We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Terrific place and Hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn At East Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn At East Beach
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Benicia, California
1 review
“Terrific place and Hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Absolutely no complaints. Rooms were clean. The Inn has a warm & hospitable atmosphere. Ideal location for beach. Should we return and visit Santa Barbara in the future, the Inn at East Beach will certainly be the place we will call for reservations!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jenny203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    297
    70
    38
    26
See reviews for
200
372
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Clean, welcoming, charming. Frank is whimsical, kind, and always helpful. Breakfasts are nothing spectacular but convenient to wake up to and have. Huge assortment of teas. Overall a fantastic place to stay for the price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Masha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

An unexpectedly nice stay! Upon driving up, made the erroneous assumption that it was a little down-market. But every detail has been very positive, starting with a very friendly, enthusiastic and personal greeting from Christina upon registration. She made us feel that it would genuinely be her pleasure to satisfy any need we expressed.

The king suite we stayed in was really spacious and full outfitted—kitchen with gas stove, full-sized fridge, oven, broiler, toaster, little dining table, and a microwave. Also included—nice desk with work lamp, large-screen TV with 2 nice chairs and ottomans., and in-room fireplace for heat control with atmosphere.

The bed was comfortable and included something increasingly rare—great reading lights!! And quality and generous amenities—Gilchrist & Soames brand, even netted washer and earplugs!

The décor was thoughtfully done (though I didn’t love the wall colors)—everything seemed nearly new, color coordinated, and decent quality. Yet it was refreshingly non-corporate or chain feeling.

The young man at the desk when I went down to get our free breakfast was equally accommodating, making an extra pot of coffee for us even after the 7:30-9:30am buffet was over. And the continental breakfast was unusually good—baked goods were not bulk-style, wrapped in plastic but really tasty! They also included some breakfast cereal, toast, bagels, fresh fruit, and juice—nice!

I would recommend this hotel, and would be happy to come back. An added plus was that I was able to pay for our stay using my United reward miles!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at East Beach at the beginning of January, and we LOVED it! This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting. From the door to our room we could see the ocean. The decor in the rooms is very simple and clean. The rooms themselves are also clean, and spacious. The toiletries in the room were wonderful! They even provided a loofah puff-ball thingy to use with the shower gel. We did not take advantage of the pool or the breakfast offerings, but we heard from others that the breakfast was good.
The hotel is not in the dead center of everything, so if you are looking for something in the middle of the action this is not the place for you. Don't get me wrong, it's not out in the boonies either, but it is a place where someone will still need to be able to drive at the end of the evening. It is about a 10 minute drive from the main drag with all the bars and restaurants, and the harbor as well.
Like I said in the title, we cannot wait to go back! It is so nice and quiet, the front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, and the entire setting is beautiful. It is a nice place to go to relax and hang out by the pool (with tables, chairs and umbrellas!) or a good starting place for doing other activities like going to the harbor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyVanMetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We just got back and enjoyed our stay. I had teens and a preschooler and they LOVED the breakfast options. Everyone was happy with their rooms, accommodations, and amenities which are better than most places in this price group. The rooms were spacious enough and the grounds are average. We liked that it had a heated pool (~82 degrees) and was a very short walk to the beach. They also supply beach towels, boogie boards and sand toys so you can pack less. It was nice to walk down to the beach and eat at the East Beach grill while looking out at the ocean. It isn't close to State St. and is about a 30 min. walk, easy to do during the day, but felt a little sketchy at night. It is a very, very short walk to the zoo and a playground. Also, the beds were very comfortable. The walls are a bit thin and you could easily hear when those around you in other rooms were taking showers. The rooms overall are very nice and they have added many nice little features, but there are a few things that need to be touched-up and painted, like the rim of the shower door in our room. We aren't very picky and everything else in the room was as expected.

The staff was very friendly, when I called and said we would be arriving earlier than their check in time, they were happy to accommodate. Kudos to Christina at the front desk! Overall, I'd be happy to stay at this place the next time we are in Santa Barbara particularly if we bring the kids.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs in an odd arrangement if you are upstairs, though it might be better since I think th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKD725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We vacationed with three adult children and everyone had a great time. Frank and the lovely ladies at the desk were warm and welcoming, the continental breakfast was better than most, the location one block off the beach was great because we were away from the traffic. The rooms were immaculate and nicely decorated. We'll be back!!!
Je

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdxlady52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It is in a great location, very decent rooms, very nice spread for the morning breakfast and an unbelievable front desk agent who makes the stay that much more enjoyable! Frank is so friendly, helpful and makes you feel like you're right at home. It's not anything fancy, but if you're looking for a decent place in a good spot for a reasonable price - I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferH802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.5 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#36 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#21 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#9 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At East Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At East Beach

Property: Inn At East Beach
Address: 1029 Orilla Del Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3705 (Formerly East Beach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn At East Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps to Santa Barbara's best beach - Exclusive East Beach Resort area near zoo, wharf and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Inn At East Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At East Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel At East Beach
At East Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing