We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! Right off the Beach!”
Review of West Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Beach Inn
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location! Right off the Beach!”
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Santa Barbara is a great town to visit, and the West Beach Inn was a great location right off the beach on Cabrillo Blvd! We rented a King Garden room which has a king size bed on the first floor with a sliding glass door to a private patio area. The bed was fantastically comfortable. The room also came with A/C ( not available in many locations - we checked), flat screen TV, small refrigerator, and coffee maker.

The complex pool was nicely heated for the cool evening air, and the large jacuzzi could seat 10-16 guests at one time.

The room came with a continental breakfast in the morning that included coffee/tea, juices, milk, cereal, pastries, oatmeal, yogurt, and fruit. It was really quite good.

We were able to walk out of our room right onto the boulevard and walk down to the harbor, or Stearn's wharf within minutes.

If you are looking for the place to stay on the boulevard, this is your choice!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jones2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    219
    53
    10
    13
See reviews for
114
262
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

We stayed at the West Beach Inn for a week and the staff down to the cleaning dept. were everything you would want for a pleasurable stay. The rooms were exceptionally clean and the beds were so comfortable we wanted the brand name of the mattresses, so we could look into purchasing one. The pool and the grounds felt like you were in a beautuful tropical garden. I and members of my family loved the wine and cheese they put out every evening. As you can tell we were impressed!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kierjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelingfunchic
2 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Stay here for convenience, accomodating staff, cleanliness, breakfast and relaxed atmosphere. Priced moderate... Great location. I would recommend this hotel to the family or solo traveler.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingfunchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

spent two nights at the West Beach Inn whilst on our travels through California, it was absolutely brilliant, hotel rooms, pool, jacuzzi are top class. The breakfast is really good and the complimentary cheese and wine between 5-7pm is great. Would definately love to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

The West Beach Inn is a lovely hotel right across from the beach on the main strip. It is an older motel style that has been completely renovated. Our room was very modern and tastefully decorated. They have a nice pool area and lovely grounds. They offer a complimentary breakfast that had everything we needed. There wine and cheese was nice after a long day of walking. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leduc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2009

While this wasn't the fanciest hotel we've stayed in, it was clean and comfortable. The wine and cheese reception was nice, while the kids swam in the heated pool. the staff was very friendly and it was a great location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed at the West Beach Inn for one night recently. We would have loved to stay longer - but did not have time on our vacation.

I had tried to book a room online but could not get one that would accommodate us and our two children so called the hotel directly and booked over the phone. Because of this, I only had a confirmation number - but no written confirmation. Upon arrival, I was told that they thought we had been a no show for the day before. They had even called our house in Canada to check to see why we had not arrived. I was really concerned that I would get billed for an extra night - that there would be no room available - or that the price would be higher. None of these happened. The staff was very courteous and we actually ended up with a room on the 2nd floor with a better view of the harbour. Not sure how the mixup occurred, but I felt the hotel handled it very well.

The room was extremely clean and comfortable. You could really tell they take pride in their hotel. The bathroom was not very big, but very nice with a shower and granite countertop. The towels were very soft.

There was a nice flat screen TV and robes in the closet. There was no extra cost for parking. Unfortunately, due to our short stay we did not have time to use the pool or hottub, which looked very nice.

A continental breakfast is included. I was impressed that they were very attentive at refilling everything - even though it was scheduled to be done in less than half an hour when we were there. They did tell us about the evening wine reception, but we were unable to be at the hotel at that time.

The location was wonderful. We walked to the beach and pier in the morning before checking out. It all just felt so California!

I found Santa Barbara to be quite expensive for hotels - but the West Beach Inn was one of the more reasonable ones along the the waterfront. I did not regret booking for a minute.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadiantraveller03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Property: West Beach Inn
Address: 306 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing