We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location state st. Clean, cozy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great location, we could not have chosen better. Walking distance to all the restaurants and shops on state street. Walking distance to the wharf.also state street.. Hotel rooms are designed as in a Spanish hacienda, furniture and teracota tiles..staff was friendly and helpful.
We wanted to stay another night but they were fully booked..next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 766 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

A great hotel in a great location! The hotel is clean, modern and really comfortable! The breakfast is basic but is a good way to start the day and had everything we wanted: cereal, toast, coffee, juice and fruit.
The hotel is in a great location and the parking was a great bonus too. The hotel offers some really good services that go above and beyond what we were expecting. If you go to reception they will give you complimentary water every day, there are discount vouchers available for certain restaurants, bikes available for free hire, beach towels for use and maps available too.
Overall a great hotel offering just what we wanted!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tuckenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is very close to shops and restaurants and bars, but about 15 minutes walk from the beach. Breakfast is quite good, although seating area is limited. Rooms are comfortable but can be very noisy depending upon where you are situated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors, street level is very noisy and literally on the sidewalk. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venice37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Arrived early and Douglas, the manager, promptly got someone to prepare a room for me. Took a short stroll and Kim, front desk, called and reported the room was ready. Literally 30 minutes. The room was lovely and spacious, very clean, the beds comfortable and a very nice bathroom. Tanner, at the desk that evening, was very restaurant-knowledgeable and really helpful. Going back up in two weeks and will again be staying at this property. Wonderful staff....

Room Tip: If you want a "room with a view" you can request one. If you prefer a little quieter room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night on our honeymoon and it was great. We chose this hotel because it was close to the train station and it turned out to be one of the better hotel's on our trip (and we were staying in some nice, oceanfront locations). It is located just off State Street which offers tons of shopping and great restaurants. The service was great, the continental breakfast was nice, and the location was great for our needs. The rooms looked newly remodeled and the bathroom even had a granite counter top. We're already talking about going back to Santa Barbara and we'll probably consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express apparently at one point in time was known as the Hotel Virginia. It is very easy to see in the decor and structure of this building that it was once a prime destination for travelers who wanted to escape the bustle of city life and head for the relaxing hills of Santa Barbara. It's hard to imagine what bustle of yore could compare with today's hectic rat race, but the level of peace and calm available at the now "H.I.Ex" is quite superb. The key to this place is its perfect location just off the main drag for shopping and dining, and it's within walking distance to the beach. Win-Win-Win.

The parking is tight, but there's a super-friendly valet available 24/7. The parking is also free...a MAJOR plus for this area. The hotel lobby is intimate (smallish), but not unlike what you would find at most hotels in New York City. With its Spanish tile, open cafe seating and breakfast bar, it provides everything the casual or business traveler would want all in a compact convenient space. There are a few computers with internet access available as are plenty magazines and guides to soak in the local flavor.

When I checked in, no fewer than 3 attendants were asking about my drive in, whether I'd found the parking lot, if i needed water, and if I'd like recommendations on lunch. This personal attention is often missing at places at 3 times the price. One of the attendants immediately ran to check to see if my room was ready. It was not, however they offered to hold onto my luggage and valet my car in case I wanted to walk down nearby State Street for lunch. It is quite refreshing to be treated like a paying guest, rather than a burden to the staff - thank you!

When I received the call that my room was ready, I entered a first floor room that faced the parking lot. If it were vacation I would have requested a higher floor, but since it was work, the room would do just fine. There were black out curtains to cover the ample sun coming from the arched windows. The parking lot view was actually not so bad, as there is an adjacent building with a gorgeous giant palm tree and a pretty curved roof to look at through the window.

The bed was huge, soft and inviting, and the room was spacious. Big flat TV, desk with multiple plugs (good call) and the internet was free and fast - once again, these guys finally get the 'small stuff' that makes some hotels less than convenient.

The bathroom had the same large red tiles from the lobby, and the design was corporate but still fitting with the Spanish history of the Santa Barbara area. The towels were clean and the amenities were OK. I will forever advocate for a total legal ban of tiny soaps in any American hotel. This hotel offered two tiny soaps of identical size, one called the 'face bar' and the other the 'body bar.' These labels were both lies since nothing that tiny can be called a bar. "Sliver" perhaps would have been more honest. Since I carry my own shower gel it was no biggie...but maybe one day hotels will listen to the large American bodies they serve.

Each time I entered or left the building, the friendly valet offered his services for directions, carrying packages or recommendations on the local flavor. Each time I went to the desk I was greeted warmly with a smile and genuine concern that I was having a great stay.

Of course, the biggest perk of all was being able to walk literally out of my room and right into the most beautiful main street. I could take it up for entertainment, or down to the beach.
For a good price, I got a true Holiday in this lovely little Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want, they will likely try every possible way to please their guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winghop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

an excellent upgraded hotel but kept in the tradition of the Spanish arch. and culture. Small but cozy, great staff, very helpful and when asked for a noon luncheon place the referral was outstanding! Within walking distance of the beach, pier, etc., I would definitely stay here again.
Bob - Minnesota

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
987 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara

Address: 17 W Haley St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $173 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a half block from State Street in historic Old Town Santa Barbara, the Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara provides luxury and convenience for the sophisticated traveler. Downtown shopping and restaurants are steps from your door, and the beach and Stearns Wharf are four blocks away. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast served weekly from 6:30AM-9:30 am and from 7 am to noon on weekends as well as free WIFI throughout the hotel. As a pet-friendly hotel, we welcome furry companions for $45/stay (up to 2 pets under 50 lbs.). We offer affordable parking to our guests at a rate of $14/day for 2016 and $16/day as of January 1, 2017 as well as complimentary bike rentals, and nearby, off-site swimming pool and 24-hour fitness facility access. Stay with us in the heart of Santa Barbara, where you are steps from all the city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn
Santa Barbara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing