We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn At East Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn At East Beach
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I visited the Inn at East Beach on a trip through California last month. I chose it based on teh reviews on Tripadvisor and it did not disappoint.
The setting for the hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. The hotel is tastefully decorated. Breakfasting on the patio is is a delight.
The biggest asset that this hotel has is Frank. He is one of the most welcoming hosts that I have met. He is a mine of useful information about the area and a throughly charming man.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeNell30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    292
    69
    38
    25
See reviews for
195
369
36
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
monstersink
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I've been going here for 5 years now. Whether I am driving up the coast and need a place to stop or need a few day getaway from LA - the Inn at East Beach has been there for me. Frank Santana the owner is always smiling and has great spots and hidden beaches to recommend. This is the perfect spot for a quick romantic getaway way, a family affair, or shower and comfy bed while road tripping up the coast. It's a few minutes from the beach and an easy walk to the zoo and other great restaurants. You can cook up some food in the kitchenette and of course take advantage of the carbo heavy and always tasty complimentary brekkie. Such great vibes and super affordable. Can't think of a better spot or a nicer family to give my business to. P.S. I recommend asking for an ocean view and/or a fireplace.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view and fireplace for cozy feel. Second floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monstersink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We arrived after driving from Orange County, visiting family. The hotel is beautiful - well cared for, with a mod, 50's look and updated amenities. Free internet, heated pool, totally delicious breakfast (croissants and muffins from a real bakery!) The very best part was their staff - so helpful, so happy to care for everyone in the place! It's wonderful to know from the start that you'll love your hotel, and from the first "hello" to the comfy bed (I would take these pillows HOME!), surprising amenities and last friendly "goodbye," we knew we were in a great spot. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slvrmon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

great location,great price,great room! the owners are charming and do a nice continental breakfast! i would recommend this place to anyone. my room even had a fireplace. no aircondtioning but one of the best experiences with cost and what you get!! i was told not all coastal places use air.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyreplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Inn at East Beach in Santa Barbara, California is a charming and comfortable boutique hotel in a great location. A smaller Inn it appears to be in a former hotel or apartment complex, updated and made comfortable in this seaside town.

A block off the Pacific, you cannot see the ocean, but you can smell the sea air and a short, easy walk brings you to the beach and the grill there. Another easy walk, I'm guessing about half a mile, gets you to the also charming Santa Barbara Zoo where you'll spend a pleasant few hours enjoying the park-like setting. Great for anyone who has kids or just enjoys zoos, its a great way to enjoy the town. The "old town" or "downtown" area is best reached by Taxi, car, or rent a bike from one of the beach front rentals (one operates across the street in the Hyatt parking lot) so you're within easy reach of Santa Barbara's main area. It is walkable as well, but you'll walk about a mile, mile and a half to the Pier.

My room was large, beautifully updated and well appointed. Wifi was free and easily connected and stayed connected. The bed was extremely comfortable and great for the nap I needed after a 5 day trip, plus overnight. There is a pool on site that looks great. This is Santa Barbara so I had the windows open as much as I could. A portable fan was provided that was great for both moving the cool overnight air and providing white noise, which I only needed because I'm used to it. This was a quiet night's rest. When we return to Santa Barbara, Inn at East Beach will be our first choice.

Room Tip: The rooms are "layered" around the pool, but I saw little difference in choice, though I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoriTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I wanted to be spontaneous and not reserve the last night of a one week road trip up the coast. I simply walked up to the counter without a reservation and Frank was just incredibly pleasant and even gave me a discount! Uncovered parking in the back is available and was told security will check for a displayed permit; a good service, made me feel safe. The room was nicely updated with modern furniture and colors. The bathroom is a nice size, modern sink and good counter space. Hair dryer in the drawer. Some parts of the shower room didn't seem updated but still cozy. I could hear guests using the pool at night and in the morning. Some guests were loud but quieted down later at night. Continental breakfast in the lobby with seating outdoor was nice. Frank was hosting and the man is jolly, funny, and very kind.

Room Tip: Didn't see any elevators this two story inn so if you have heavy or a lot of luggage, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank criticzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Inn at East Beach. Frank was very welcoming, a real gem, and made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. The rooms are very well thought out with a good attention to detail and big comfortable beds. The location is great - about 35 minutes walk to Santa Barbara pier and it was nice to be slightly outside of the hustle and bustle of the centre. We will stay here again if we are ever lucky enough to be in the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C_MoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.5 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At East Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At East Beach

Property: Inn At East Beach
Address: 1029 Orilla Del Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3705 (Formerly East Beach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn At East Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps to Santa Barbara's best beach - Exclusive East Beach Resort area near zoo, wharf and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Inn At East Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At East Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel At East Beach
At East Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing