We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”
Review of West Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Beach Inn
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, wish we had stayed for longer. We arrived at midday, but we were able to check into our room.
The staff at reception were really helpful.
Our room was lovely, I booked a garden view room, but sitting outside we also gad a sea view, which was great.
The location is also perfect and very close to the Beach and a shirt walk to the restaurants and shops
Santa Barbara is fantastic, we are from the UK, and also visited places like Monterey and Pismo Beach, not very nice, a bit cheap and tacky, but coming from the UK, Santa Barbara was just how we imagined Calafornia would be.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms, as you also get a sea view when sitting outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tstiff, General Manager at West Beach Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your review of the West Beach Inn! Often times our guests wish that they had booked a longer stay with us and we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    219
    53
    10
    13
See reviews for
114
262
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
260 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The location was simply excellent. Santa Barbara is a wonderful community to get away for the weekend. The beach is protected, the shops are extensive, and there are many wonderful restaurants. The hotel has been updated and the rooms are nice. the pool / hot tub are a wonderful sanctuary. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A2freqtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We decided to stay here based on the excellent reviews and we're glad we did! The hotel is really a chic motel that has been modernized with Mad Men undertones. Our room was spacious and clean and the beds were very comfortable. We had some issues with our original room which were promptly addressed by the very helpful front desk. In fact we were moved to an even more spacious suite that we enjoyed even more! We loved being right across the street from the beach and close to Stearns Wharf and all the fun restaurants. Also really liked that parking and wifi are all included in the cost of the room (no extra charges!). Overall the inn is a great value. We will definitely be back for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roygbiv007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

A comfortable 2&3 story hotel right across from the beach, bike path, and a walk to State Street shops. Some rooms have water views, others enter from the courtyard and pool. Breakfast in the lobby won't fill you up, but afternoon wine and cheese are a nice offering if you aren't out enjoying all that Santa Barbara has to offer. Weekends require a 2-night stay in the summer, but West Beach Inn is a good place to enjoy Santa Barbara and worth the drive from LA.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view if you want it. There is a master suite with it's own entrance area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The location, room and staff was excellent. We had a room facing the harbor and we really enjoyed our stay here. Big plus that they offer free continental breakfast, wine and cheese hour as well as free parking.

The hotel is also located right next to Toma Restaurant & Bar which is a great restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

What a great place. Beautifully comfortable bed, plenty of room, lovely toiletries in the bathroom and quiet. Loved the wine and cheese hour and free breakfast. And loved that it wasn't too far a walk to pier etc. this hotel is great value and I recommend it.

Room Tip: Ground floor garden are quiet but no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gundagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tstiff, General Manager at West Beach Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your review of our lovely Inn. We pride ourselves on keeping our property quaint and comfortable with all the added amenities free of charge, it's rare to find in this day and age. We hope you return to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed our final night in Santa Barbara at the West Beach Inn because we wanted to enjoy one night close to the beach. We had a garden view room with a queen bed on the ground floor. The bedroom and bathroom were both quite spacious, the chairs outside our unit were comfortable and we were fine with the garden view. The pool and hot tub were just a few steps away and we especially loved the cross the street proximity to the beach and shoreline walking trail. Other perks included complimentary parking, continental breakfast, wine and cheese reception. Enjoyed dinner in easy walking distance at The Lark (reservations needed) and many of the urban wineries. Staff members were nice. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rshoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Property: West Beach Inn
Address: 306 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing