We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Exquisite.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Facility and staff are totally first class. Did not encounter anyone who was not exceedingly helpful and pleasant. Response to any request was rapid and positive. One bellman spoke glowingly about his 14 years of service.

Room Tip: I doubt if there is a bad location but we were very pleased with Ivy at the top of the site. Very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We are absolutely delighted to read about your recent service experience at San Ysidro Ranch. We hope that you will be our guest again soon!

On Behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    28
    20
    17
    6
See reviews for
63
285
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
165 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

This is really a beautiful property. You have your own cottage and really feel like you have a lot of privacy. They have a nice pool and provide free snacks in the room. I would suggest that the hotel sell the loquat jam that they make from their own loquats. It is delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsgandlcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer such kind remarks! We hope you are able to join us in the weeks ahead as we harvest and prepare jam from our budding plum trees!

Regards,

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This property exceeded every expectation in every way. You'll not be disappointed. The staff will cater to your every whim. No detail has been overlooked. It's a bit expensive but worth every penny. Most romantic. Wonderful place to celebrate an anniversary or birth day. The grounds are remarkable. We loved the privacy and enjoyed the outdoor shower and hot tub.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for the kind remarks. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a celebration in the near future!

On Behalf of The San Ysidro Ranch Team-

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The SYR helped us celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary. The staff was very attentive to our needs and went above and beyond the call to help our stay be one of the most memorable yet. We had dinner in both the Plow and the Stone House, both are amazing in their own special way. The gardens here are like no other, the care that goes into the property in top notch. We will return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Scott-

Your kind words are most appreciated. We are pleased to have had the opportunity to host such a memorable stay and hope that you’ll be our guest again soon!

On Behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had a beautiful stay at SYR. We stayed in the Marigold cottage, ate in the Stonehouse Restaurant, hiked and had a massage. Each cottage was beautiful and very private. I really enjoyed the gardens and landscaping. Everything was first class. Will come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayfield20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at San Ysidro Ranch and thank you for the kind remarks. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

On Behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megeve, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed in Santa Barbara overnight, but didn't know about S. Ysidro ranch. We discovered it unexpectedly. Only after our driver told us about it.

This is a place to see! The beautiful gardens, with little bungalows hidden in the blooming trees is somewhat an unusual landscape for this area, adding even more enjoyment to the experience. Everything is perfectly polished, creating the best first impression possible!

The reception staff was very friendly and highly efficient, encouraging us to explore the property, by giving us a map and pointing out interesting places. The interiors of the lobby and the stone house, where we went for drinks were very homely and thought of.

If we ever happen to arrive to Santa Barbara again, there's a strong possibility that we'll eventually take up S.Ysidro as accommodation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for the kind remarks! We'd be delighted to welcome you back to The Ranch for a memorable stay and hope to have the opportunity to do so!

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team-

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a bad experience with dinner at the restaurant recently. The 3 of us who ordered the special of the night were all very disappointed to have a bland dish that wasn't really worth bothering with, much less worth the $60 they charged. Another in our party had the seafood fettucini which was also lackluster. And to top it off, when we all met for breakfast the next morning, 3 others in our party had vomited in the night. So all in all, it was not a great dining experience for 7 different people in our party.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank EWB-in-MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
I was most concerned to read of your recent visit to our restaurant. We take great care in each guests’ experience to include ambiance, food and service and found your impressions unusual and difficult to understand. If you would take care to call me directly at 805-565-1777, I would like the opportunity to discuss your experience further.

Regards,

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
4.6 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
5.0 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
4.6 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Property: San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Address: 900 San Ysidro Ln, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-1325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Montecito foothills of Southern California’s wine country, San Ysidro Ranch has provided a tranquil vacation destination for discriminating travelers for over a century. Guests are drawn to the Santa Barbara hideaway for its blend of natural beauty, romantic heritage and classic luxury. Myth and history mingle in the lush garden where Vivien Leigh and Sir Laurence Olivier exchanged vows; in the setting of John and Jackie Kennedy’s honeymoon retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property Hotel Santa Barbara
San Ysidro Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing