We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with this choice!”
Review of Inn At East Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn At East Beach
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Very happy with this choice!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a small, boutique hotel that appears to have been built in the 50's or 60's and has been updated and lovingly maintained. It retains that "mid-century modern" retro feel, and adds a very personal touch with the management. The hotel itself is across the street from Hyatt Santa Barbara, one short block off the beach.

The room I had was on the second floor overlooking the pool, and was much larger than I would have expected, and the prices for this hotel were considerably lower than any other hotels in the area - with the possible exception of a couple that were not on my list for consideration.

Frank is a legend there - he and his wife have apparently been managing this property for some time, and he has a huge personality. He is friendly, personable, and will go way over the top to make sure you have what you need to have a pleasant stay. He is also extremely knowledgeable about places to see, to eat and how to get the most from your stay.

The hotel offers bicycles for guests, sun chairs and boogie boards for playing at the beach, a wonderful free breakfast with fresh pastries, teas, and more.

I loved all of this. The only detractions; my room had a mildly unpleasant odor when I first arrived, bot bad enough to ask to be moved, just a bit musty. The older wood frame construction means that if you are on the first floor, and you have someone over you, you might hear them walking and the ceiling creaking a bit. You might also hear some traffic noise; the walls are a little thin.

None of these detracted from my enjoyment of the hotel. I would stay here again without hesitation. If you need room service, and do not want an outside entrance to your room, or are a particularly light sleeper who would be disturbed by some light traffic noise or from your neighbors - this might not be the right place for you. I found it to be charming, and a great value.

Room Tip: If you stay in an upstairs room you won't have people walking around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatEastBeach, Front Office Manager at Inn At East Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Mark!

Thank you for your feedback! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! I do agree that our soundproofing can use some updating and am currently trying to work that into our next renovation budget! Your feedback may help me move that along! Thank you!!! I do hope we will get to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Christina Montalvo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    315
    77
    39
    26
See reviews for
216
391
36
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for a night after reading all the reviews and the reviews are spot on! This place is a hidden gem about 5 mins (walk) from the beach. There are no cons, here are the key pros:

- Frank is amazing. We were the last guest to arrive (past their closing time) -yet Frank was polite and courteous. I then broke the key(?!) and so had to bother him again. He was super nice about it. When we left he had some toys to give our little guy and he was obviously thrilled.
- Rooms are very clean and have all the basic amenities
- Breakfast includes a ton of items - they pack in a ton of stuff into that small reception area, amazing use of space
- Best price we could find at the time we traveled

Room Tip: We found a good deal for the room on TripAdvisor, which had a link to a priceline page with the spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fletcher_munson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatEastBeach, Front Office Manager at Inn At East Beach, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am just thrilled to hear that you had such a great time with us! Frank is a card, isn't he? Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave your feedback! I will be sure to share this with Frank and the rest of our Team!!! I do hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again real soon!!!

Kind Regards,

Christina Montalvo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We've stayed here twice now, a couple years apart. This is a hotel with personality. The hotel is on a number of levels. If you have trouble with stairs, say so when you make reservations as there is no elevator. Rooms are clean, not luxurious but nice. Both visits were short so we can't judge long term housekeeping. The website is accurate re the hotel. We had a room on the top level last time and could see the mountains on the right and the Pacific on the left. Perfect for winter weary New Yorkers. Nice patio for breakfast or whatever. Breakfast was good Continental, with bagels, pastries, cereal, fruit, etc. All served by the highly hospitable Frank in his trademark Hawaiian shirt. He also rented me a comfort cruiser bike so I could ride the bike trail along the beach. I promptly crashed into a large decorative plant. He was so gracious about it! Frank also helped me with an emergency work scan/email. None of us used the pool but others did and it looked clean and nice. Parking is right there and included, a plus in the area. Good value in an expensive town. We will be staying there any time we visit Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms are close to the pool, uppers have more stairs to cart your luggage up but a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jem0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatEastBeach, Front Office Manager at Inn At East Beach, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest!

I am just overjoyed to hear about your wonderful stay with us! Thank you so very much for leaving your feedback for us! I had to chuckle a bit at the part about the cruiser in the plant as that is absolutely something I would do! Thank you for sharing! I do hope we will get to see you agian soon!

Happy New Year!

Christina Montalvo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our anniversary and were very pleased with our choice. Never having stayed in Santa Barbara before we took a chance based on the price, location, and reviews and really hit the mark with this one. It's a very charming facility in a great location. The rooms are not luxurious and we did not expect them to be at this price but they are attractive with modern details and the bed is very comfortable. The breakfast offerings are better than average with delicious pastries and good coffee. The manager is wonderfully helpful and friendly. If you want a great value within walking distance to the beach, this is it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatEastBeach, Front Office Manager at Inn At East Beach, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Christine!

Thank you so very much for your feedback! It is always great to hear what our guests think! I am so happy to hear that you had such a great time with us! I hopw we will get to see you again in the future!

Kind Regards!

Christina Montalvo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn,CA
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 nights at the East Beach Inn.
Important: Book this room at the Inn’s web site for the best price.
Be aware that, except for a couple of rooms, you will not be parking your car close to your room.
Our room was both charming and stylish’ with comfortable beds, easy to control temperature, nice grooming products, and double sinks.
The most fun was a super breakfast presented by Frank, the manager, who will start your day on a happy note. There were about 15 different choices of pastries, quiche, boiled eggs, 10 kinds of cereal, 15 flavors of tea, Kona coffee, fresh fruit, and assorted breads (my favorite was the raisin bread). You can sit on the patio that overlooks the pool, or you can take your breakfast back to your room.
East beach (with lots of beach volleyball) is nearby, so there are lovely places to walk with views of both the ocean and the mountains.

Room Tip: Be aware that, except for a couple of rooms, you will not be parking your car close to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sssnancysss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatEastBeach, Front Office Manager at Inn At East Beach, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback! It is most important to us to hear your voice! I am extatic to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! I do hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again sometime soon!

Kind Regards,

Christina Montalvo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My friend and I stayed in Santa Barbara for a night on a 3 and a half week roadtrip around west coast America. I had read the reviews of the Inn at East Beach but we even more impressed when we arrived. The rooms are absolutely beautiful! They have obviously been recently renovated and very stylish. Really impressed. The pool was outside our door but we didn't use it. Breakfast was also included which we ate outside. Good selection! Frank and Christina were both very friendly and helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug99ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatEastBeach, Front Office Manager at Inn At East Beach, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest

It is always so nice to hear when our guests have had a great time staying with us! Thank you for leaving your feedback for us!!! We are very happy to have shared time with you!!! We all hope to see you again very soon!!!

Kind Regards!

Christina Montalvo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Frank was so great, the rooms are newly decorated and beautiful. Walking distance to the beach, trolley to State street is only .50 and because we are seniors only a quarter for us! I know if we go back to Santa Barbara this is where we will stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatEastBeach, Front Office Manager at Inn At East Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback! I will share this with the rest of our Team! We do hope to see you again!

Kind regards

Christina Montalvo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,372 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#21 of 52 in Santa Barbara
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
#43 of 52 in Santa Barbara
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At East Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At East Beach

Property: Inn At East Beach
Address: 1029 Orilla Del Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3705 (Formerly East Beach Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn At East Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps to Santa Barbara's best beach - Exclusive East Beach Resort area near zoo, wharf and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn At East Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At East Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel At East Beach
At East Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing