We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We choose the HIE to stay during our trip in California and we were not expecting five star hotels.
We stayed only one night at the HIE Santa Barbara and for us the location was good, we could walk to the wharf and come back without problems. The hotel itself is very reasonable or good, room with enough space, bathroom ok, the service also good but we hadn´t any problem to test it
Yes the breakfast I don´t like the paper plates and the plastic cutlery .and besides these the breakfast is equal in all the HIE and this is boring. Anyway we have always the possibility to have the breakfast outside.
I am not sorry to had select the HIE Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: We received a room to the parking place and was good.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 760 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

PROS: State Street, the main boulevard where all the shops and restaurants are, is literally a 30 second walk from the hotel. The beach is only a 10 minute walk. The neighborhood is nice, there's a bar right across the street. The room was clean, the staff was friendly and very knowledgeable.

CONS: This is a renovated hotel that was originally built in 1915. My room was slightly smaller than the average hotel room but not by much. My boyfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary and we had a very pleasant experience. We plan on staying here the next time we go to Santa Barbara. Otherwise I have no complaints about the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 310, which was in a corner with no neighboring walls to other guests. We had a ver...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

There was mold in the bathroom, stuff spattered in more then one area by the beds, and the towles were wet before we even used them. After I brought this to their attention I was told we would be compensated. Upon checking out the next day, there was no change in the bill. SO brining it back to their attention they took off about 40%. Great for them. I will never stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We like the relaxed Santa Barbara atmosphere, and this hotel is a good example of the style. It's like staying with your Aunt Ethel...she's glamorous if a little faded, her house is California chic if a little scuffed around the edges, and she always makes you feel at home. Plus there's the typical HIE breakfast and the property subscribes to a decent selection of cable choices. As others have pointed out, the location can't be beat for restaurants, shops, movies, and a pop up farmer's market on Tuesday afternoons (delicious organic strawberries). Though we do avoid the beach by the wharf, too many street people camping there. All in all, a good value for your money, and a pleasant place to while away a day or two.

Room Tip: Over the parking lot is quieter than Haley Street, and you may have a view of the mountains.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bksgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We walked to the Farmers Market and then went to the movies. Short wallk to everything. On our walk back we went into Starbucks for a hot chocolate. Great location. We will be coming back again this spring and then again this
Summer. We will be staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DADouty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We met another couple at this hotel for a long weekend. We loved everything about this hotel! The rooms were wonderful, lobby was so cool with the historic Spanish style. Service was excellent as well! We can't wait to go back!! What a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great location, we could not have chosen better. Walking distance to all the restaurants and shops on state street. Walking distance to the wharf.also state street.. Hotel rooms are designed as in a Spanish hacienda, furniture and teracota tiles..staff was friendly and helpful.
We wanted to stay another night but they were fully booked..next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
973 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara

Address: 17 W Haley St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $173 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a half block from State Street in historic Old Town Santa Barbara, the Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara provides luxury and convenience for the sophisticated traveler. Downtown shopping and restaurants are steps from your door, and the beach and Stearns Wharf are four blocks away. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast served weekly from 6:30AM-9:30 am and from 7 am to noon on weekends as well as free WIFI throughout the hotel. As a pet-friendly hotel, we welcome furry companions for $45/stay (up to 2 pets under 50 lbs.). We offer affordable parking to our guests at a rate of $14/day for 2016 and $16/day as of January 1, 2017 as well as complimentary bike rentals, and nearby, off-site swimming pool and 24-hour fitness facility access. Stay with us in the heart of Santa Barbara, where you are steps from all the city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn
Santa Barbara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing