We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of West Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Beach Inn
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Very close to the beach. The exterior of the motel is nothing special. Rooms have been recently renovated- everything appeared new or near new. Bathroom was tiny but nice. Small refrigerator and free wi-fi were nice touches. Free breakfast was also a nice touch.

Main portion of State Street is about a 15 or 30 minute walk (depending on how fast you walk).

Could hear people walking in room above us, but they went to bed about the same time we did, so no big deal.

Motel is right on the street, so road noise was an issue with the sliding glass door open. When it was closed, the road noise was not an issue.

It is probably one of the better deals in Santa Barbara. For kicks, we came back and checked the prices of a few places we walked by that we thought looked nice. They were roughly the same price or more.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HuntingtonBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    219
    53
    10
    13
See reviews for
114
262
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We switched to the West Beach Inn after reading reviews of cockroaches about our already booked hotel. The inn was pretty bland on the outside, not much can be done to its 1960s concrete stucco exterior. It has a nice location, good price for the area, and nice interiors. From looking at the outside, the room interiors were a lot different. Apparently the inn was updated recently so the rooms were modern in their decor and furnishings. I would recommend this hotel.
The beach in Santa Barbara though I didn't find it all that exciting.

  • Liked — The interior decor and furnishings.
  • Disliked — Hotels are overpriced in this area.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank obscurearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

for the price, go next door to the Harbor Inn, which is stunning and modern in comparison.
The hotel location was convnient , about 15 min walk from State street, but aside from the location, the hotel felt more like a motel! it was old fashioned with a motel like breakfast. For the first time in my life I was given paper plates and plastic cups.. it was a very strange..
For the price they charge, one would expect a decent buffet, instead the selection is very very limited. I'd recommend to grab a breakfast from one of the lovely restaurants nearby.. The breakfast was so depressing it took me a while to get over it!
The rooms are clean , service was pleasant. The pool is tiny and the furniture all round is oldish and not very attractive. All in all, I wouldnt return, I did check out the Harbor Inn next door, it looks fantastic and I would prefer to pay a higher price and get my money's worth.

  • Liked — location, & great Italian restaurant nearby
  • Disliked — price was too high for value!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelVav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

My friend and I travelled to Santa Barbara to attend a wedding and chose the West Beach Inn for the good reviews and value. We were not disappointed - the room was just lovely, the location was great - close to State Street (loved the trolleys). The continental breakfast was just a perfect way to start the day - although there is not much seating inside, there are patio tables outside or take it back to your room. The free wine and cheese and crackers in the afternoon was a very nice touch. Only used the pool once, but it was very nice and clean. Santa Barbara is a beautiful city to visit - we walked all over or used those darling little trolleys. Would definitely come back to the West Beach Inn.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — liked it all
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tootzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2008

We booked this hotel after reading the other positive reviews on Tripadvisor. Stayed two nights with two teenage daughters and we all loved it. The bathrooms were nicely appointed and clean. A tad small but fine. Rooms were very spacious and beds were awesome. Pool and jacuzzi a hit with all of us. Very nice continental breakfast for something quick. Convenient location if you want to walk to State St. with all the shops. Would definately stay again.

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deebs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2008

For a more reasonable price, it would've been average, or even a bit above, but at the price we paid, it did not deliver so I have to say it was below average. We paid extra for a balcony, but the view was mostly of a parking lot and there was a lot of street noise, so it didn't work out to be much of a benefit. Also, there were "safety" lights that lit up the patio and stayed on all night, which meant we could not keep the curtains open to enjoy any ocean breezes that might reach the room. The breakfast was nice but the breakfast room was...well, there was no breakfast room, just a few tables crammed together in the lobby. The food was ok but served with small plastic plates and forks, which I think is tacky when you're paying upwards of $300 a night and shows utter disregard for the environment. I see all these good reviews and I wonder why. It annoys me again at how cheated I felt. I did write a letter to voice my concerns and got a snippy answer that they felt justified in charging their prices because they thought they were cheaper than most SB hotels. I guess they believe that, but I don't know if it's true. I am annoyed that I paid luxury prices for a nicely appointed motel room. I am envious if you have a better experience at a more reasonable price.

  • Liked — The room was nicely furnished, good bed
  • Disliked — Luxury prices for motel experience
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sosoLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

I picked this hotel based on the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and was not disappointed! We had booked two single queen rooms (2 nights); one room for I and my boyfriend and another for his father who is wheelchair bound. The customer service was wonderful. They even offered the handicapped room, when they noticed our father was in a wheelchair. (However that room is more expensive and with a kitchen, etc. We decided not to take it, due to the extra expense and extra space we didn’t need.) The gals at the desk were very nice and accommodating. They even called our taxi’s for us. We were pleasantly surprised by our hotel rooms. Our room was updated with modern decor, which was quite impressive. The bathroom sink area had granite countertops and upgraded faucets. Plus, each room had flat screen tv's! Very classy looking, very clean. We stayed in room numbers 204 and 210. Both rooms on the second floor and both garden suites. (They have a small elevator, also.) The garden grounds were beautiful! Beautiful palm trees, shrubs and flowers....lot's of birds singing...it was very relaxing! There’s even a lounging area on the second floor outside of the rooms where you could sunbathe or just read a book, while enjoying the great view of the gardens and ocean too. (We could see the ocean from outside the door of the 204 room.) The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were perfect! We slept wonderfully! After housekeeping they even leave little chocolate squares at your bedside, which was a nice little touch!! Both rooms are small, but the modern decor really made up for it in my opinion. They did a great job on decorating the rooms, from the modern lamps to the modern artwork on the walls, (which were nicely framed), even to the bedspread. It was like looking at a magazine. Each room came with two complimentary bottles of water. (Additional bottles cost $3/each, so just walk to the 7/11 close by and stock up, because there's also a small fridge in each room.) They have a heated pool and spa, with extra pool towels near the pool area for convenience. (So don’t bother bringing your hotel towels.) The pool and spa area was very clean and a lot of fun! They do offer a generous continental breakfast every morning, which included wonderful assortment of pastries (croissants, fruit danishes, muffins, coffee cake), yogurt, fruit, bagels, coffee, juices, etc. Much better assortment than any hotel we’ve been to. Plus, they offer fresh fruit and coffee throughout the entire day. The hotel is not far from State Street, which is where all the exciting stuff is! (Don’t miss seeing the Dog, Cat, and mouse all sleeping on each other!) If I were to give any advice to this hotel, I would recommend replacing the floor tile in the bathrooms. The tile is such that it looks dirty, due to the texture on it—it’s probably hard to clean. Only other recommendation is to include at lease 1 or 2 folding luggage stands, since there’s not a lot of space in the room, we had to place our luggage on the two guest chairs. I would have loved the extra room to sit down and make calls to future destinations, etc. Overall, I suggest staying at this hotel! It was a really great stay, definitely worth it! I would stay there again!

  • Liked — Modern decor, beds, pillows
  • Disliked — dirty looking bathroom tile floor
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuvSun42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Property: West Beach Inn
Address: 306 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing