We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we wanted”
Review of West Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Beach Inn
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at West Beach Inn during our road trip from San Fran to LA. Spent a couple of months researching hotels and decided on West Beach Inn due to the location, modern rooms, free parking and breakfast (which is what you want when you're getting up early and making the most of the day!). The price was extremely reasonable for a modern spacious room with breaky and parking! The wine and cheese hour is such a lovely idea and we had that all to ourselves (during January). The staff were always willing to help. Convenient parking, we parked our car literally behind our room, super easy to bring in suitcases, make trips to the car etc. After coming from a 5 star hotel in Vegas, West Beach Inn was no way a let down. We loved it.
A really really comfortable stay after a long drive- thank you so much West Beach Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani91c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    219
    53
    10
    13
See reviews for
114
262
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Perfect spot to make "home" while visiting Santa Barbara. It's small size and convenient location made it an easy choice over the bigger, more commercial establishments. The front desk staff was very efficient, and we were in the room in minutes. Our 3rd floor, harbor front room was very clean and updated with all the conveniences. The Pier is a very short walk away, and the beach and boat harbor are just across the street (a 4 lane road which was very quite all during our stay). Great mountain views out the back. We enjoyed relaxing in the pool and hot tub, watching the sunset over the ocean. And, the continental breakfast - included in the room rate - was an extra treat. For the price, the West Beach Inn cannot be beat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross7573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

hi. we stayed at the west beach inn from november 1st to the 4th.....we had a great stay!! the rooms were very clean, comfortable and newly decorated-the beds were extremely comfortable and had great pillows!! the staff was very helpful and nice. the grounds and gardens are beautiful, very clean and easy to get around, the pool was nice, clean and quiet and the hot tub was nice and HOT which was awesome!! the location is ideal-I walked downtown everyday in about 20-30 minutes and if you don't like to walk there are trolley stops everywhere that will take you there quickly. it was a great overall stay even though we were only there to basically sleep. i would definitely stay again!! if management is looking for any additional perks to add to the property it would be to add bikes to the property for the occupants to use like some of the other hotels in the area especially with the beach across the street and downtown right around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvzvaca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

After a 6 hour drive down from Vegas, the sat nav took us to the door. No queues, straight in. Easy parking. The lift is a bit small but we got the luggage up. The room was a good size on the 3rd floor with a sea view. There is a road between the hotel and the beach but its not too busy. The staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful, the room was clean, the continental breakfast by the pool a delight and the wine and cheese after 5 super. The pool is of a modest size with loungers always available. The grounds are well maintained. If I go back to Santa Barbara this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulw1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely position opposite the harbour and the Condor whsle watching berth.

Very helpful staff. Good selection of items for breakfast. Fruit, toast, cereal, pastries and yoghurts . Free newspapers.

Tea , coffee and fruit available all day - free!

5pm each night - wine and cheese. 3 cheeses, several types of biscuit, white wine, red or lemonade ! Quite a social event as many guests sit outside to eat .

Great pool and jacuzzi , bathrobes in rooms. Loads of towels and a 'turn down' service with chocolates!

Within walking distance of piers etc. We walked from the hotel to the top of State Street many times but there is a shuttle bus for 50cents if required .

Would recommend to friends as a good hotel in a good position.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Everything about this hotel is great. The location, staff, service, proximity of beach and marina. Great breakfast by the pool. Afternoon tea and evening drinks with cheese and biscuits etc. Fresh fruit all day. Can't wait to go back. Great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tstiff, General Manager at West Beach Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! We strive to ensure a pleasant experience for our guests staying with us and appreciate your kind remarks. I will be sure to pass them on to all staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I'm not sure where to even begin. My first impression was not a good one and everything else spiraled downhill from there. I called prior to checking in and inquiring about possible wine tasting options they may suggest. They had no idea what was available and what services the city provided. All I was told by the front desk agent was that she doesn’t go wine tasting and I should Google it. Hmmm…well, if I wanted to do that, I would have done that on my own. I was looking for some recommendations from the hotel staff since I didn’t live in the area.

That was nothing compared to the extremely rude front office agent we encountered right before our departure. The front office agent asked my boyfriend how our stay was and he recommended that they have someone check the AC unit in the room because it woke him up in the middle of the night because it was so loud. My boyfriend simply and kindly (might I add) answered her while giving the feedback she was looking for. Her response was that she didn’t want us coming back ever again. We were appalled and shocked. We have no idea where and why she would say such a thing when she inquired about our stay and my boyfriend was simply giving his suggestion. I must agree with the other reviews that suggest the staff members do not represent any sort of professionalism or show any form of hospitality. We have never encountered such rude behavior from anyone. We are still disappointed that someone can be so rude to their guests when all we did was answer a question that was asked. This was the first and surely the last time we will ever stay at West Beach Inn.

I didn’t even touch upon how their pool and spa is apparently open to the public. There were 3 under age college students that came to the pool and spa with their regular clothes on and utilized both facilities. No one from the hotel questioned them. They brought alcoholic beverages in plastic bottles and mentioned how they were drinking beer and what a great idea it was to just stop by the pool. They went into the pool and spa with their regular clothes on (regular jean shorts for the guy and lingerie for the women). Very surprising that the staff sure didn’t mind that. Extreme lack of customer care and service, the opposite of what hospitality stands for. Corporate should be very appalled that their staff is getting away with such behavior. Unfortunately, we will not stay or recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank b t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tstiff, General Manager at West Beach Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I have shared with the staff the observation you made about non-hotel guests using the pool area. It is an on-going battle having an outdoor pool and spa and one that we thought we had a handle on. The front desk will be more observant in the future.
I understand that the issue you had at check-out was in response to your boyfriend refusing to pay his bill. I know that you were not happy and moved rooms several times during your stay. We try hard to please everyone but sometimes we find that this is not the place for them. I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Property: West Beach Inn
Address: 306 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing