We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just passing through should have stayed longer ..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just passing through should have stayed longer ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

After an exhausting night drive from pebble beach we arrived in the dark and couldn't appreciate what a beautiful place this was until the morning. However the morning came too soon when we were woken by construction work !! Breakfast is only served in the room but was really fabulous. It is a stunning property. We had to leave for LA early so we didn't get to see what else was on offer around the hotel. I think it's a wonderful honeymoon location and couple retreat and not entirely suitable for teenagers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bkemsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
It is wonderful to learn of your decision to stay at San Ysidro Ranch during your recent travels through California. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a longer, more fulfilling stay in the future.

On Behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    25
    20
    16
    6
See reviews for
52
252
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This place is amazing! I really don't even know where to start.

When I arrived I was greeted with warm cookies and a bottle of water. The garden views upon arrival were breathtaking, and the private garden views are even more so.

Once I got to the room I noticed my surname was hung on the door, and inside there was chocolates and stationary with my surname on it. The cottage was immaculate and meticulously decorated. The bathroom was complete with a claw tub and a two-way shower from the inside to the outside. There was an outdoor shower and hot tub in a cute fenced in area.

I had reservations offsite for the three nights I was there but after one meal at the resort I cancelled all of my reservations because the food was phenomenal; it could very easily compete with the best-of-the-best. There is a quaint little grotto/bar outside of the restaurant that has a very homey, lived-in, intimate feel to it.

I felt like I was the only one there. I saw maybe a handful of people (10, tops...and even that is stretching it) meandering around the grounds while I was there. Though the restaurant was packed every evening, so I'm sure people were just enjoying their romantic stay in the privacy of their cottages and private gardens. Out of 2 of the 3 days I went to the pool, there was no one there, though the staff was still making their rounds for drinks & food orders even though I was the only one there.

The service was impeccable and prompt! My ONLY complaint regarding the service was the girls at the front desk...they seemed extremely pretentious. I got the feeling that they were over-doing their behaviors based on the quality of the resort...as if this being a higher-end place meant they had to behave in a snooty manner. They were borderline rude. BUT, aside from that, everyone else was wonderful. I still give this place 5 stars even despite their attitudes.

This is the one place that I've been that I think actually justifies the costs. Sure it's insanely expensive, but it's completely and utterly worth every penny you spend here.

*I traveled here in July 2009, not August 2012.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phtreehuggr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. We are delighted to learn of your pleasant experience in our restaurant and about the beautiful and tranquil grounds. Likewise, we appreciate your remarks where the front desk staff are concerned. We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a another 5-Star stay very soon!

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

It was a lovely, romantic trip that included hiking and delicious dining, relaxing by the pool and walking the gardens. It was a great anniversary trip that the staff made us feel extra special at every turn. We enjoyed their great selections of wine and fresh food from their garden. We felt it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Every room is a gem and really private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne_jim629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share the highlights of your recent stay! We are so pleased you chose to spend your anniversary weekend at The Ranch and we hope to have the opportunity to celebrate with you again soon.

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Wanted to surprise my husband for his birthday (perhaps lessen the anxiety of a new decade) and consulted friends for recommendations of a nearby escape--San Ysidro Ranch met and exceeded my expectations. The grounds are beautifully maintained, natural and inviting. From the chef's garden to the croquet yard...the smell of honeysuckle wafts in the air. Our cottage was lovely, and as requested, private and serene. The furnishings are elegant and tasteful, the canopied bed was comfortable, and the hot tub on the deck was a welcome respite after a long hike. Meals were wonderful, wine list was extensive, and every single staff person that helped us was kind and welcoming. Only gripe? It may have spoiled us for our next getaway...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAstudioMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing account of your stay! We are honored to have been a part of your husband's surprise birthday getaway and are very pleased we lived up to your expectations! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Ranch in the near future.

On Behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team-

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Yes, the gardens are very lovely. The ambiance is pure California. Country cottages with mountain views, rose gardens, wonderful staff, charming rooms BUT the price .... just too much, suitable for honeymoon couples and those who can print their own money

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbaraBronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Barbara,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the beauty that San Ysidro Ranch has to offer and that you had a positive experience with our staff. Thank you for your remarks!

On Behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team-

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The San Ysidro Ranch was recommended to us by friends and it lived up to the hype. Coming from the Mid-Atlantic, we were looking for a relaxing getaway to complement our trip to Los Angeles. Property was magnificent, rooms were great, staff was first class. Just a few minutes from the bustle of State Street in Santa Barbara, our stay was the perfect tonic. Though the accomodations are quite pricey, I would recommend spending the incremental dollars to get a cottage on the upper scale. What is a trip to CA, if you do not have a jacuzzi outside your bedroom? So if you get sticker shock, go for the room, and go lighter on dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackandgold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share such kind remarks on your recent stay. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your time with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Ranch and to beautiful Santa Barbara.

On Behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team-

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The accommodation totally lived up to the billing - and some. The service was impeccable. I don't think I've ever seen such welcoming, friendly staff. The food in the restaurants is excellent. The location is fine - Far enough away from the town to be peaceful and private, close enough with a 10 minute or so taxi ride. The pool area is lovely, very comfortable amid their superb gardens. Of course, this hotel is expensive, it's top end, but you absolutely get what you are paying for, their attention to detail is really quite amazing.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rosemary cottage - it was very handy for all the hotel's facilities, but I very muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewshreeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Mr. Shreeve-
Your remarks on your recent stay inspire great pride and appreciation—thank you for taking the time to share such kind thoughts. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Ranch in the near future.

On Behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Barbara
4.7 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
5.0 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
4.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
4.6 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Property: San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Address: 900 San Ysidro Ln, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-1325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property Hotel Santa Barbara
San Ysidro Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing