We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot wait to go back!”
Review of Inn At East Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn At East Beach
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at East Beach at the beginning of January, and we LOVED it! This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting. From the door to our room we could see the ocean. The decor in the rooms is very simple and clean. The rooms themselves are also clean, and spacious. The toiletries in the room were wonderful! They even provided a loofah puff-ball thingy to use with the shower gel. We did not take advantage of the pool or the breakfast offerings, but we heard from others that the breakfast was good.
The hotel is not in the dead center of everything, so if you are looking for something in the middle of the action this is not the place for you. Don't get me wrong, it's not out in the boonies either, but it is a place where someone will still need to be able to drive at the end of the evening. It is about a 10 minute drive from the main drag with all the bars and restaurants, and the harbor as well.
Like I said in the title, we cannot wait to go back! It is so nice and quiet, the front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, and the entire setting is beautiful. It is a nice place to go to relax and hang out by the pool (with tables, chairs and umbrellas!) or a good starting place for doing other activities like going to the harbor.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyVanMetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 892 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

We just got back and enjoyed our stay. I had teens and a preschooler and they LOVED the breakfast options. Everyone was happy with their rooms, accommodations, and amenities which are better than most places in this price group. The rooms were spacious enough and the grounds are average. We liked that it had a heated pool (~82 degrees) and was a very short walk to the beach. They also supply beach towels, boogie boards and sand toys so you can pack less. It was nice to walk down to the beach and eat at the East Beach grill while looking out at the ocean. It isn't close to State St. and is about a 30 min. walk, easy to do during the day, but felt a little sketchy at night. It is a very, very short walk to the zoo and a playground. Also, the beds were very comfortable. The walls are a bit thin and you could easily hear when those around you in other rooms were taking showers. The rooms overall are very nice and they have added many nice little features, but there are a few things that need to be touched-up and painted, like the rim of the shower door in our room. We aren't very picky and everything else in the room was as expected.

The staff was very friendly, when I called and said we would be arriving earlier than their check in time, they were happy to accommodate. Kudos to Christina at the front desk! Overall, I'd be happy to stay at this place the next time we are in Santa Barbara particularly if we bring the kids.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs in an odd arrangement if you are upstairs, though it might be better since I think th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AKD725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We vacationed with three adult children and everyone had a great time. Frank and the lovely ladies at the desk were warm and welcoming, the continental breakfast was better than most, the location one block off the beach was great because we were away from the traffic. The rooms were immaculate and nicely decorated. We'll be back!!!
Je

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdxlady52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

It is in a great location, very decent rooms, very nice spread for the morning breakfast and an unbelievable front desk agent who makes the stay that much more enjoyable! Frank is so friendly, helpful and makes you feel like you're right at home. It's not anything fancy, but if you're looking for a decent place in a good spot for a reasonable price - I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferH802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stop in SB often on our way up and down the coast, and stayed in many other places before we discovered Frank and the Inn at East Beach. We stay here now whenever we can. Better than the Hyatt across the street. All the staff is friendly, helpful, and the continental breakfast is over the top! Look no more, book now!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is fine. It's expensive to stay in SB in general. This hotel is a little pricey, so I was under the impression it might be extra nice. But, it's not. It's perfectly average. It's clean, but nothing stands out as fabulous at all. The continental b'fast is fine. People described it as nice, but really, the only thing special about it is the big puffy pastries.

I think you would get almost the same experience at the Motel 6 up the street for nearly half the price.

The front desk clerk was a bit of an oddball who made entering the lobby something you wanted to avoid.

Room Tip: We had room 101 - which did have a nice little patio an as much of a view as possible I believe. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were very happy with the Inn at East Beach. Frank was very friendly and welcoming, and the other staff were the same. The room was very large with a very well equipped small kitchen – including oven, gas top stove top, full size fridge, microwave, cutlery, salt and pepper etc. The room was very comfortable with a fireplace which made it very cozy when the nights got chilly. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we’ve ever had in a hotel. The breakfasts were very generous with delicious fresh pastries, hot beverages, cereal and breads. The only negative with the room was the fact that the pool was not heated, and the noise from the highway made sleeping difficult, especially in the early morning. The location was great – about a 45 minute walk to downtown, along a beautiful waterfront. If a person didn’t want to walk, one could take the shuttle for 50 cents from the Hyatt across the street to downtown. Based on the price, it is definitely a bargain for Santa Barbara. There was plenty of parking behind the hotel also. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller1234321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
988 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
160 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
1.6 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At East Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At East Beach

Address: 1029 Orilla Del Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3705 (Formerly East Beach Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $129 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn At East Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps to Santa Barbara's best beach - Exclusive East Beach Resort area near zoo, wharf and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn At East Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At East Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel At East Beach
At East Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing