We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hotel has charm with brick walls in the rooms. The rooms are a little smaller but they do have double pane windows, fridge, table and chairs, and pretty good beds. Staff is friendly and made some great recommendations. Walking distance to everything. Stayed one night but will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tvlrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Reillyran,
Thank you for your positive review. It is always hugely motivating when guests take the time and trouble to recognize our property and the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Santa Barbara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 768 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were worried about booking a room in this hotel because we don't usually stay at HI Express. However, for a trip where we just needed a good night's sleep and good bathroom this fit the bill. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and the free breakfast was good. If you don't wat to pay $600 a night in Santa BArbara, stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pcas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear pcas55,
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here over Mother's Day weekend for a one-night's stay.

The Pros
-Centrally located, lots of places to walk to nearby
-Doesn't have a two-night stay minimum
-Vending and ice machines nearby
-The breakfast spread in the morning isn't too shabby. I helped myself to some coffee, fruit and cinnamon bun when I left, but they had a ton of stuff!

The Cons
-Rooms facing the street are loud, my sister-in-law requested a room change that faced the back and it was not as bad.
-Very limited parking, they have valet service, but when my brother-in-law got his car back someone had clearly STEPPED on the hood and done damage to it overnight. Where do they park these cars???
-I was going to iron a pair of white pants, but when I pulled out the iron it was covered in some sort of red stuff that looked like it would have ruined my pants if I tried to iron it.

I would probably stay here again but only because of the convenience. I'm sure there are other budget options that are better.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MigratingBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear MigratingBirdie,

Thank you for your comprehensive feedback on your stay with us back in May. I am pleased to note that you liked our convenient location.

I am disappointed to hear your dissatisfaction during your stay. My sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the noise from the street has caused you.

Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

It's called Hotel Virginia in large letters on the front, which is a bit confusing if you're driving around looking for a Holiday Inn. Apart from that it's easy to find from the Pacific Coast Highway.

We spent 3 nights here and found it very good. We'd asked for a quiet room and got one; check-in and out was very straightforward; all the staff were very friendly and helpful; you get a free local daily newspaper. There's a nice balcony on the 2nd floor where you can sit with a glass of something, or your breakfast. Two car parks at $12 per night. It's also an historic building.

It's a couple of minutes' walk from the main street, and about 10 -15 from the beach, wharf and station. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby to suit all pockets and tastes.

Our only slight gripe was all the disposable tableware at breakfast - real cups, plates and cutlery would have made me give it 5 stars. But they do have an impressive pancake-making machine!

Room Tip: As the hotel is on a fairly main road, if you don't want traffic noise all night ask for a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear RoseR23,
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We strive to give great service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad you got the chance to explore downtown Santa Barbara. In regards to the disposable tableware at breakfast, because we are a historic property we do not have the kitchen space for real plates. We are however making the switch from styrofoam to recycled paper tableware. We hope to see you next time you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

It's a Holiday Inn Express just like all the others, so there's no reason to discuss the rooms. The location is perfectly centered and makes Santa Barbara entirely walkable (well, at least if your intent is to spend time at the beach and also dine and shop along State Street). The breakfasts are fine at the hotel, but a block away on Gutierrez there's a great bakery that serves omelets and such, and I preferred that place. The Alchemy Arts building directly behind the hotel is also a great choice, and they have cold pressed juices (kale, cucumber, beets, etc), although they are overpriced. The Juice Ranch, on Parker, two blocks away is a much better place if you just want green or red juices. All the best restaurants are up by Carlitos (incredible Mexican) -- Bouchon (wonderful food but overpriced), Olio e Limon (great Italian), and nearby Wine Cask is also great. If you're staying on a Saturday go to China Pavilion (the best Chinese in SB) for their dim sum menu, it was fantastic. The Italian place on the corner of State street, Bucatini, was not very good at all. The Mini Mart on the corner sells wine, and the front desk at the HIE gives you complimentary bottled waters.

Room Tip: Second or third floor rooms are better (first floor rooms have windows people can see in from the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Writer/Director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel may be a little dated but it is in a great location in central Santa Barbara.

The bed was comfy and parking is available onsite. It is just a few seconds walk from the main street, The staff were friendly and helpful.

I wouldn't put to much hope on the breakfast, it wasn't the best.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main entrance are quieter, there is a bar opposite the hotel entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsmithexpotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Excellent location for just leaving the car in the car park and exploring on foot or by using the complimentary bikes. Staff excellent, rooms clean and of average size. Other reviewers had mentioned noise problems so we were rather worried when we realised that there was a bar in the street just opposite our room, but our fears were unfounded. One or two noisy outbursts around 11pm but they were very short lived and caused this elderly couple no problems

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
473 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara

Address: 17 W Haley St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $171 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a half block from State Street in historic Old Town Santa Barbara, the Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara provides luxury and convenience for the sophisticated traveler. Downtown shopping and restaurants are steps from your door, and the beach and Stearns Wharf are four blocks away. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast served weekly from 6:30AM-9:30 am and from 7 am to noon on weekends as well as free WIFI throughout the hotel. As a pet-friendly hotel, we welcome furry companions for $45/stay (up to 2 pets under 50 lbs.). We offer affordable parking to our guests at a rate of $14/day for 2016 and $16/day as of January 1, 2017 as well as complimentary bike rentals, and nearby, off-site swimming pool and 24-hour fitness facility access. Stay with us in the heart of Santa Barbara, where you are steps from all the city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn
Santa Barbara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing