We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in Santa Barbara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
New York City, New York
1 review
“Stay in Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

My stay at the HIE in Santa Barbara was wonderful. It's 1/2 block off State Street and close to great restaurants, places for a drink, beach, shopping, etc. They also provide a great breakfast, bicycles, wine and cheese a couple nights a week, water, wifi, computers, printers, and much more. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the bed was super deluxe. It's also 1/2 block from Enterprise Rental Cars. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and most helpful with everything. I'd definitely stay there on my next trip. Totally satisfied. The prices and value were amazing too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Kevin S,
Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative for your comments about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next time you visit Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    306
    96
    41
    10
See reviews for
197
261
35
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just back from our second stay at this hotel. The hotel is basic, housed in a historic building. Room size is good, bathroom adequate. Free wifi is fast and reliable. Free breakfast very good with pancakes eggs muffins bagels cereal etc. the best thing about this hotel is the bed & pillows, they are so comfortable. Staff were all very friendly, and you are right on State street which is where all the shops and restaurants are. parking is extra $12 a day, but it's worth it as parking is v expensive in santa B. The hotel is also a short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear catherine8888,
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your room, breakfast, and our service. We hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I had a great experience working with the staff regarding an upcoming visit to Santa Barbara. They were very helpful, especially the manager Douglas. We plan to stay here regularly when we visit our son in college.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Sara F,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We look forward to your future stays with us. Once again thank you for the kind words of praise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Firstly don't bother with the valet, as the car park is right next to the hotel - we felt a bit silly when we handed the car keys to the valet and then realised where the car park was. Hotel was in a central location, just off the main street where all the bars and restaurants are. Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. There was a farmers market the day we arrived, lovely atmosphere, live music playing on the streets. The beach is a bit of walk away, and the highway runs alongside it, we preferred the main street as we only spent one night there. Breakfast was included, it was basic but really quite nice - especially liked the pancake machine. We also liked the tea and coffee takeaway, great for the start of the next leg of our trip. I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a short break to Santa Barbara

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfinbird1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Surfinbird1970,
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you were able to visit our farmer's market, it is always great fun! Thank you also for the kind words about our staff, they always enjoy reading positive reviews. We hope to see you next time you pass through the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful location. Close to many restaurants and the waterfront. Excellent breakfast and the young man in charge demonstrated an excellent work ethic as well as the staff at the front desk. Very detailed oriented and super friendly. The parking is very tight so in the evening you must use the valet to park

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcym51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Marcym51,
Thank you for your positive review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Lovely hotel near the main Santa Barbara high street. Comfortable helpful staff. Really pleasant stay. Wish we had had longer in Santa Barbara. Breakfast was standard for holiday inn. Little bit of a walk from the beach but the town is... Like 15-20 mins so doable. Also rent bikes its a great way to get around

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thewhitleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Thewhitleycat,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was accommodating. I agree that the bikes allow guests to see parts of the town they might not get to on foot. We hope to see you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Second time staying at this hotel. The last time was in 2011 for the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer. Extremely comfortable beds!! Must stay! Clean! Convenient to main street with lots of shopping. The wharf is nice to walk around and takie in the gorgeous scenery. Breakfast is included in the rate and has some good protein options.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Leann L,
Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us. It's always great to have loyal guests come back and stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our location and explore the city. We hope to see you next time you are in Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#21 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#27 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
#26 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara

Property: Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Address: 17 W Haley St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a half block from State Street in historic Old Town Santa Barbara, the Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara provides luxury and convenience for the sophisticated traveler. Downtown shopping and restaurants are steps from your door, and the beach and Stearns Wharf are four blocks away. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast served weekly from 6:30AM-9:30 am and from 7 am to noon on weekends as well as free WIFI throughout the hotel. As a pet-friendly hotel, we welcome furry companions for $45/stay (up to 2 pets under 50 lbs.). We offer affordable parking to our guests at a rate of $14/day for 2016 and $16/day as of January 1, 2017 as well as complimentary bike rentals, and nearby, off-site swimming pool and 24-hour fitness facility access. Stay with us in the heart of Santa Barbara, where you are steps from all the city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn
Santa Barbara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing