We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure Spoilage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pure Spoilage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Wow! This must be one of the most amazing hotels in the world. From the moment we checked in I knew my husband wanted to wow me for our anniversary week vacation in Santa Barbara. I had always wanted to stay here after seeing the hotel many years ago on Oprah and now I can finally say I did. The hotel is just special.. the experience is spoilage for sure! We were in the Poppy cottage.. our own little "house" for a few nights. They welcomed us with a plate of little house made cakes and champagne. The rooms are beautiful.. our canopy bed was so comfortable waking up was tough in the morning. I think the complimentary and upscale amenities make their service very unique - the bath products are all Bulgari and the Coffee Nespresso, Evian, Pelligrino and Santa Barbara goodies that get replenished every day. (of course we can buy on our own but having little touches like this just make it easy.. no one really wants to get charged for extras on a vacation.. large chains should take note) .For breakfast, it is all house made beautifully prepared and delivered to your cottage or wherever you want to eat such as the beautiful rose garden. It is so peaceful and quiet and anything absolutely anything you need is at your service (we were able to get almond milk, multiple newspapers delivered, etc). We hiked from the hotel for a nice workout and took advantage of the pool. The pool is not huge nor is the gym but perfectly fine as its a small property so not many people take advantage of either at once. In fact we were the only one using the gym on our stay. The front desk is great at making reservations for dinner and getting you the reservation you want. (Try the Lark.. a newer fab funky and amazing cuisine restaurant). We did get to dine at the Plow and Angel in a magical outdoor setting.. Simply beautiful. The food is fabulous and large portions .. so we were happy we ordered appetizers and salad and side dishes and shared one entree so we could sample a lot. We even saw a celebrity next to us.. made the experience so fun. So Kudos to my hubby for thinking of me on our 16th anniversary with such an amazing experience.. I'd love to come back with my kids but Im saving this hotel just for us.. Everyone should experience San Ysidro Ranch at least once in their life.. it's truly a wonderful memory and pure spoilage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanJoseMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, Public Relations Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are so pleased you and your husband enjoyed your anniversary at the Ranch! Our staff takes great pride in curating personalized experiences for each of our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you for many return visits in the future!

The San Ysidro Ranch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    28
    20
    16
    6
See reviews for
62
281
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

It has to be one of the most beautiful properties in the United States. You instantly feel transported to another part of the world where Tuscan rolling hills and natural stone architecture engulf you in a warm and tranquil oasis as you look out over the pacific ocean in the distance. The restaurant is terrific! They had a special event this weekend(you may know what I am talking about) and unfortunately the special security-obviously an outside company, must not have had the same training the hotel staff does and they were excessively rude to our group. The sad things is we were with some very high profile people who happen to live in the area and we were treated very poorly...they even said to us they "shooed the rest of our group away and now you have to leave." We were not even aware they were closed for a special event and didn't mean to be where we shouldn't be, but what every property needs to realize is that when you have people working on your property, even if they do not work for you directly, it still reflects on your reputation. Otherwise, exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, Public Relations Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for such kind words and sentiments for the Ranch! We do apologize for the inconsistent care from the security team on property. Please feel free to call our Front Office Manager Thomas Routson if you would like to discuss your experience directly: 805.565.1740.

The San Ysidro Ranch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I've stayed at a great many 5 star wonderful hotels, but San Ysidro Ranch will always stay at the very top. The fresh cool breeze, the linens, the Pacific view from the front porch, the fresh fruit to pick from their backyard garden, the days of privacy with never seeing anyone, the flowers, the long hikes, the JFK story (he honeymooned with Jackie here), the amazing bed, the bath, ... you just want to seize each moment and memory and hold onto it forever. You can justify going way out of your way to come and stay here. Priceless luxury in every way...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank music-professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, Public Relations Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
It is so wonderful to read of your fond memories and kind sentiments for the Ranch! We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for a return visit soon.

The San Ysidro Ranch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here with my husband and dog in March. From the moment we checked in until check out, it was a 5 star experience. We had a dog friendly room, one of the Lavender cottages. The cottages are freestanding and supremely private with a gate surrounding the cottage. The front deck and a lovely table and umbrella, and the side deck contained a hot tub, 2 lounge chairs and an outdoor shower. The interior is gorgeous and looks a bit like a European country house rather than a hotel. What sets this hotel from others in the area is the service (I'm looking at you, El Encanto). Not only was every request fulfilled promptly and with style, they had a special welcome for our dog, with a toy, homemade treats and a bed. I can't wait to return to this exquisite resort!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, Public Relations Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
It is such a pleasure to read of your recent stay at the Ranch! Our staff takes great pride in curating personalized experiences for each of our guests, both two and four-legged. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

The San Ysidro Ranch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have been to the ranch several times, as it holds a very special place in our hearts. Private, quiet, beautiful surroundings and such phenomenal staff. The food is exquisite at both restaurants - the chef knows how to handle and prepare a steak! WOW!

We will certainly return for the rest of our lives as this is truly a special place!

Room Tip: The Olive cottage was spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fauxvoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, Public Relations Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
The San Ysidro Ranch is rich in history, a great portion of which has been shaped by our wonderful guests. We are fortunate to have your loyalty and look forward to providing warm memories for years to come.

The San Ysidro Ranch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Beautiful grounds and gardens. First rate service. Very private. Great hiking up nearby mountains. Dinner setting is magnificent. Great place for weekend of relaxation. Service is outstanding. We have been to many wonderful places but this is a very special hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, Public Relations Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hidden away in the lush foothills of Montecito, our team takes great pride in curating these wonderful grounds. It is such a pleasure to read of your recent stay at The Ranch, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another relaxing visit soon.

The San Ysidro Ranch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills. Ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding, and from the moment we drove onto the property I knew this place was amazing. We each had our own cottage with sweet touches. There isn't one thing that the management hasn't thought of for your pleasure and needs. The bed was the most comfortable I had slept in! We also enjoyed sitting outside on our front porch looking at the stars! I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank four2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, Public Relations Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
It is so wonderful to read of your recent stay at the Ranch! Our staff takes great pride in curating personalized experiences for each of our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

The San Ysidro Ranch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
4.7 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
5.0 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
4.6 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#15 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Property: San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Address: 900 San Ysidro Ln, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-1325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property Hotel Santa Barbara
San Ysidro Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing