We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like Yesterday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Remsenburg, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just like Yesterday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The best of the category for casual, relax, health, massages and all in the room. Best of all the provide cats to spend the week with you and I did that every time I visited. My second visit Bette Davis was at dinner every night. Known not to be very friendly, but she and I got along and I would sing for her at dinner. like coming home.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter" "Corner suites are large and sunny" I par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Gayle-

Thank you for the wonderful remarks! It pleases us to know you have such fond memories of your time at The Ranch.

Regards,

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    28
    20
    17
    6
See reviews for
63
285
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I just came home from 3 nights at this wonderful property, and there aren't enough superlatives to describe it. My husband and I stayed in Tangerine Cottage, which has ocean views, as well as a view of the property itself, mainly the charming Chef's Garden. Tangerine worked especially well for my husband, as there are no stairs to get to it, as there are for Citrus Cottage, which would, I think, be my other choice. Yes, it is expensive, but it is so worth the tariff. Though it was probable that it was nearly fully occupied, we never heard anyone else, saw very few others, except those serenely strolling the beautiful grounds. Decor is charmingly low-key, without tinsel and glitter, and the gardens are obviously carefully maintained by a pretty sizeable staff, without conveying a "don't touch" feeling, rather more an English country garden ambience. Staff was accommodating in every instance, darn them, even insisting I take home "to share" (yeah, right!) more than I needed of the freshly baked cookies always available at the reception desk. San Ysidro Ranch is close to my home, and I guess that's why it took me so many years after my first visit in 1978 to come back to it. I will not wait more than 6 months, guaranteed, to go back. I loved every minute of this stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are so pleased you found your way back to San Ysidro Ranch and enjoyed your recent stay. Thank you for the very kind remarks! We look forward to your return and to proving you and your husband with another memorable experience.

Regards,

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The San Ysidro Ranch cottages may be pricey, but I challenge you to find a more comfortable four poster bed in front of a roaring fire (controlled by an off/on switch) in the middle of winter. Winters in Santa Barbara are usually warm, and this year was no exception. The Ranch is synonymous with the word relax!

Room Tip: Fig is a great cottage with its own outside hedged in patio for reading
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Relaxation is at the forefront of the experience we wish to deliver at San Ysidro Ranch. We hope to be host you again soon for another peaceful stay.

On Behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Lovely grounds, fragrant with eucalyptus, rosemary and lavender, cozy cottages and a warm and cheerful staff combine to create a welcoming, tranquil atmosphere. We visited over Thanksgiving and enjoyed several delicious meals at the Plow & Angel. Our cottage was Laurel, which had a spacious, nicely appointed living room with a fireplace and vaulted ceiling, a small but pretty bedroom with a four poster bed (French doors separate the bedroom from living room) and a good sized bathroom with vaulted ceiling, his and her sinks, a deep soaking tub, and a glass enclosed shower with a door to the terrace (where there was an outdoor shower and hot tub) above a burbling creek. Very private, romantic, and serene.

Room Tip: Some of the cottages are much closer to the pool and gym than others; if you plan to use the pool fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyT142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
A hideaway indeed! Its a pleasure to read of your recent stay in Lilac Cottage during the Thanksgiving Holiday. We hope to the have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Ranch and the Plow & Angel Restaurant for many holidays to come.

Regards,

Seamus McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Since Ty Warner took over, the ranch is much more upscale without losing the private/isolated but happy and romantic feeling we knew and loved. We will continue to visit the ranch and plan now to take our grandkids so that they have this wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The adobe, the olive is awesome. But the other rooms offer different things and all equally wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shipofsails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
The San Ysidro Ranch is rich in history, a great portion of which has been shaped by our amazing guests. We are fortunate to have your loyalty and look forward to providing you and your family with warm memories for generations to come.

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels in " nature" . We did stop in Santa Barbara for this hotel . Some friends from Italy mentioned it . We were very happy that we did listen them . The rooms were reay good . Clean , very clean , good quality furniture , fabulos terrace and the personel very helpfull. We had a great time at the restaurant , witch is very good. I have to mention the hotel's park . It is fabulos . Go to see it .

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Miron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are thrilled you chose to visit San Ysidro Ranch during your trip through Santa Barbara. We take great care and pride on our Gardens and love to be able to share them with our guests year round. May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the New Year!

On Behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

This place deserves its rating as America's best hotel. The atmosphere is unique, with its bungalows nestled among the hills and the trees and lawns. The views are awe-inspiring, the service impeccable, the food is delicious and artfully presented. We have been coming in December for the last dozen years or so. The only things missing here are the pearly gates. I guess they're out being refurbished.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. The only differences are in the size and price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joswerling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share such glowing remarks about your recent stay; it is truly a pleasure to read! We very much hope to have the opportunity to provide you with another wonderful experience in the near future.

On Behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
4.6 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
5.0 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
4.6 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Property: San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Address: 900 San Ysidro Ln, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-1325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Montecito foothills of Southern California’s wine country, San Ysidro Ranch has provided a tranquil vacation destination for discriminating travelers for over a century. Guests are drawn to the Santa Barbara hideaway for its blend of natural beauty, romantic heritage and classic luxury. Myth and history mingle in the lush garden where Vivien Leigh and Sir Laurence Olivier exchanged vows; in the setting of John and Jackie Kennedy’s honeymoon retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property Hotel Santa Barbara
San Ysidro Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing