We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Montecito”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
1 review
“Paradise in Montecito”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have been to a lot of luxury hotels in my life but San Ysidro was by far my favorite hotel, offering complete peace and relaxation. What an incredible place. We were treated to first class service, beautiful surroundings, and a feeling of relaxed luxury.

The staff was so generous and helpful. Any request was immediately met with a solution and kindness, and every effort was made to make you feel totally relaxed and pampered. My fiance was arranging our proposal and the hotel staff did everything in their power to make us have the best day of our lives. They stored the ring, kept the secret, suggested places to proposed, helped get champagne and my favorite flowers in an exquisite bouquet, and even gave us an upgraded room!

And the room... our room (Citrus) featured a jasmine covered pergola on the front porch, and showcased a view that overlooked the garden, the valley, and out to sea. The room itself was filled with beautiful antiques and modern touches. It had a fireplace in the sitting room which was filled with minibar treats that were complimentary with the room. There was a private back patio with in-ground hot tub, lounge chairs, and an outdoor shower.

The hotel grounds were lovely and quiet... each area had different plants and flowers and the entire property smelled amazing. I would go back just for that smell!! The pool was tranquil and relaxing. We also enjoyed the hiking trails, and the hotel offered a backpack and water for the hike.

Yes the hotel is expensive, but worth every penny! You want to feel like if you pay for the best, you are actually getting the best and you undoubtedly feel like that at San Ysidro.

The only change I would have made would have been to go to Plow and Share rather than Stonehouse... our meal at Stonehouse was wonderful but for the price we have had far better food. So even though the food was delicious, I think they could have reduced the price by 20% and it would have tasted just that much better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvytravelmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Congratulations on your engagement! We are so privileged to be able to make the special memories in the lives of our guests even more special. We hope your experience at The Ranch was everything you wanted it to be and more. We wish you all the best!

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team,

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    29
    20
    16
    6
See reviews for
63
297
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
monterey, california
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was by far, the most enjoyable hotel experience I have ever had. The grounds are stunning and the rooms are luxurious and warm. The staff was very welcoming upon arrival, being professional yet warm and approachable. We were celebrating my boyfriend's Birthday, and it seemed everyone on property knew. Birthday wishes were offered upon arrival, along with a beautiful display of cookies and wine. Each night, the turn down amenity was different which was a nice touch. In addition, we had roses placed on our pillows. Upon check out, I was offered water, coffee and fresh baked cookies for the road home. We had plans to check out local restaurants and attractions, but we simply didn't want to leave the property. We had dinner at the restaurant's bar two nights in a row, and had a wonderful time chatting with Pedro, the Bartender. He managed to talk me into the $48 Carbonara Pasta, which sounds crazy, but are still talking about how incredible it was. We can't wait to return!

J+A

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbmaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
It is a pleasure to read of your recent stay at San Ysidro Ranch. We agree, the Carbonara Pasta is absolutely fantastic! We hope to welcome you back soon to taste some more of Executive Chef Matt Johnson's creations.

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
etchingham
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I ate there with two friends from the UK on the evening Sept 20th. We were given a table beside the server which was not good.
However the menu looked good and two of us ordered steak diane which was a favourite in London in the 60s. The steak were give was precooked and nothing like the steaks we have eaten in the past. There was an attempt to produce a sauce but it was more like a gravy anything else. Its was disaster and very disappointing and very expensive.
The link below gives you some idea how it should be prepared:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/steakdianewithbrandy_67955
Hopeful the establishment will take note!!!

Room Tip: Don't eat there!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EtchinghamDavid1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We're sorry to hear your recent dining experience was not as you expected. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to The Stonehouse Restaurant to sample some of Chef's other wonderful dishes.

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

It is very hard to review a five star restaurant because it is very hard to be perfect. We turned onto the cobble stone drive lined with a colonnade of beautiful lightly lite olive trees. As we approached the guard house a very friendly hotel guard welcomes you onto the grounds with a smile. The valets receive you at the motor court welcoming us to the restaurant. Ok, well I had to remove one star because they opened my door but not my fiancee. She had to open her own door.

We walked up the gently lite stone steps up to the Stone House restaurant and the Hostess immediately escorted us through a fantastic stone and warm wood decorated drawing room and onto the out door patio. Let me say that the architecture and decor are very well done and that alone is worth the trip.

Our waiter was fantastic and his recommendations where right on. Now we did have to ask for some bread to accompany our wine. Well at a five star you should not have to ask for the basics. So one more star deducted.

The food the service was THE BEST!

The motor court is equipped with a few heaters to keep you warm while waiting for the valet to retrieve your car. As my car approached I noticed the valet must have thought that he was racing my car in the Indy 500 squealing the tires into the pit area. REALLY! I did not appreciate that at all. So one more deduction.

All in all the architecture, food and service have no equal. However, they can pay a bit more attention to the small details.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Angelidecovolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the Stonehouse Restaurant. We take great pride in our beautiful restaurant and always strive to deliver a 5 Star experience. We have noted your recommendations and appreciate the same.

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed at many lovely 5 star hotels in the US, Canada, Bermuda and Europe. To date, The San Ysidro Ranch is our all time favorite. When spending this kind of money, one expects the very best in every aspect of the stay. This was the first time we did not feel there were suggestions/criticisms (large or small) to be made with a hotel/resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Creekside cottage and felt it was in the best location on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wana5700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
It is an absolute pleasure to read of your recent stay at San Ysidro Ranch. We strive to offer an impeccable experience to each and every guest and are so pleased to learn that your expectations were well met. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another wonderful stay.

On Behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Have been staying here for 15 years in many of the different cottages. The staff answers the phone "america's best hotel" and this may be true, but they are missing the "located" in their greeting. that is, you cannot argue with the location and the setting. for that it is perhaps a "best". the service at reception takes time- when it shouldn't and many of the staff seem to be training for the mid-range french hotel chain mercure- that is, unsure and with attitude.
while there is every possible type of amenity, the rooms were "re-done" several years back and every possible surface is loaded with some sort of tchotchke, including a faux chinese porcelain doll on my bedside table that had been glued down. the decor borders on b&b kitsch in some cottages. there are many hotels worldwide that are situated in prime spots and that aspire to have service, food, etc., equal the setting, but that often give up because the location (and history) will always draw and book the rooms. I hope the SYR doesn't fall any further into that category of giving up or not caring.
someone in the restaurant is convinced that darkness is the only component to ambiance. small flashlights are issued to each guest to read the menu, view the food as it is presented and, in the hands of a child, annoy anyone around.
all in all, fabulous location and grounds with historic pedigree...if only it would find its way back into the hands of a skillful handler.

Room Tip: if money is no object (and it better not be), then choose a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAKSAK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
The extensive renovation that was undertaken several years ago was to reestablish the Ranch as an important part of American Hospitality culture, retain its character and reflect on its heritage. The magic of San Ysidro Ranch is happily understood and appreciated by its public. We do recognize that design, as well as sense of place, is in the eye of the beholder and appreciate your reflections. We hope to see you many more times in the next 15 years!

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch team,

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband stayed at the San Ysidro Ranch for the second time. The first time was in 2011. The second time was in August 2013. We noticed a significant drop off in service. The property is beautiful and the ground meticulously maintained. The cottages are quaint and well appointed. The issue we have is with overall service. We have stayed at many 5-star resorts and this one falls far short. The biggest complaint I have is with the pool and exercise room. There is no one attending to the guests. The equipment in the exercise room was dirty, the sanitizer was empty and the "water bucket" had 2 bottles of warm water in it. The pool was a major disappointment too. Half of the chaise lounge chairs had dirty towels on them and some even had left over food and drink cups laying on them. I sat by the pool for one hour and did not see anyone take care of the mess. Another day, my husband and I went to the pool and wanted to have drinks and lunch. We couldn't figure out how to order food. We searched around and found a menu. After another 5 minutes, we found a phone to order the food. There was not sign or information about how to order drinks or food. After we figured it out, it look over 30 minutes to get one drink served. In my opinion, both the exercise and the pool area are worthy of maybe 2 stars. For the price we paid for our cottage, which was $2,500 per night, this was unacceptable to us. There is no spa. You can have a massage in your room, but no place to get nails or hair done. Overall, we were very disappointed and will not return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cub01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I am concerned to read of your experience at our pool and would like to apologize and find out more details (date, time, etc.). If your time permits I would appreciate a call at (805) 565-1777 or, if you email me with your phone number (smcmanus@sanysidroranch.com) I will call you.

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch team,

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
4.6 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
999 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,033 reviews
4.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
558 reviews
4.6 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,289 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Property: San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Address: 900 San Ysidro Ln, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-1325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Montecito foothills of Southern California’s wine country, San Ysidro Ranch has provided a tranquil vacation destination for discriminating travelers for over a century. Guests are drawn to the Santa Barbara hideaway for its blend of natural beauty, romantic heritage and classic luxury. Myth and history mingle in the lush garden where Vivien Leigh and Sir Laurence Olivier exchanged vows; in the setting of John and Jackie Kennedy’s honeymoon retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property Hotel Santa Barbara
San Ysidro Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing