We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great place to stay!”
Review of Inn At East Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn At East Beach
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Howell Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“what a great place to stay!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

great location,great price,great room! the owners are charming and do a nice continental breakfast! i would recommend this place to anyone. my room even had a fireplace. no aircondtioning but one of the best experiences with cost and what you get!! i was told not all coastal places use air.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyreplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    312
    76
    39
    26
See reviews for
214
389
36
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Inn at East Beach in Santa Barbara, California is a charming and comfortable boutique hotel in a great location. A smaller Inn it appears to be in a former hotel or apartment complex, updated and made comfortable in this seaside town.

A block off the Pacific, you cannot see the ocean, but you can smell the sea air and a short, easy walk brings you to the beach and the grill there. Another easy walk, I'm guessing about half a mile, gets you to the also charming Santa Barbara Zoo where you'll spend a pleasant few hours enjoying the park-like setting. Great for anyone who has kids or just enjoys zoos, its a great way to enjoy the town. The "old town" or "downtown" area is best reached by Taxi, car, or rent a bike from one of the beach front rentals (one operates across the street in the Hyatt parking lot) so you're within easy reach of Santa Barbara's main area. It is walkable as well, but you'll walk about a mile, mile and a half to the Pier.

My room was large, beautifully updated and well appointed. Wifi was free and easily connected and stayed connected. The bed was extremely comfortable and great for the nap I needed after a 5 day trip, plus overnight. There is a pool on site that looks great. This is Santa Barbara so I had the windows open as much as I could. A portable fan was provided that was great for both moving the cool overnight air and providing white noise, which I only needed because I'm used to it. This was a quiet night's rest. When we return to Santa Barbara, Inn at East Beach will be our first choice.

Room Tip: The rooms are "layered" around the pool, but I saw little difference in choice, though I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoriTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I wanted to be spontaneous and not reserve the last night of a one week road trip up the coast. I simply walked up to the counter without a reservation and Frank was just incredibly pleasant and even gave me a discount! Uncovered parking in the back is available and was told security will check for a displayed permit; a good service, made me feel safe. The room was nicely updated with modern furniture and colors. The bathroom is a nice size, modern sink and good counter space. Hair dryer in the drawer. Some parts of the shower room didn't seem updated but still cozy. I could hear guests using the pool at night and in the morning. Some guests were loud but quieted down later at night. Continental breakfast in the lobby with seating outdoor was nice. Frank was hosting and the man is jolly, funny, and very kind.

Room Tip: Didn't see any elevators this two story inn so if you have heavy or a lot of luggage, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank criticzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Inn at East Beach. Frank was very welcoming, a real gem, and made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. The rooms are very well thought out with a good attention to detail and big comfortable beds. The location is great - about 35 minutes walk to Santa Barbara pier and it was nice to be slightly outside of the hustle and bustle of the centre. We will stay here again if we are ever lucky enough to be in the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_MoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Loved this place! Referred by volunteer at visitor center. Christine and Mark were both awesome. Got a super cool modern/retro furnished room with an ocean view for what a super 8 costs! We will definitely stay again. Very neat find in a cool town. Thank you Inn at East Beach. Only 1 block to run on the beach!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

One of the friendliest welcomes we had on the trip. There is plenty of off-street parking and rooms are large, although there is no air conditioning for those hotter months!

The location is ideal in relation to the beach but a good walk into the main street and restaurants not close by. However, there is an electric shuttle that will take you there from the beach side road for 50c. They a regular on the half hour.

Noise could be a problem as the complex is very old style with not a lot of sound insulation, even though the windows are double glazed, the rest of the design just oozes noise. I asked for a room on the top level which I highly recommend to cut down on the above noise.

A breakfast is provided which is simple but adequate. Quite nice to eat outside at the tables provided or taken back to your room.

We were pleasantly surprised by the king sized bed and space our room had, although no kitchen facilities. However there was a coffee maker which went down well early in the morning.

Good location for the beach, friendly people and and plenty of room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oamaruvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Unfortunately we only stayed here for one night on our way through, however, this was the best place we stayed in on our 12 day trip up the coast from Long Beach to San Francisco.
The owner, Frank, the owner, could not have been more welcoming or friendly and helpful. The room was lovely with the toiletries containing everything you could think of, the pool was nice and the breakfast was plentiful and tasty, again with almost everything you could wish for with Frank trying to get you to eat more!
We would definitely go back and would wholeheartedly recommend this place. Brilliant!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LordLJeavons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#30 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At East Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At East Beach

Property: Inn At East Beach
Address: 1029 Orilla Del Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3705 (Formerly East Beach Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn At East Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps to Santa Barbara's best beach - Exclusive East Beach Resort area near zoo, wharf and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Inn At East Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At East Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel At East Beach
At East Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing