKayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear CardiffKayaker,
Thank you for sharing about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was accommodating. It is always motivating to read positive reviews! We hope to see you next time you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Rooms were nice, free breakfast, wine free 3 nights a week, water bottles at front desk, as many as you need. The staff was very friendly. Close to everything, State Street, the Wharf, and train station. A little noisy on street side at the brewery, but fun to watch from your window.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Dale B,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We strive to give great service and it makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad that you made it to our wine receptions and were able to explore the city. We hope to see you next time you are in Santa Barbara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is historic and right down town for those interested in restaurants and night life. I traveled here to see my son at UCSB and have stayed at numerous hotels in Santa Barbara. I was pleasantly surprised at this hotel. The hotel desk staff and others I ran into were very accommodating, very eager to please, able to answer all sorts of questions from directions, restaurants and hard to find items. The usual Holiday Inn breakfast was perfect. The hotel room was small and I could hear footsteps from the floor above, but no other noise. It was rather dark in the shower as the light was closer to the door, but other then those complaints I thought the place was great. It is about 5-6 blocks from the ocean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicagoehc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Chicagoehc,
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at our property. I'm happy to hear that you had a pleasant visit with your son. It is always motivating for our staff to see positive reviews. We hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Barbara. I loved how it wasn't "cookie cutter" like all other Holiday Inns I have stayed in the past. The front desk staff went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. One of the desk agents..I believe her name was Angie even walked me over to a restaurant when I wasn't sure of the directions! The lobby was beautiful with an amazing fountain and the desk agents made us feel like we were family! I will be returning soon again! Thank You for making my stay very memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Devin D,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy to hear that our staff was accommodating and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you next time you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had a fantastic stay! At first we didn't think we were going to get what we wanted. I then spoke to the hotel manager Douglas, and he fixed everything for us. The hotel is located perfectly in downtown Santa Barbara. The hotel staff recommended several places for us to go and we were treated like VIPs everywhere because we were staying at the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papajin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear papajin,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm happy that we were able to accommodate your requests. We hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
989 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara

Address: 17 W Haley St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $174 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a half block from State Street in historic Old Town Santa Barbara, the Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara provides luxury and convenience for the sophisticated traveler. Downtown shopping and restaurants are steps from your door, and the beach and Stearns Wharf are four blocks away. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast served weekly from 6:30AM-9:30 am and from 7 am to noon on weekends as well as free WIFI throughout the hotel. As a pet-friendly hotel, we welcome furry companions for $45/stay (up to 2 pets under 50 lbs.). We offer affordable parking to our guests at a rate of $14/day for 2016 and $16/day as of January 1, 2017 as well as complimentary bike rentals, and nearby, off-site swimming pool and 24-hour fitness facility access. Stay with us in the heart of Santa Barbara, where you are steps from all the city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn
Santa Barbara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing